We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stopped here for one night when passing through Rotorua.
The motel was one of the cheaper offerings and we were pleasantly surprised by how good it was.
The room was clean -brightly painted and with most things you could want. Our room had a spa bath in an annex and this was fantastic to use after a long day.
The hotel was close to fast food and plenty of restaurants - although the main food precinct area (by the lake) was an easy 15 minute walk away-though the main shopping area - this was pleasant and easy enough for us- even after a long day.
If you are looking for good value this should be on your list.
Free internet a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Kia Ora Gingerian,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here and you found some great restaurants close by.
The "Eat Street" is really only a short 10 mins stroll away from RotoVegas Motel and we are always happy when our restaurant recommendations work out for our guests.

We offer affordable, quality accommodation - this is why we have just won the 2014 Travellers Choice award for 'value for money accommodation'. Great to hear you agree with our previous guests in this point.

We hope your further travels went well and we are looking forward welcoming you at RotoVegas Motel again.

Kind Regards,

Sabrina @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    188
    53
    11
    3
See reviews for
213
257
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked a three night stay at the RotoVegas and opted for one of the spa rooms as well.
We found Natalee and Bryce to be excellent hosts and were friendly and helpful in all ways, guiding us to some of the many activities in this adventure town.
The room was excellent and the wi if was more than adequate for our needs. the facilities at RotoVegas were also very good with another thermal pool outside and a sauna as well. The parking was easy and the location was close to the main shopping centre and eateries and the only disappointing thing was that we did not stay longer, but we will be back!

Room Tip: There are over 20 rooms available and there are quite a few upstairs, so if you have issues with ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Kia Ora George,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. All of our delightful team here at RotoVegas Motel work extremely hard to ensure our guests have a great stay. We love seeing people enjoying the outside heated pool especially in winter!

We do hope to see you back here again soon.

Travel safe.

Cheers Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and loved the place. All of the staff are extremely helpful, the rooms are clean and tidy and a bargain for what you get. Natalee was very accommodating in helping us get tours booked and giving us some local knowledge of both rotorua and the wider Nz area. Will definitely come back if ever we are in the area again and would happily recommend Rotovegas to anyone staying in the Rotorua area

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-n-Tim-Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Kia ora Sarah and Tim,

Thanks for the great review. It was so nice to meet another 'great action packed Australian couple' or 'GAPAC' for short! You guys really did get out there and see and do it all. Glad you enjoyed what we had to offer.
I hope you are feeling better Sarah. I have to confess your lovely flowers are sitting at reception, smelling amazing.

See you both again soon.

Cheers Natalee, Bryce and Sabrina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at 1 Bedroom apartment hotel with 1 queen bed and 2 single beds. The room is modern and clean with room fragrance provided to counter the sulfur smell from outside, big enough for 4 people to move around. This motel also provide free parking for each room, double fantastic.The theme is orangy grey, I love it. The receptionist, Sabrina was very helpful and super nice, she booked all our desired activities and also give us some insights and tips for everything. We love RotoVegas, would definitely come back!! Highly recommended..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsFloridaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to review RotoVegas Motel.

Glad you enjoyed our customer service (Sabrina is great). Lovely to hear you liked our 'bright' apartments, they are clean and tidy and handy to town! This is why we have just won the 2014 Travellers Choice award for 'value for money accommodation'.

We really enjoy making sure all of our lovely travellers get the information they require to ensure their time in Rotorua is memorable.

Take care and safe Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

First off, the staff at the front desk is great--very welcoming & basically acting as a concierge by filling us in on what highlights in the area we should hit, giving us coupons, and steering us in the right direction for food as well (we were quite clueless when we arrived!) The rooms are clean and well kept, and the private hot tubs in each room are a neat addition. Only complaint was that the motel is next to a busy road, so there was frequent noise from that & also if you get a room on the 1st floor like we did and your upstairs neighbours are loud then you basically don't get to go to sleep until they do & get woken up in the morning whenever they come stomping down the stairs. Otherwise this was a good stay.

Room Tip: Maybe try for a 2nd floor room in the back of the motel so that you can avoid being bothered by both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackSparrow22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Owner at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely feedback regarding Rotovegas Motel. Glad you enjoyed your time with us and we could assist with your Rotorua travel plans.

Sorry to hear you had some noise from your neighbours above, please always let reception know (even after hours) so we can take action and ask them to be quite.

Kind regards Natalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlegar, B.C., Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Rotovegas Motel was perfect. Our room was small, but clean and well supplied for cooking purposes. The location was good, and Bryce and Natalie were very helpful. We even had a little table on the patio and were able to enjoy our meals there! We would definitely recommend the Rotovegas Motel,.

Room Tip: We asked to be in a quiet location. Perhaps all the rooms are quiet, but ours certainly was!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumbo-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumsden, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Top hosts that made our visit most enjoyable. Family friendly facilities, Heated pool, grassed fenced area for grand children to play in, Units spacious and comfortable. Price reasonable.
Hosts genuine and so helpful and even had vouchers for sites worth visiting. We highly recommend Rotovegus. Robin Cowie

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#6 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Property: RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-6 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing