We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 for a reason!!!!! ”

Leonardo's Pure Italian
Ranked #13 of 229 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$29
Cuisines: Italian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Leonardo's is a small, family owned restaurant, Yuka and Leo have been in hospitality for more than 20 years all together. Our Menu is quite small only because we work only with the freshest products possible. For the same reason we change our menu very often, to try new flavours and recipe. The restaurant is open for dinner 7 nights a week.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“#1 for a reason!!!!! ”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

The best place to eat on Rotorua, such amazing food across the board (entree, main & dessert). The cosy little restaurant along with the great service made us feel very warm and welcomed! Definitely need to book due popularity!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Renaldo_Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi there, thank you so much for your review, such a nice one. Looking forward to have you here again. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    229
    96
    23
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FORT COLLINS
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Rotorua”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Make reservations as this place is popular. We thought it was the best food in town. The owners and staff really work hard to ensure you are happy. Food was very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Likestotravel1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi, thank you for your time to write this review about. Glad you did. Hope to see you again sometime in the future. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't get enough! ”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I dined here back in Feb but was slow in reviewing. We absolutely loved eating here. So much so that we dined here both nights we were in Rotorua. We came the first night based on TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. We shared a small antipasti and it was more than enough for 2. Very tasty and one of the best antipasti we've had. Decided on a lamb dish and seafood pasta for mains. Both were delicious as well. We were very full by now but we really wanted to try out their desserts as well since all the dishes so far were so good. Unfortunately I was disappointed they had run out of creme caramel. However the two desserts we ordered were up to standard as well. The only negative point would be that the coffee was bland and a little bitter. So don't order coffee. Unsurprisingly no one else did either so we should have followed the crowd!
We were so impressed with this place we booked for dinner for the next night as well.
On our second night we forego the entrée and just ordered mains and dessert so we would not be so full. The steaks were amazing. This time I managed to get the creme caramel dessert. Very smooth and delicious.
The popularity of this restaurant seems to be well known by the locals too as the name was immediately suggested by our tour guide as soon as we mentioned an amazing Italian restaurant we went to.
We would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Rotorua. But must make a booking unless you go for an early dinner around 6pm.

Helpful?
1 Thank Yas8oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi there, thank you cfor taking time and write this review about us. Very happy to hear you had an awesome time. looking forward to have you here again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“fab meals”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

great meal at leonardos hubby had steak with rocket salad and thought it was outstanding,even though he usually does not like rocket. I had amazing gnocchi and the waitress recommended a very soft easy drinking italian red, sangiovese, great service. Tiny restaurant so good to book, felt like we had been transported to italy. Thank you Leonardos. No pizzas feels very authetic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Awesome review, thank you so much. The Sangiovese is one of our best wine, it is very smooth and very easy to drink, glad you enjoyed. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Melbourne couple”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We absolutely loved this restaurant. Very casual but the food was delicious. My husband had the lamb and said it was the best he has ever eaten. Atmosphere also good. Not too noisy. The bruschetta was a meal in itself. My pasta was also very tasty. Authentic Italian. Very friendly staff also.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabriellew463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hi Gabrielle, the team at Leonardo's is pleased you enjoyed your time with us, please do not hesitate to come and see us again in the future. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leonardo's Pure Italian also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Leonardo's Pure Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing