We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at a hostel would be a better value.”
Review of Ascot On Fenton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ascot On Fenton
Ranked #53 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We only stayed one night in a studio apartment --thank goodness! The room was tiny. I mean tiny. We stayed at a Studio Apartment at the Tuscany Villa Motor Inn the next night for just $35 more and that was even more spacious and for the extra money a way better value! I was aiming to save money for one night, but I think staying at a hostel would have been a better idea since at least there would be a common room to relax in for the rainy night we stayed in. The "spa bath" was just your standard bathtub, with a healthy dose of rust. Parking is at a tight diaganol in front of the entrance of the rooms. The proximity to restaurants, shops, and cafes is about ten minutes walking if you wish to avoid the metered street parking.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lololas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2009

My mother recommended this motel to me and I am sure glad she did.

Mike greeted us warmly on arrival and made sure our stay was stress free and comfortable. He outlined Rotorua's attractions and offered discounts on any places we wanted to go. Unfortunately, for the most part we had already pre-booked.

The room was sensational. Separate lounge with table chairs and sofa. Two TV's one in the bedroom and one in the lounge. Fully functional, well equipped and absolutely spotless kitchen.
Outdoor private spa with very tasteful murals painted on the wall. Spa also comes with free bubblebath :)
WiFi @ $10 for 24hours was very good pricing.
Externally the motel looks very modern and clean and the hanging baskets of flowers outside the units was a nice touch.
This was a very fresh, clean, immaculate motel with friendly helpful hosts.

Very close to everything. I can't rate this motel highly enough. I'll most definitely be coming back again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devil_n_Disquiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

What an excellent motel - from walking off the street to leaving - the service was first class - Mike made us feel as if you were his personal guests - gave ideas of were to visit marking on local map - a must is St Faiths Church which we would have missed if not for Mikes recommendation - a must if visiting Rotorua

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandya18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

Absolutely loved this little gem of a place! Mike and his wife were the most welcoming people we have met ANYWHERE and belive me, we get around a bit.

The rooms are very spacious and clean and have a great layout. A private spa pool in every room and an extremely well equipped kitchen.

Every room has its own parking space and the little hanging baskets are a gorgeous touch.

The owner Mike and his wife Hillary have to be the landlord and landlady of the century for their generous welcome and friendly 'can do' attitudes.

They were a godsend and even did our laundry for a 'tiny' fee, which was all dry and folded for us by 9.30am the next morning. Saved us bringing it all home with us to do here.

We travelled quite a bit through both islands of NZ and this was by far the best value for money place we stayed. If only people in the UK could do half as well as the Ascot on Fenton, they would be onto a winner!!! Loved the little place.........can you tell?

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurgessArbroath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2008

+
Good Location especially for walking downtown
Mike the host very helpful
Clean
Milk carton and plenty of tea and coffee

_

Parking very tight and at a diagonal angle
Small studio room upstairs had no luggage rack

7/10

Stayed: February 2008
Thank niloc-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2007

This motel was just as described. Hosts were really friendly and obliging full of information about what to do in the area, nothing was a hassle. The accomodation was really well presented with the added benefit of having a private spa pool which was wonderful. Daily servicing of rooms with fresh towels, new supply of coffee & milk etc., all those little added touches that make you feel good about where you're staying. Great for a family, we all had a great time. Would recomend.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AucklandJenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2007

There are many motels on Fenton - crammed together! This was a good one. I booked a studio unit which was upstairs. The room was small, but OK, very attractive and contained a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The bathroom had a spa-bath with shower over. The "spa" is switched off mid-evening so you are not disturbed by late-night bathers. I understand the downstairs units are larger with separate bedroom and outdoor spa pools.
Mike is a very helpful owner and full of useful info. There are plenty of restaurants in 10 mins walk, but many seem to close early at weekends.
Must do - visit some of the thermal parks in Rotorua or the area. Mike will help you.
Not recommended - the Sheep show at the Agrodome. This is described as a major attraction, but I am not happy about sheep being chained up on stage for an hour, and then made to stand up so dogs can walk across their backs. I did not find this amusing as some people did. I assume that NZ animal welfare is aware of this show!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank female-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
0 mi away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#20 of 91 in Rotorua
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Union Victoria Motel
Union Victoria Motel
#64 of 91 in Rotorua
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection
0.7 mi away
Rose Court Motel
Rose Court Motel
#54 of 91 in Rotorua
84 reviews
0 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#35 of 91 in Rotorua
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot On Fenton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot On Fenton

Address: 247 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £72 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ascot On Fenton 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ascot Motel of Rotorua offers a selection of superior units to suit all tastes and budgets. Relax in one of our Private Spa Pool units. Spa pools are individually filled and controlled. All units are well insulated and thermally heated to keep you and your family warm during the cooler months. We have 10 channels of television, including Sky TV. Our complex is 300 to 400 metres from the City and directly opposite a Supermarket for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ascot On Fenton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot On Fenton Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing