We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Rotorua” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quest Rotorua Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quest Rotorua Central
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Tinonee, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay in Rotorua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on a self drive holiday and were pleased to find we had been upgraded to en executive apartment when we arrived. The room was excellent, very spacious with modern fittings. The Hotel was a perfect location in the middle of the city and walking distance to the great restaurant precinct. The young fellow on Reception was very helpful especially as we arrived late in the afternoon after reception had close. He made checking in simple and assisted us with tour bookings and other thing we needed. Overall the Quest helped in making our stay in Rotorua very enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevsgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    101
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
146
360
20
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Our one bedroom apartment was perfect in every way. It was clean, modern and very comfortable. The kitchenette was just the right size and we were able to cook simple meals. Colin and Lisa were very helpful and knowledgeable hosts and Colin kindly helped us book our onward accommodation. Really great location, within walking distance of great cafés, restaurants, shops and attractions. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 312, a one bedroom apartment. It had a great view of the town and was light, brigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Angela L,

Thank you for such a great endorsement on Trip Advisor. We understand that you had to leave us after 3 days, there is so much to do in New Zealand, that we couldn’t be greedy and keep you here for your whole holiday! although some before you have just set up base camp in Rotorua – to explore the likes of Waitomo Caves, Hobbiton, White Island and Taupo – all an easy drive from Quest Rotorua Central.

We are happy to have been of service and great to see that you enjoyed our prime location in the heart of the CBD. See you back soon.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
283 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We only stayed 2 nights at the Quest, however it was enough to establish the quality of the facility, its location and general attention to detail.

I have to say that we were really happy with the Quest in that our apartment was quite large with a decent sized kitchen/lounge area incorporating all of the kitchen hardware one could hope for, a sizeable dinner table with 4 chairs, and enough room to enjoy watching a film or the like.

The lounge room couch and chairs were great, the large screen TV terrific complete with the corporate feel of a home splash page with full menu making life very easy. Impressive was how the entertainment system also included some 200 films, more than 100 of which were free to watch on demand with many very contemporary offerings. Exceptional.

The bathroom was of a decent size and quite functional if a tiny bit low rent. This isn't a slant, it's just that the carpet, bed, bed linen etc were of such a good standard, that the slightly cheaper bathroom fittings let it down just that little bit.

Bed quality was awesome, the large floor to ceiling windows were graced with high quality curtains, there was plentiful cupboard space, another large screen TV, et al.

The staff were terrific, the place very clean and well looked after.

The only very minor downside was the parking that cost $5 per day. No big deal really, I probably shouldn't even mention it.

The Quest is located right in the centre of town, close to everything and within a stone's throw of the weekly Thursday Night Market.

Overall, very impressed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuspub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear cuspub,

We are delighted to read your detailed review which is very complimentary about your stay. We always appreciate a 5/5 from such a Top Contributor on Trip Advisor. You highlight many great features of the apartment and elements of your stay, which will certainly help other travellers, with their decision making.

Some points to pick up on, is that we were the first Accommodation Property in New Zealand to install the Triple Play IPTV entertainment system, which currently offers some 240 movies on demand with over 100 FREE movies. These are as modern as you would find in the airlines crossing the Tasman.

We also like to boast about our beds – our Sleepmaker Hospitality beds offer air sprung pockets, and a 2.5 inch topper making our mattresses 7 inches deep – offering the ultimate in sleep quality. Going by your comments we trust that you had an awesome sleep.

Being located within the heart of the Rotorua CBD does mean we have limited parking onsite. The only way to make access fair is to place a slight charge. We are the only hotel in Rotorua that can offer under cover and secure car parking with swipe card access and CCTV provision at $10 per night, off street parking monitored by CCTV is available for $5 per night and FREE parking is available on Hinemoa Street in front of Quest, this is 2 hours’ time limited, however if out doing some activities during the day you can park from 3pm – 11am the next day for FREE.

We would love to welcome you back, should you cross from Australia on holiday in the future.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife, 9mth old son and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment for 4 nights and the room suited us perfectly. It was very modern and the bedroom could be closed off from the kitchen and living area. The IPTV with free movies on demand was lovely and having TVs in both the living and bedroom areas was very handy in the evenings when the when the little fellow was asleep. The wifi internet was very fast and well priced; free for a small amount of use.

The kitchenette was a good size and very well fitted out and having a washer and dryer was very handy. The location is very central and convenient with plenty of eateries, bars and major shopping centre within an easy walk. We had secure, albeit tight, parking for our hire car for a small extra cost.

My only complaint is that the lift was too small to fit the luggage trolley properly. This was a very minor inconvenience and I would highly recommend this establishment for all types of travelers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, Manager at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Jimmy452,

We always love when a Senior Contributor on Trip Advisor takes the time to write a review, even better when it is a 5 Star Score. Thank you so much, we are thrilled. Great to read that the facilities within your one bedroom apartment exceeded your expectations. Our central location is a draw card to allow our guests to explore the local area with over 20 restaurants within a 5 minute circumference of Quest Rotorua Central.

I’m afraid to say that during the reconstruction of the building from an Office Block to an Apartment Complex, that we were left with a cosy lift. We are always on hand to assist with luggage and driving our luggage trolley. Thank you for your comments though.

We hope that should you take another New Zealand holiday in the future that you don’t hesitate to give us a call.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom executive spa suite. It was very clean & the staff were super friendly & helpful with any request we had. The spa was huge! The apartments also catch alot of sun which was lovely & warm in chilly Rotorua. I have been in travel a long time & stayed at many hotels in NZ, Australia & Fiji, I found Quest Rotorua Central to be one of the best - comfortable, clean & fairly priced.

Room Tip: The one bedroom executive spa suite is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorrinJ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, Manager at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear CorrinJ2014,

It was great to welcome you from Surfers Paradise, and we appreciate you writing your first review on Trip Advisor. Thank you kindly for the 5 star review. Great to hear that you had a nice relaxing time, before heading back home, across the Tasman.

I am sure that we will see you again the next time you come back to visit your family in Rotorua.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We keep returning to the family suite which suits our needs on every level. The Managers are extremely accommodating and friendly. Colin even met us in the early hours of the morning when we had some hiccups getting the race car to Rotorua. The rooms are very well appointed and clean. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, Manager at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Hi Jo B,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to write your first Trip Advisor Review. It’s always great to welcome guests back, which is a great endorsement in itself for us. I am pleased that the racing event when with a few less hiccups than your visit in 2013.

I still have to laugh at your first visit, not sure whether to say it’s the latest Check In I’ve ever done, welcoming you at 5am, or the earliest ever arrival, for the new day! Either way – always eager to ensure that we meet the needs of our guests.

We shall look forward to welcoming you back for the Targa 2015 event.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent accommodation, centrally located. I stayed in a beautiful 1 bdrm apartment which had so much space, good sized kitchette, full sized fridge, so clean and tidy to the highest standard. Staff were amazing and great selection of free movies!!! Handy to supermarkets too. I would definitely recommend Quest Rotorua!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danellenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin M, Manager at Quest Rotorua Central, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Danellenz,

It’s great to see that you have taken the time to write your first Trip Advisor review, following your stay at Quest Rotrorua Central. Not only do we appreciate the 5/5 and kind words, your review helped us achieve a 2014 Certificate of Excellence Award.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed all facets of our apartments and the service you received.

We hope to see you back from Auckland soon.

Kind Regards
Colin & Lisa
Franchise Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.3 mi away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#6 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Rotorua Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Rotorua Central

Property: Quest Rotorua Central
Address: 1192 Hinemoa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Rotorua Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Rotorua Central opened in November 2012 and is conveniently positioned in the heart of Rotorua's CBD. Centrally located to enjoy local restaurants and bars, shops and activities we are 550m to the Polynesian Spa and about 1km to the Lakefront. All apartments are self-contained with laundry and kitchen facilities including hobs, dishwashers, microwaves / ovens and fridges. The Executive Apartments boast a private balcony and relaxing Hot Tub- ideal to soak in after a day of adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Quest Rotorua Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing