We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms at good prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms at good prices”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in many a place in nz with my wife. And this place is a gem. Stayed in an apartment with a spa pool. That was cool. Clean and friendly and modern. I will stay here again when we pop back to rotorua.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigfeetpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Kia Ora bigfeetpete,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.
Our SPA pool units are pretty cool and we are happy to hear you liked them. No better way to end a day full of travelling or sightseeing as with a nice and relaxing soak in a private spa pool.
Please make sure you give us a call under our FREE number 0800249249 for your next booking to guarantee you receive the best available rate.
"Like" us on facebook to receive all special offers from RotoVegas Motel.
We are looking forward having you back with us.
Kind Regards,

Sabrina and the whole team of RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    189
    53
    11
    3
See reviews for
215
257
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The room we stayed in was styled retro which was fun. We were upgraded to a double doom so our child could sleep separately which was graciously offered to us by the manager for no extra charge. There is an amazing playground at the back of the property tat is fenced off so you don't have to worry about your children running onto the car park/road. There is a great bbq area adjoining the playground with picnic seating. The management were extremely helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor as you can hear people above you walk around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashdan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Kia Ora ashdan,

Wohoo - we were so excited reading your review after spotting the headline as it was the first pointing out our brand new playground! We have just built our so called MEGA FORT playground and are really proud of what we created from the scratch! The playground features swings, a slide, a tunnel, climbing wall, robe climbing, lookout and so much more.
And how wonderful it is to read positive feedback from our guests.
It will be great during the warmer spring and summer days when families can use the outdoor tables and chairs to have a BBQ and the kids can burn some energy at the playground, trampoline and petanque. As you said: it is all fenced in together in the same area.

Thank you so much for taking the time and write such a great review. We are stoked and hope to welcome you and your family again.
Kind Regards,

Sabrina @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here the weekend before last as a mini getaway to celebrate my boyfriend's 30th. Couldn't have been happier with it. From the onset, booking was smooth and staff were very friendly and accommodating when I requested a late check out, which was provided at no extra cost. Booked the 'Studio Spa Retro' and lived up to its name. Room was spacious and comfortable with the spa pool in our bathroom even bigger than expected and great power from the shower to wake you up in the morning. Kitchen area with all necessities provided and heating in the room, which was great as was a weekend of cold and wet weather so lots of time spent inside. The owner (whose name escapes me) was a very interesting and friendly character, full of great advice to ensure you have the best stay n Rotorua. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for great accommodation in the heart of Rotorua at a good prce. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaDilemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Kia Ora Gemma,

Thank you a lot for a great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to say a few words about your time with us.
We are happy to hear that we could do our bit to create a nice getaway for you both. Of course we understand that a 30th birthday celebration can last till the early morning hours, so we are happy to help out with a late departure, if possible. Great that it worked out in your case.
Our managers Phil & Carey travelled a lot and also know Rotorua very well to give best advise to our guests. We hope you will be back and stay with us again - make sure you give us a call direct (0800 249 249) so we can give you the best rate possible.
Kind Regards,
Sabrina @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

So many places in Rotorua and so much to do. this was great value for money, large spa room, nicely decorated, kitchen area, shower 2 beds and a great spa bath! Worth every penny. Staff very helpful good local knowledge. Well recommended we liked so much we booked another night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymont74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Kia Ora Raymont,

What a great review! Thank you a lot for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and mentioning a lot of the features our Large Spa Studios have to offer. We recently redecorated this room type with new wallpapers and some funky accessories. It is great to hear you liked it. And of course the SPA pool in the bathroom is a real treat.
Thank you very much for staying with us and we do hope you will come back and stay with us again during your next visit in Rotorua.

Kind Regards,

Sabrina & the whole team of RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Lovely, clean, warm rooms with fun decor and everything you need to feel comfortable. Great for the kids with the heated pool and playground. Really close to town and restaurants - easy walking distance. And the most helpful and friendly staff - Phil and Carey went out of their way to recommend things to do with our kids and good restaurants to go to. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJandMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Kia Ora CJ and MJ,

What an amazing review - thank you a lot for taking the time to write a few words about your recent stay at RotoVegas Motel.
We are happy the kids enjoyed the heated swimming pool, it is a great way to keep them occupied on site - even if the weather is a little bit chilly, we make sure the pool is always lovely heated between 35 and 37 degrees.
Our managers, Carey and Phil, are amazing hosts and it is nice to hear they could help you with some great recommendations. The whole team is looking forward to welcome you back and helping you creating another "great time at RotoVegas"!
Kind Regards,

Sabrina @ RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

What a find this place was. Great rooms and facilities. Perfect for mountain bikers and the spa in the room was awesome. Got one of our bikes couriered direct to the motel and was stored in the room waiting for us on arrival. What service! Will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Kia Ora guys,

Thank you so much for a great review! We are glad you liked your stay with us and you weren't disappointed from the Redwoods and its great mountain bike tracks. We certainly love it and are passionate about showing our guests what Rotorua has to offer.
Our secure bike storage is greatly appreciated by many of our biking guests and so are the hoses we provide to wash the dirt off the bikes. And what better way to end a day on the bike as in your own private, thermally heated SPA pool?
We would love to having you back with us and if the bikes arriving before you, we make sure they will be waiting in your room for you.

Kind Regards,
the whole team of RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Great location - just out of town. Walking distance to a lot of shops, cafés etc, but the motel is nice and quiet.
Really helpful and friendly staff.
Had a large spa room - decorated with a retro theme which was awesome. Spa was great. Very spacious and comfortable.
Wifi was fast and reliable. No extra charge for the wifi.
Lots of cooking utensils should you wish to cook.
Parking is free in your allocated bay outside the room.
Would recommend! Good value for money

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ailsa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RotoVegasMotel, Front Office Manager at RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Kia Ora Alisa,

What an amazing review, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. You mentioned so many nice things, we couldn't ask for more.
And yes it is right: our location is fantastic, we are only a few minutes walk away from the big central mall - which comes now in a new decor with glass cover and many new shops to go for a stroll. The Eat Street with a lot of restaurants is only 10 minutes walk away from us and has been equipped with geothermal underfloor heating outside (!). On the other hand we are only a short ride away from the Redwoods with its great mountain bike tracks, which is one of the great things you can do in Rotorua.

We are so happy you had a wonderful time and enjoyed your SPA pool. The great thing about them is that you can adjust the temperature after your liking so it'll never be too hot or too cold.
The swimming pool is nice and hot in winter times, heated up to 37 degrees and who needs it even hotter can use our sauna.

Thank you for mentioning that our rooms are good value for money - we were honoured with the Travelers' Choice Award 2014 in the category bargain through TripAdvisor and are trying to keep it up so we'll receive it 2015 as well. Thanks to your review - we certainly are a step closer to this goal!

We hope to welcome you again at RotoVegas Motel.
Kind Regards,

The whole team of RotoVegas Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua

Property: RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Address: 249 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Heywoods Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua is centrally located on Fenton Street within walking distance to Restaurants, Shops and Tourist Attractions. RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua has a heated swimming pool, private spa pool units, sauna and ample off-street parking for campervans and large vehicles. Our affordable quality accommodation suits most budgets as there is a range of 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units that can sleep 4-6 persons to smaller Studio units that sleep 2-3 persons (majority with Private Spas). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing