We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and nice staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The room is very clean and tidy. The heater had already been turned on when we arrived. Reception girl is very nice, and the Maori show she booked for us at night is great! Manager Phil helped us a lot on our next trip, many thanks to Phil! Highly recommend to stay at Rotovegas ! Absolutely your first choice !

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 晓然 王
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Kia Ora from Rotorua!

It was so great meeting you two and by the sounds of it your remaining trip went well. Phil knows a lot about the South Island - so he is definitely the best man to talk to about travels down there. Glad to hear his advise helped you.
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. If you have minute: We would love to see the pictures we have taken at reception before you left.

"Like" us on facebook to keep posted about our updates (we won't spam you -promised).
If you ever return - we would be delighted to have you staying with us again and maybe you can treat yourself for one of our great SPA units.
Have a lovely day.

Kind Regards,

Sabrina @ RotoVegas Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
There are newer reviews for RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night, but was a great place to stay. The couple at the front desk were very friendly and personable. The pool was nice and warm even though we stayed during the NZ winter. We checked out a couple DVDs from the front desk, which was nice. The room had a great dinette to use and the grocery store was just across the street, literally. The walk to town center was no more than 10 minutes. Had a great night and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeggieScramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Kia Ora VeggieScramble,

Thank you so much for your great review - it really helps potential guests to get an impression about what to expect when they stay with us.
Our managers, Carey and Phil, are wonderful hosts and always there to help finding the right attractions and sightseeing trips for our guests. We are situated just across the road from a large supermarket, which is very convenient. The newly renovated Eat Street at the bottom end of Tutanakai Street is in walking distance from RotoVegas Motel.

Great to hear you'd stay with us again - we certainly would love to have you back at RotoVegas Motel!

Have a lovely weekend and thank you once more.

Kind Regards,

Sabrina @ RotoVegas Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

great place to stay .any sort of person would love the hospitality,the sensational rooms with spas a must and close to city whether you want to walk or drive.they were very helpful. and it was very clean.we arrived on Harleys and were invited in.they didn't seem to mind us with our tattoos etc.we were even allowed to drink at the pool.they also have a sauna .great

Room Tip: this place is a must.what could be better than sitting outside in the rain in 36 degree pool with a...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Kia Ora Annette,

What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write a few words about your recent stay with us. Isn't the pool just great with its 37 degrees?
We love seeing our guests enjoying it and it is a nice way to warm up when the weather is rough and cold as it appears to be in our winter.
We hope your remaining trip on your Harleys went well and we'd love to welcome you again @ RotoVegas Motel.

Kind Regards,
the whole team of RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

An excellent motel, friendly owners and staff. Clean room and awesome private hot spa. This was a special weekend for me and hubby and we loved our stay here. Would recommend anyone to stay here as well looked after.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Kia Ora Cindy,

Lovely meeting you guys. I was so impressed you got up in the morning to watch the football world cup. Glad to had a great time with us and found some relaxation while staying here @ RotoVegas Motel. I am sure your private SPA pool helped with that. Thank you so much for taking the time and writing such an amazing review.
We would be delighted to host you again.

Kind Regards,

Sabrina @ RotoVegas Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed last week with my wife and 3 kids, Turned up early in the morning with no booking. Was well looked after by the helpful guy at reception. Was shown a room he thought we may like and he was right - It looked fantastic!!!. The room was prepared quickly for us which was great as he said they were full the night before.

We had more than enough beds for everyone (comfortable too!!) and a great spa pool in private area to keep the kids happy, plenty of room - also a nice clean and warm pool, new playground

We even had a nice email checking on my daughter who wasn't too well when we arrived there.

I highly recommend this motel as it is value for money, close to supermarket,best fish and chip shop I've been to.

I'll shut up now and you can find out for yourself - located on Fenton Street.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coultstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for the glowing review we have recently undertaken a large refurbishment on the property trying to make it more comfortable for our guests. We have also added some new facilities such as our giant children's play ground and its great to know that people are enjoying our level of service and our extensive facilities.

Been located so close to town we do have plenty of dining options nearby however its hard to go past the award winning fish and chip shop when its less then 50 metres away. There is nothing like a great day exploring Rotorua followed by a relaxing swim in the heated pool and then some great local fish and chips.

Once glad to hear you enjoyed our stay and we look forward to hosting you and your family again in the future.

The team at Rotovegas motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Sadly we only had one night at this delightful motel, on the main strip in Rotorua. It was a very wet day and we had got soaked doing the luge and sky swing, so it was fantastic to get into our very own hot-tub to warm up and relax.

The room itself was very spacious and the retro feel was great fun. The kitchen area was incredibly well equipped and you could easily stay here for longer and prepare your own meals. There is a supermarket just over the road.

The staff were helpful in directing us where to go to eat, and very friendly. You could park the car just outside the back of the room (we had a back and a front door). The seating area was large and there was a TV here and in the bedroom. There was also a dvd player and you can borrow films from reception.

There are loads of motels in this area, but I thoroughly recommend you give this one a go.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a hot tub - not to be missed in Rotorua
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Kia Ora Claire,

Thank you for the lovely review which you kindly wrote regarding your stay at RotoVegas Motel. You mentioned a lot of the nice things we offer and it is great you guys enjoyed yourself.
Sorry the weather didn't turn out perfect when you were here but lucky you booked a unit with a private SPA pool to relax. We also have the large swimming pool at the back - which is heated up to 37 degrees during winter season.
Thank you for mentioning the well equipped kitchenette - we are always open for suggestions from our guests if there is anything else needed to cook small meals. So we recently stocked the kitchenettes up with rice cookers and chopsticks.

We would be delighted to have you staying with us again.
Once more: Thank you so much for a fantastic review.

Kind Regards from the whole team of RotoVegas Motel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This motel was just great... clean rooms, gorgeous quirky décor (tastefully done), the guy on reception was so friendly and gave us much useful information without being pushy or biased.
I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this Motel and wished I had booked more nights in the town just to stay in this motel. Loved it. WANT their wallpaper... so fun.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Kia Ora Alana,

Oh wow - what an amazing review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a few words about your recent stay @ RotoVegas Motel. It is fantastic to read you can recommend us to your friends/family and on TripAdvisor - a positive mouth of word is better than every add we could possibly place.
We don't like boring, so we are aiming for a funky room design and "something different". It is great to hear we hit the spot with you and you like our rooms.
We would be more than happy to have you stay with us again - so please do and come back. Promise: the next room you will be staying at will be quirky as well.

Kind Regards,

Sabrina & the whole team @ RotoVegas Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £60 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-6 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing