We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, delicious, comfortable - what more could you want?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rotorua City Homestay
Ranked #21 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, delicious, comfortable - what more could you want?”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Peter and Mike concentrate on what you want, from the type of sheets you prefer to dietary restrictions. They cooked up delicious and beautiful breakfasts for us, each one better than the one before, starting us out well fueled for the day. They offered me many suggestions on activities, often they could offer discounts too. They called and set up the eco-tour zip-line trip for me, the highlight of my Rotorua stay.

The gardens are beautiful, lush and restful. The location is across the street from the Kuirau Park with its free foot baths and geothermal sights plus formal gardens and recreation facilities, and only 5 blocks from the convention center. They sent me out to watch the rafters at Okere Falls and let me discover for myself the 2013 world rafting championships in progress there!

As for details: the bed was 'Goldilocks' comfortable. They provided a fridge with coffee and tea making supplies. The en-suite was clean and tidy. The spa pool was spotless. Mike and Peter did laundry for the other guest while we were there. They could advise us on activities, restaurants, petrol stations - anything we asked about they were eager to help us with. The house is cosy but not cluttered, with many artistic and eclectic touches, some made by Peter! The garden's in such good shape it's hard to believe they've only been there 14 months.

My husband was there for a conference and enjoyed the strolls to and from the conference center. With Peter's directions we were able to take the scenic route there through Kuirau Park and the Ohinemutu Maori settlement to the meeting.

Room Tip: The room without en-suite is larger. No air-conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unicycle-cloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike-n-Peter, Owner at Rotorua City Homestay, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you very much for this wonderful review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and you had a great time in Rotorua and the activities we guided you to. We hope to see you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
25
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Mike and Peter were great hosts and were very knowledgeable about things to do on a wet day. They had tried the white water rafting and said it would be fine for me. It proved to be a real highlight of my NZ trip as was the Polynesia Spa and Rotorua Museum. Our room had access to the deck and spa which was clean and all ready for us but we were spoiled by two long spa experiences and didn't need more soaking. The bedding was good quality cotton and we had an ensuite with shower. We shared a full breakfast with our hosts which was different on both days that included eggs, yoghurt, fruit and cereal . When we discovered that we had forgotten some belongings Peter kindly agreed to posting them to our home address. Thanks for making our holiday memorable. We loved Rotorua.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike-n-Peter, Owner at Rotorua City Homestay, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you so much for your time for feed back which is very important for our business. Nice to hear from you that you enjoyed our hospitality even though we can not control the weather, we were able to direct you to some wet weather things to do. Your parcel was posted that same day and we hope it has already arrived. Thanks a lot again and hope to see you again soon for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the B&B, lovely, very knowledgeable hosts, who gave us excellent recommendations of things to do and places to eat. They have tried out about every single attraction themselves so can speak out of their own experience.
We stayed four full days and had five delicious cooked breakfasts (as well as a variety of cereals to choose from and toast and spreads).
Last time we were in Rotorua we stayed in one of the bigger hotels and were looking for something more personal- definitely achieved that and we would stay at the B&B again the next time!

Room Tip: As there are only two rooms to choose from not really applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike-n-Peter, Owner at Rotorua City Homestay, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and the lovely words you have said. It was great having you stay with us and we are so glad that you enjoyed your trip and stay in Rotorua. See you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2013

One of the better places we've stayed at while in New Zealand. Facilities are very new and clean, comfy beds, centrally located to all the attractions, nice spa to chill and relax in the yard, fast and free WIFI, and not forgetting, very accommodating and friendly hosts, Peter & Mike.

Highly recommended! Would surely be back should I visit NZ again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike-n-Peter, Owner at Rotorua City Homestay, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. It was great having you here staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand. Do come again as there is still plenty to see and do here in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We enjoyed two nights while attending the B&B Association NZ Conference. Instead of staying at the hotel where the conference was held, we wanted to support a B&B. This was a good choice as the hosts were wonderful - their place is fitted out beautifully on the inside. Absolutely no gaps in the service. Mike and Peter have worked really hard transforming the back of the property and are now going to revamp the front too. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike-n-Peter, Owner at Rotorua City Homestay, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your accommodation during the B&B conference. It was lovely having you stay with us and thanks for your kind words in this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed two night here and was a pleasure. Bedroom are nicely furnished and comfortable. Easy 3 minutes walk to the city. Peter & Mike are friendly hosts and they made good hearty breakfast. Free fast wifi and wide array of DVDs to watch. Lovely place and highly recommended :)

Room Tip: You are able to choose your linen! Just drop them an email!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genedavinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike-n-Peter, Owner at Rotorua City Homestay, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our place. We are glad you enjoyed our hearty breakfasts and your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Stayed a couple of nights in Rotorua during the busy summer holidays and this homestay is great.... walking distance to the central city; has peace and quiet plus a great private courtyard with a spa pool to chill out and relax day or night. Comfortable beds and the facilities are clean and very new including WiFi internet. The hosts are great, respect one's privacy and oblige to accommodate breakfast times as one requires. Breakfasts are included in the tariff; extremely filling and help set the day off on a good note. One can come and go as one pleases and Mike and Peter offer good advice on the attractions Rotorua offers. Enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that goes directly out to the Spa pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarillonManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike-n-Peter, Owner at Rotorua City Homestay, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you also enjoyed the privacy of our courtyard and the easy location of our B&B. We look forward to hosting you again when you need a relaxing break away from your daily grind
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.5 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#51 of 92 in Rotorua
116 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Guysers Gaystay
Guysers Gaystay
#23 of 58 in Rotorua
33 reviews
2.1 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 52 in Rotorua
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lake Lodge B&B
Lake Lodge B&B
#20 of 52 in Rotorua
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua City Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua City Homestay

Property: Rotorua City Homestay
Address: 1406c Pukuatua Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B has 2 well-appointed stylish rooms with dedicated bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities, a TV and a mini-bar with a selection of drinks and snacks available. Guests are free to use the shared lounge which has a distinct Balinese style decor and dining room and we have a sunny courtyard area and covered patio with a deluxe 5-person spa pool and sun-loungers. Free Wi-Fi. Daily complimentary breakfast is included in the tariff and consists of fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, cereals, toast and spreads as well as a cooked breakfast which varies daily. Breakfast is served at a time agreed to by all guests and is enjoyed together around the table with your hosts. Complementary transport to/from the airport or bus station is provided (if you let us know your flight number or bus carrier and times). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rotorua City Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing