We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and cheerful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean and cheerful staff!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Good location. it is just beside the bus station. Blanket, pillows and bed sheets are very clean that made me to sleep soundly. And it is inexpensive! I like the Friday night barbecue party. You get to meet different and interesting people at the party and learn a lot from them.

Room Tip: I would recommend this hostel to others
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geda2721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    40
    23
    12
    4
See reviews for
7
31
46
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The location of this hostel is good because it's close to the center of town and it's right next to the bus stop. I liked the free wifi and I thought that the staff were friendly.
However, the bathrooms could have been cleaner. There was one stall that was dirty for a few days in a row and none of the staff bothered to clean it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank avmwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Had a great time staying here, lovely helpful bubbly staff on reception who help with anything from ordering food to booking a trip out for the day... and the hostel wouldn't be as clean as it is withough the fantastic cleaners. The location was perfect, close to all the shops, government gardens and bars. This hostel had a range of ages staying so perfect for everyone. Also, the free barbeque on friday evenings was a great laugh. I'm sad we have to leave but in the words of big old Arnie Schwarzenegger... "I'll be baaack!!' x

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoebe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We happened by this hostel on our last stay in Rotorua and ended up staying 2 nights with them. Great prices, FREE WIFI (which you cannot beat), free BBQ on Thursday nights, clean rooms and friendly staff. We had no issues with staying here and would gladly stay again on our next passing through Rotorua. As far as hostels go, A+.

Room Tip: Very clean bathrooms, we stayed in a double private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superiorcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hostel is located right in the centre of Rotorua. With a leisurely stroll, you can easily reach Government Gardens and the Polynesian Spa within 5 minutes. Lots of cafés, restaurants and convenience stores can easily be reached, and the iSite is just across the street.

The hostel itself is pleasantly clean. The kitchen might be a bit small, but they recently got a new, bigger fridge, which should drastically increase storage space. The toilets and showers are clean, as were the dorms and communal rooms. My only not/quite/complaint would be that the mattresses were a bit hard.

For a relatively small price (I paid 24 NZD for a bed in a 6 bed female dorm), lots of free stuff is included: not only do they offer free pasta and rice as well as free tea and coffee, but free WiFi at a reasonable speed that actually works!

The staff were fantastic, very helpful and incredibly friendly and nice, especially Kat. Thanks, Kat, for a hilarious late/night chat!

Should I pass through Rotorua again, I will definitely be staying at the Downtown Backpackers again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundsvall
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The kitchen is waay to small for all the people that they have but otherwise this hostel is very good. It doesn't cost that much and the facilities works.

They have many toilettes and showers which are clean but the male toilettes smelled a lot of urin.
The bedrooms don't have a tv but there is one down in the mainroom.
There is also free wifi which is a rarity in NZ. The staff are also very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately we found this place to be dirty and shabby. If the kitchens and bathrooms are not clean and tidy to begin with then people will not look after them and how do you wash up with a filthy old brush anyway? The staff are more concerned with being cool and your best mate than they are with the upkeep of the hostel. The communal area was always full of stoners watching cartoons and was not welcoming. We could only get wifi by the bedroom door and the state of the mattress cover was so awful that I was too scared to look at the actual mattress. The two stars I've given are for location (1 min from the bus station) and the free BBQ on a Friday.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Poppy612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#32 of 92 in Rotorua
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 57 in Rotorua
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotorua Downtown Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotorua Downtown Backpackers

Property: Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
Address: 1193 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rotorua Downtown Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing central city location, 30 Metres from the i-Site and Bus Stations, extremely well appointed, refurbished 2015. 24 Hour Check-in. Amazing Travel Deals from our Friendly knowledgeable staff! Unlimited Free WiFi & Extensive Movie Library. Free Pasta, Rice, Tea & Coffee! Funky Courtyard with BBQ. Rotorua Downtown, Your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Rotorua Downtown Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing