We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice and comfortable”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed one night here,
Was a good price compared to rest of Rotorua motels I contacted.

Has 2 32 inch TVs, one in bedroom in one in lounge.

Was decorated in a 70s style but modern

Spa is very powerful,
Bed would be one of the most comfortable ever in a motel, and believe they are recently new,
Good location, and nice and tidy

Owner was friendly on check in, and would stay again if in the area

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevehn787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Kia Ora Steve,

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor - reviews like this one do help other guests make a great choice (to stay with us). This is why we have WON "Travellers Choice Award" - Bargain 2014 within New Zealand.

We hope you had a great time in Rotorua too.

Regards Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    194
    55
    11
    3
See reviews for
223
261
29
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

This place is brilliant. Comfy beds. Large clean rooms and a great heated swimming pool. What made this stay extra special for us was the owners. We only booked 2 nights to start but decided to stay the week after getting to know everyone. Free DVD rental, close to town, easy pick up for trips. I can't wait to go back. If you're saying in Rotorua then this is the place to stay. It really can't rate it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonFunlovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Can't wait to have you come back and stay in New Zealand too!

Glad you had such a great stay at RotoVegas Motel and kept coming back. Rotorua is a great base when travelling around the Bay of Plenty.

Take care Natalee & Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Good location within walking distance of the lake and shopping, plus geothermal spas and varied restaurants. Natalee and Bryce are excellent hosts and can't do enough for their guests. The bathroom was very good, but we found the accommodation a bit cramped for four of us. The communal laundry facility was good, too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josie5549morse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi Josie,

Thank you for reviewing RotoVegas Motel. Glad we could assist with sightseeing ideas and dining options for the group.

I hope you had a great time with the rest of your holiday.

Regards Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Great accommodation. Took my mother in law and she loved it. The spa bath was fantastic. The staff were super freindly and filled with advice on things to do for visiters. The location was great for easy access to the inner city and most of the inner city tourist attractions. Will most certainly stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Kia Ora Carla,

I am delighted you and your Mother in law had a great time with us at RotoVegas Motel we hope to see you here again soon.

Regards Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Helpful friendly hosts who are happy to advise you with regards tours. Nice, clean, comfortable room with spa pool which is a good place to unwind. Can park right outside yr room. Cool Funky decor. We enjoyed our stay here on an overnighter.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chaselondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for the great review - it is reviews like this one that made us WIN "Travellers Choice Award for 2014 - bargain in New Zealand.

We work extremely hard to offer great rooms and great rates.

Cheers Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We booked 2 nights in the rotovegas having read all of the positive reviews and were ultimately disappointed. I'm not sure whether we were unlucky with the room (unit 9) or we had very high expectations following the exceedingly excellent place we stayed in the previous night in Matamata, but we were moved in a very negative way when we entered our room.

Despite the look of freshness apparent from many photos on various sites, the room we got felt very tired. What was extremely odd was that some refurbishments were obviously made in the room (new wallpaper, new cabinet in the bathroom), but these were mixed with things obviously very old and in deep need of work (kitchen, table, bathroom as a whole, and the mouldy shower door). Most unexpectedly, the place did not feel very clean (table in the room was very sticky).

The room indeed had a hot tub, which was nice, but it's enjoyment was somewhat limited due to the fact that you didn't really want to spend very much time in the room or in the bathroom. It's also worth noting that the jacuzzi can only be used until 22:00 (which is understandable given the noise it could make).

As mentioned, the kitchen was very dated and it was a bit of chore to prepare your breakfast in this setting. For those interested, there was no dishwashing machine in the kitchen.

So in a nutshell, this was not a pleasant stay and we regretted very much having to remain 2 nights on Rotorua.

Room Tip: I would advise against taking unit 9, though I'm really not sure how the others look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pr_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at RotoVegas Motel and this does help us ensure all of our guests have a great stay.

RotoVegas Motel has a comprehensive website with multiple images so that people can see what we offer and read what amenities we provide our guests - no where does it show or state we have dishwashers in the unit. RotoVegas Motel is not an apartment style complex nor do we offer washer/dryers in our units (we offer a great guest laundry facility).

Yes, we are an older property, one that provides clean, comfortable, and affordable accommodation with a great location to the city (this is why other tripadvisor guests rank us in the top 10). However in saying that we are still investing into this property and over the past 18 months we have put new showers in 16 units (which you will see in our photos) however we still have four showers to go and unit 9 is one of these).

You never mentioned any issues around cleanliness while you were here and you stayed with us for two days which was very disappointing to read, as we have a great hard working cleaning team that would have only been to happy to address your issues.

We are sorry you had higher expectations, and close by wishing you well on the rest of your travels.

Cheers Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is a review based on my stay at the RotoVegas Apts, which is owned by RotoVegas Motel. The apartments are in the back behind the motel and are more like 1 story townhouses.

We found this place on bookabach.co.nz (definitely look at room and board on this sight, it's like the NZ equivalent of airbnb.com). The check in is at the RotoVegas Motel entrance and then you drive around back (if you have a car) or walk through the gate in the back to the apartments. This place was much more than we expected, 3 BR (1 queen, 1 twin, 2 twins), living room, dining room, deck for bbqing, garage w/ laundry, kitchen, bathroom. It was so comfortable and fully equipped with all the necessities (even basic things like utensils, cooking oil etc). It had mostly been renovated, though there were a few plugs that had some wires hanging out.


There is a maid service that will come to remove dirty towels, make the bed, clean the kitchen sink, which we didn't realize. The place comes with space for parking outside (free of charge), note that there are people next door so you have to be clever with the parking since the area is pretty narrow. There is plenty of street parking if you have more than one car. The garage unfortunately is now used for storage, but I was happy to be able to do my laundry there mid-trip. Bathroom is beautiful (shower and large bathtub are separate).

Front desk service was nice and helpful in advising on food, directions, etc. Countdown the grocery store, is literally across the street and the town center is about a 5-10 minute walk from the motel. We got lucky and there was an evening food market going on that night.

Great value for the place, there were only 2 of us, but this is a terrific place to stay whether it's just the two of you or a group.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cegar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your great review of the RotoVegas Apartment.

Regards Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
707 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
847 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Property: RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-6 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing