We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good little Japanese restaurant”
Review of Kia Ora Japan

Kia Ora Japan
Ranked #74 of 225 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good little Japanese restaurant”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Good location positioned right in the centre of the city this little Japanese restaurant offers good food at reasonable price

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
153 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“authentic & good value japanese”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

we tried this restaurant after walking past it the night before & thinking it looked ok.
we eat a lot of japanese at home & overseas & thought that the cold soba noodles was as tasty & well presented as we have had anywhere. The sushi was also good.
service was efficient & we didn't wait long for food.
the size of servings was just right for us
so overall - a very pleasant meal & value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimba38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was ok!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

Loved this place a year ago but this time not really impressed. I don't think we will go back. Overpriced for what we ordered compared to other Japanese restaurants. The sashimi platter had several salmon end pieces tough and chewy... Not pleasant. However the spicy tuna roll was fresh and tasty. Hence the average review overall.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We came across Kia Ora Japan while looking for a place to eat. The food was great and excellent value for money. Only problem is there is only paid parking nearby during lunchtimes, and the area can be quite busy in the evenings also.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Authentic Food”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

we were walking the restaurant strip looking for something interesting and this was it. The ambience was the only reason I gave it 4 star and not 5. Service was good, charming Japanese girls...the menu was comprehensive and we settle on the 'set meal' which was about 6-8 courses. We decided that a single serve of this set meal with the addition of another soup would be adequate - and it was ample for two, for our appetites anyway.
It was delicious, beautifully presented and lovely tastes. We visit Japan reasonably frequently so we are familiar with good Japanese food. The soup was gorgeous, in a wire container on its' own burner which we were told to cook till the candle went out. FUN! it contained fish, seafood, mushroom vegetables etc....yum! Address is: 1139 Tutanakai st, Rotorua

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 10Woodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kia Ora Japan also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Kia Ora Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing