We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class in every respect”
Review of Geneva Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Geneva Motor Lodge
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“first class in every respect”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

we stayed here for three nights and the owner was so helpful as well as cooking breakfast - gave us good advice on where to go, what to see and even offered to book a hotel ahead for us.
Good customer relations - vouchers - timings for events - offer of booking them too - could not have done any more. Sheryll & Bill are super hosts.
highly recommended.

Room Tip: they all seem to be very good but always better to ask to see the rooms before you agree to take it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We are pleased to hear Carol that you enjoyed your stay with us and are only too pleased to assist all our guests to help make their stay in Rotorua an enjoyable and memorable experience.
Hope the rest of your trip was the same
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    42
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
51
53
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We recently spent a two night stay at the Geneva Motor Lodge Motel in Rotrua.Our hosts Bill and Sheryll were very welcoming upon arriaval and were very good at making recommedations of what local attractions to visit and were able to provide some discount vouchers to some attaractions which was most welcolming . We stayed in a ground floor 1 bed appartment which a had one Queen double bed in a seperate bedroom with a single bed and a double pull out Sofa bed in the sitting /kitchenette room.There was a good size shower/toilet room and out on the back courtyard was a self fill jacuzzi bath which was fun to use. The room was was ideal for a family of 5 and the room was very clean and well kept.We were able to park our car virtually outside our room and the location of the Geneva Motor Lodge was ideally suited to the town centre, Lake front and and local restaurants.

I Jordan

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for your comments and pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be only too pleased to host you next time you are visiting Rotorua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The room was big, bed was comfortable and the spa very relaxing.
It is a short drive into town, I walked in to do shopping and to the hot pools in 20 minutes.
General fruit and veg purchases can be made locally to the motel.
I think soy milk could be offered instead of only cow.
Also a herb tea in the rooms could be included instead of just black tea and coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you Leonie for taking the time to post your review it is very much appreciated. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in NZ catching up with your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have stayed in Geneva Motor Lodge for more than 10 times and I highly recommend it for all couples visiting Rotorua!

Every room in this motor lodge comes with its own private spa pool! You'll LOVE the massaging spa right next to the bed if you're a couple, or the larger 6 person spa (sheltered) in the backyard if you're with the family. The rate is very good too, cheaper than most of the other motels on the same street, and others don't even come with the indoor spa pools!

Very tidy and clean, most of all the owners are the friendliest people you'll meet in Rotorua!

*Try the cooked breakfast prepared by Bill, the owner of the hotel, it is very Kiwi style and easily beats most of the cafe breakfast which is twice the price, just remember to order it the night before.


Shane

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XLARGE_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your comments and are pleased to hear you always enjoy visits. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

A very well presented motel. Great, friendly service from Sheryll and Don. Very knowledgable about the Rotorua region. Couldn't do enough to help us..Great to have our own private courtyard and spa pool. Keith and Pam.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I had a terrible experience with the host of Geneva Motor Lodge during my two nights visit. On two occasions, we felt like leaving the motel and going to another motel - first within the few minutes when we entered our room there was a strong stale fishy smell in the whole one bedroom apartment including the inside of the cupboard and draws. We opened our door, all windows, cupboard doors for many hours, even until late night to get the smell out of the room. I even hung the curtains for better ventilation. The cleaners had put some sort of air fresher when they cleaned the room minutes before we arrived and we could smell that too. Terrible yakee smell which no one likes to begin their holiday with.

The next when we were blamed and demanded to pay for making a pot mark on the kitchen bench, something that I did not do. The small pot in question which made the mark was never used for cooking by me at all, however I did use the pot to empty my leftovers the next morning and washed my bigger pots. This was cold food. It was barely 24 hours since we had arrived and what was suppose to be our two nights relaxing and enjoyable holiday was turned into stressful and disastrous one. We wanted to leave the rooms immediately but for the sake of our kid who was keen to bath in spa, we stayed on for another night and barely slept because the whole time my husband and I were thinking of why are they blaming this on us when I even saw the mark on the bench when I was cooking but cared less because it was not my doing so I was neither bothered nor worried about it. Despite me trying to explain to the host that I did not use the pot in question and I saw the mark when I was cooking, the lady insisted that I did it and she stood by her decision and she later slapped me a bill of $250 demanding payment. I will make sure that I tell at least 100 people so that they are aware of what happens and do not become victims like me. I told the host before, I am telling her now and I will tell anyone one million times that I did not do that and I was unfairly treated and my honesty and integrity was challenged. I would have willingly and openly declared and paid every cent for the damage that I may have caused, but in a situation like this where I am told I am the culprit despite me trying to express my views which were never heard and taken into consideration makes me feel sad and worried about the future holiday makers and tourist. MY ADVICE TO OTHER USERS IS PLEASE THINK AGAIN BEFORE BOOKING HOLIDAY THERE.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sesh2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
WE are dissappointed that you have chosen to make these untruthful comments to both Trip Advisor & Host Accommdation. As we can guarantee that this Burn Mark was NOT on the bench prior to your arrival. When I pointed it out to you, you said you didn't know what I was talking about and asked me to show you, yet in your review and letter to Host you said you noticedthe mark when you were cooking!!!!. Also he Fishy Smell!! Why was there no mention of this during your stay wven when you were denying the damage to the bench??
You have now paid for the damage( which one would think is an admission of guilt) But I would like to think that you will think twice before you make these uncalled comments agin which only do damage to our businesses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We enjoyed a lovely family weekend away and found our room just perfect for 2 adults and 1 child. The room was immaculate and we loved the use of the spa pool, this was a great bonus and now a must have. Bill and Sheryll were wonderful helpful hosts and next time we visit Rotorua we will definatley be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genevamotorlodge, Owner at Geneva Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, these comments are always encouraging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#21 of 92 in Rotorua
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
ASURE Palm Court Rotorua
ASURE Palm Court Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geneva Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geneva Motor Lodge

Property: Geneva Motor Lodge
Address: 297-299 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Geneva Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bill & Sheryll welcome you to come & stay with us at Geneva Motor Lodge where you will receive that genuine Kiwi HospitalityGeneva Motor Lodge a modern well presented motel complex and impeccably clean has 14 self contained units each with their own Spa Pool or Spa Bath.Conveniently situated on Fenton Street,Rotorua.Handy to all local attractions and city centre makes it the perfect place to come,stay & relax after a busy day visiting some of our amazing sites and attractions that Rotorua is famous forSo please don't be disappointed and allow yourself enough time to explore our Beautiful City and surrounds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Geneva Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing