We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place & people to remember”
Review of Country Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Villa
Ranked #6 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We found this beautiful B&B by chance, spent 2 nights in a very quite and spacious room and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Anneke and John are incredible hosts and it was a real pleasure to feel home in their beautiful decorated and located house. The time we spent at their place was relaxing and rewarding: the two provided us with necessary information and activities around Rotorua and helped us to understand a lot more about New Zealand. They enjoy being with their guests and helping you to find the best. These days were a perfect start for a journey around New Zealand and thanks to the delicious breakfast we had a lot energy for our hiking trips. We would like to thank Anneke and John for making this journey very special. Anja & Robert

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kron_Anja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in August during our tour of NZ. Very quiet location about 5 miles from centre of Rotarua which was good - it was nice at the end of the days visiting the thermal areas to get away from the smells! Anneka and John were great hosts and the breakfasts were superb - we have a copy of Anneka's home made muesli recipe to make our own.
Be aware if you rely on GPS to find this property it seems that most types direct you to an address about 500 metres short on Dalbeth Road - but no real problem as it is a very quiet road and you just need to keep going.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

An easy distance away from the city (and smells) of Rotorua is the lovely Country Villa. We arrived to a warm greeting from Anneka who chatted with us as she served us tea/coffee and biscuits on the deck overlooking the beautiful property. Besides being warm and welcoming, Anneka and John shared interesting tales of their move to New Zealand from the Netherlands. We enjoyed our delicious and hearty breakfasts while discussing different cultures, families, and travel experiences. Their home is inviting and comfortable inside and out with plenty of room to relax after a day of touring. Country Villa is extremely clean, provides whatever one needs, and offers peaceful rural scenery in addition to a stunning garden. We stayed at several B and B's during our 5 week visit to New Zealand and Country Villa is one of only two that rated 5 stars with us. It's just a short 5 minute drive into Rotorua and the main attractions and seems worlds away from the hustle/bustle. Definitely a favorite!
Cheers to Anneka and John!

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs have their own bathroom; upstairs shares a bath. All rooms large, sunny and comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancyb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We are so glad to have found this peaceful and charming oasis on the (near) outskirts of Rotorua. John and Anneke made us feel at home with their unobtrusive hospitality, home cooking and spacious surroundings. Our room was immaculate and a good size, and we awoke to the sounds of the lowing cows in the morning. The gardens were glorious. All in all, just the right "off the beaten track" find for us.
C and B

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights at this lovingly preserved residence and felt instantly at home with our hosts, Anneke and John Van Der Matt. Our time there was a highlight of our tour of North and South Islands, setting the tone for our first visit to New Zealand. The serenity of the location and views to the mountains surrounding Lake Rotorua made us wish we had more time there. The rooms are large, bright and assembled with every convenience for the traveler. Breakfasts were continental or cooked and included a delight of home-made goodies…Anneke’s delicious preserves from her garden, John’s bread, and a wide selection of continental choices. Our hosts were a great source of information too, and assisted with our plans for getting the most out of Rotarua attractions. A wonderful bonus to staying in B&B’s are the wonderful and interesting people you meet, hosts and travelers alike. This was no exception and we would highly recommend this stay over to you, as we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large and airy, and have their own charm in this quiet, but convenient homestead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missuschief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We have felt in the Country villa Rotorua very well. Our room was comfortable really, the receipt by John and Anneke warmly. The breakfast has well tasted us, Anneke had good ideas for tasty surprises. The talks in the evening with the hosts and other guests were stimulating and comfortable. We will recommend the Country to villa.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul-Gerhard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We spent 3 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Their grounds are beautiful. Beds are comfortable and rooms are large. Breakfast was good. In the evening when we returned they spent time with us and other guests in the lounge -- These are hosts that are not intrusive but enjoy eing with their guests and helping you find the best of Rotorua

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kapmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.9 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
412 reviews
6.7 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
832 reviews
6.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
2.2 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Villa

Address: 351 Dalbeth Road | Rd2, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: £122 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a B&B, Country Villa is an experience of elegance and tranquility, comfort and satisfaction. Situated in a quiet rural setting with amazing views only 12 minutes from Rotorua, it is the perfect base for all of Rotorua's famous attractions. Built in Auckland in 1906 and in 1996 moved to this idyllic site near Rotorua. All rooms have en suite or private bathrooms. Surrounded by large gardens with many native birds. No sulphur fumes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Country Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing