We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sometimes you get a lucky break!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rotorua Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rotorua Motel
Ranked #5 of 56 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malahide, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sometimes you get a lucky break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Rotorua Motel for an overnight stay. It was winter and cold so rooms were hard to fill everywhere. On arrival we accepted a free upgrade with alacrity. I award 5/5 without hesitation. To be clear, this is no 5 star resort. No bar, no restaurant and leisure facilities are a small outdoor pool and large television in the rooms. Not the place if you want to hang around all day. But as a base to explore this fascinating region the motel is perfect. You get a fine comfortable room with a good bathroom and small kitchen area. Everything is spotless. My wife's only (minor) gripe was a shortage of storage space for clothing etc. Not a worry for an overnight stay. Dawn, who looks after the office and much more besides, was very helpful and knowledgeable about the whole region. All her suggestions were excellent and she had a ready supply of discount vouchers to ease the financial pain. Well done Rotorua Motel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ourmindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    58
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
94
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We decided to spend a little more and stay in their fully upgraded room. It was absolutely fantastic from the moment we arrived. The hosts were friendly and accommodating, the room was pristine, and immaculate. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We have been to Rotorua couple of times in the past year spending around $100 a night. This was $129 and worth every penny and we will return without hesitation, this will be our first choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebekaKelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights during our honeymoon.
The hosts were very pleasant and even though they were only 'motel minders' they seemed to have good local knowledge and were able to tell us lots about what to do and see. They also recommended and helped us book a Mauri cultural evening, which was fantastic fun, and well worth the visit.
Unfortunately we didn't stay for long enough to take advantage of the outdoor pool, but the host of the motel gave us a great tip on where to find a beautiful natural hot spring, which was practically deserted and an amazing experience.
The only negative comment I would make is that the motel is in desperate need of updating as the decor is a bit depressing and the lock on the front door didn't look very secure. Other than that, we had a pleasant stay, mainly down to the helpful nature of the people running the motel when we were there. Many thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazbombaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Spending 8 weeks touring New Zealand we decided on this motel but although the Hosts were friendly and helpful you really get what you pay for. Yes, it was reasonable, but the kitchen was so old, painted a burgundy to hide the old units and we had ants. As we only stopped 1 night we coped but honestly I could not recommend it for these reasons. It was a Backpackers price and they would find it acceptable. The pool was a lovely ad on as the weather was so hot. The bed was clean and therefore one could say that you spend very little time in the unit.However our unit smelt musty and was very dark, perhaps other rooms were better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lots of light
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank elizabethnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

This motel is economy priced and little outdated however they are in the process of doing it up so the value for money is excellent.
The thermal swimming pool is 34 degrees and is a delight to just soak in.
The hosts were so helpful and nothing was a problem. They can even book all your tours and adventures from the front desk.
They also have rooms priced a little higher with dressing gowns and slippers as well as a room where you can watch TV in your own private spa.
They have something for everyone so well worth the enquiry.

Room Tip: First class or business class rooms so you get the dressing gown and slippers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Star B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wells, somerset
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

This was a well positioned motel, off the main road and with parking and a pool.
The room was clean and tidy, but in need of modernisation.
All cutlery, crockery etc was in the kit chen which was great for getting breakfast in the mornings.
The room could do with modernisation but was comfortable enough for 2 nights.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiiMii66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

This motel has had a full makeover with most of the rooms refurbished. Our room was the business class room and I believe they offer First, Business and Economy. We had fee wifi, tea coffee etc as well as 2 cozy dressing gowns. Dawn and Alan we're ideal hosts very friendly and helped us plan our itinery. The pool is a little to hot for me thoughar 38 degrees but probably ok in the winter

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.6 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
1.3 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Motel

Property: Rotorua Motel
Address: 19 Malfroy Road | Victoria, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rotorua Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROTORUA MOTEL comprises 11 Studio & 4 Family Rooms. All rooms are sunny & sheltered & with their own outdoor patio. Several rooms refurbished with EVERYTHING NEW!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rotorua Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing