We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All You Need.”
Review of Rotorua Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rotorua Motel
Ranked #5 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It was as practical as can be for a family of 4 . The building was probably an old apartment complex , wherein each unit was now modified and converted to a motel.
As would be in an apartment, our room had 1 bedroom, separate bathroom and restroom , a Living room, and a kitchen and dining area.
A queen sized bed was in the bedroom, and another queen sized bed and a single bed was placed in the living room- creating a possible 5 pax apartment. There was an LCD TV but we were not able to use it anymore. The kitchen was complete with stoves, oven, microwave, all plates and utensils. It had a dining table to fit 5. Gas heaters were positioned on all the rooms .
The staff were as friendly and helpful as can be . Ask on the best places to visit. Ask also on discount vouchers they have for different activities within and outside town. Ample Free parking at the back . Free wifi but the router comes from the reception office. The further away you are the weaker the signal-so our room could not pick it up. But definitely functioning if you sit in the reception area.
In summary, old facilities, but you have all you need for an inexpensive price.Good enough for a couple of nights. Great crew.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TRavelBug232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Rotorua Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

You will hardly find better value for your money: for about 75 NZ$ we had our own bathroom, kitchen and sunny balcony for breakfast. We loved the bed with its white linen and enjoyed the swimming pool and the separate hot pool very much. The owners are very kind and helpful. Our room was spacious and tidy, as everything else. We recommend this place to everybody who wants to stay a couple of days in the area!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5months2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The location is very handy - 10 to 15 minutes to central Rotorua on foot. It was easy to find and we were pleased with the value of the motel.
The accommodation was clean and there was everything you would need from a kitchen for a holiday (especially when eating out most of the time!).
However, we didn't think the pool was as warm as we had been informed although the hot tub was very agreeable. The accommodation, although clean as mentioned before, was tired and perhaps could do with a spruce up. Also, the bed was very soft indeed and I don't think I would have coped for more than the two nights we were there.
There is a very sulphurous smell in the air due to the thermal activity in the area, however this is one of the reasons to be there (the thermal activity, not the smell!).
If you visit Rotorua, be sure to lookout for the free activities (tramping tracks, waterfalls, government gardens etc.) as the paid ones can be very expensive if you do lots of them!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcj1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Good to be near the town and the rooms are fully serviced with all equipment. The pool is nice and the kitchen has all the appliances you need. Could only stay one night as my wife did not like the sulphur smells of the city ,but this is a fascinating town to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubeshawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The rotorua motel was very nice and clean! The bed was very comfortable! Small kitchen was very handy for breakfast! Everything worked out very good and the owner was very nice too! Would definitely stay here again!! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Two lovely hosts could not have done more for me. Enjoyed the use of the pool and the spa. Had my best night's sleep for a while. I was even taken to the i-site for my onward bus journey. Thank you both. Highly recommended. Theresa - UK

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights with family. Location walking distance from supermarket and easy road access to town center. Clean and fully functioning facilities. Complete kitchen and microwave. Only setback, no ironing facility readily available but accommodating hosts. Very friendly staff. Great value for money and excellent location.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Karlz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
206 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Motel

Address: 19 Malfroy Road, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: £50 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rotorua Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ROTORUA MOTEL comprises 11 Studio & 4 Family Rooms. All rooms are sunny & sheltered & with their own outdoor patio. Several rooms refurbished with EVERYTHING NEW!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rotorua Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing