We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, a tad noisy but good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great staff, a tad noisy but good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

First off, the staff at the front desk is great--very welcoming & basically acting as a concierge by filling us in on what highlights in the area we should hit, giving us coupons, and steering us in the right direction for food as well (we were quite clueless when we arrived!) The rooms are clean and well kept, and the private hot tubs in each room are a neat addition. Only complaint was that the motel is next to a busy road, so there was frequent noise from that & also if you get a room on the 1st floor like we did and your upstairs neighbours are loud then you basically don't get to go to sleep until they do & get woken up in the morning whenever they come stomping down the stairs. Otherwise this was a good stay.

Room Tip: Maybe try for a 2nd floor room in the back of the motel so that you can avoid being bothered by both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackSparrow22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely feedback regarding Rotovegas Motel. Glad you enjoyed your time with us and we could assist with your Rotorua travel plans.

Sorry to hear you had some noise from your neighbours above, please always let reception know (even after hours) so we can take action and ask them to be quite.

Kind regards Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    179
    50
    11
    3
See reviews for
204
243
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castlegar, B.C., Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Rotovegas Motel was perfect. Our room was small, but clean and well supplied for cooking purposes. The location was good, and Bryce and Natalie were very helpful. We even had a little table on the patio and were able to enjoy our meals there! We would definitely recommend the Rotovegas Motel,.

Room Tip: We asked to be in a quiet location. Perhaps all the rooms are quiet, but ours certainly was!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumbo-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumsden, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Top hosts that made our visit most enjoyable. Family friendly facilities, Heated pool, grassed fenced area for grand children to play in, Units spacious and comfortable. Price reasonable.
Hosts genuine and so helpful and even had vouchers for sites worth visiting. We highly recommend Rotovegus. Robin Cowie

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We were only here for one night but enjoyed our stay. The room decor was fun with some very bright colours but tastefully presented.A nice change from some of the more staid rooms we have slept in. We were comfortable, it was quiet and the whole was very good value for money. There are plenty of restaurants within two or three blocks. We'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David190343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights during our 3 week stay in NZ.
We had 2 really comfortable nights here, the rooms were a good size and very clean.
The pool was out of order, which was a shame as we booked here for the pool. It wasn't a problem tho as we had a spa pool in our room which the kids seemed to prefer.

The staff were really helpful, recommended trips and even have us discount from one.
It was a great touch to be able to borrow dvd's too, kept the kids chilled after busy days.

It's very close to the centre, the restaurants, the shops, supermarket and kids park.

Would definitely stay here again

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kJGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Kia ora Guys,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor. I am so glad to hear the lads had a great stay with us and they got to do so much! Extremely sorry the pool was out of action, this was not planned (sadly), THANK YOU for your understanding. I am pleased to let you know next time you are in Rotorua you will love the pool - it has been painted and looks amazing.

Safe travels - Natalee & Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Genuinely friendly welcome from the RotoVegas owners, lots of local information which proved invaluable.

Room was comfortable and well-equipped, with our own hot tub, and the themed room was fun.

Supermarket across the (busy) road, great takeaway a few steps away and all the Rotorua attractions in walking distance.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by traffic noise, request a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_n_Fair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Kia Ora Frank,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor - I am pleased to say it is reviews like this one that gave us the "2014 Travellers Choice Award" - much appreciated.

Enjoy the rest of your holiday in this great country.

Cheers Natalee & Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

A family run motel, this motel has everything we needed. The hosts are friendly and knowledgeable about the attractions in the area. The rooms are clean and well-serviced. It is good value for money and the funky style is a bit of fun and a welcome change from face-less motel chains.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank turbine_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Kia Ora from one family to another,

Yes Bryce and I are a local Rotorua family, with Maclyn (3yrs) and Thornton (5yrs) - the lads will even show you the 'haka' while getting you some milk on your arrival!
Bryce and I love it when other families come and stay with us, as we know what it is like to NOW travel with kids. We also offer high chairs, travel cots and even a pushchair if required. Kids love the FREE dvds, and the outside heated pool.

So thank you for the lovely review as this will help other families come and stay with us in Rotorua.

Regards Natalee & Bryce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#5 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Property: RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-6 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing