We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Leonardo's Pure Italian
Ranked #29 of 257 Restaurants in Rotorua
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: Italian, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Leonardo's is a small, family owned restaurant, Yuka and Leo have been in hospitality for more than 20 years all together. Our Menu is quite small only because we work only with the freshest products possible. For the same reason we change our menu very often, to try new flavours and recipe. The restaurant is open for dinner 7 nights a week.
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were really excited about trying this restaurant as it has raving reviews on this site but unfortunately we left slightly disappointed. The food itself wasn't without merit - we ordered the antipasto which was TO DIE FOR and the tiramisu was nice (though not a very strong coffee taste) but the main was a big let down. I ordered the bolognese which ended up being a plate of mice with some overcooked pasta strewn through it. My dad ordered the seafood pasta - which although he said had a lovely taste - had three crabs in the mussels. The wine selection was superb and it had a nice atmosphere but I wouldn't rate it more than average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hi there, thank you for taking time and writing this reviw about us. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your evening with us, glad you enjoyed the antipasto and the tiramisu. About the pasta, well I apologies about the few straws of overcooked pasta, it is definitely a mistake that shouldn't happen, you should have point that out on the night, we would have go the extra mile to fix the problem. About the crabs they are quite normal when you use fresh mussels, living inside the shell they are difficult to spot untill we take the actual mussel out. I understand that the overcooked pasta put you off, but no way it was a "plate full of mince", it is done in the traditional way, like "nonna" used to make. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

757 - 761 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

It was amazing to have the real Italian pasta . Leonardo is the best in pastas. We highly recommend . We will be back

Thank sandy794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you very much for the nice review. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Outstanding service for a place that was very busy. We had a meal with 5 friends all the food was beautifully presented and delicious. Minor gripe was that the pasta servings were a little small but that's understandable when it's all hand made and I am a standard greedy guts kiwi. Just order more! The Pollo Alla Diavola was incredible, I have no doubt why it's so popular

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anthonyg605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hi there, thank you so much for this awesome review. We are all so glad that your party had a very good time with us. Looking forward to have you here again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The food was abosultely amazing here. Try the antipasto plate, best i have ever had! The food is so fresh and very authentic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Danielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Awesome review...thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

This was a unique Italian restaurant, that focused on Authentic Italian cuisine. We had the bruschetta to start, which was done 4 ways (pesto, tomatoes, pate, and olives). This was thoroughly enjoyable and the best bruschetta we have ever eaten. For mains, my wife had the angel hair with mussels and pipis, and I had the chef's special, a pork porchetta. Both dishes were brilliantly cooked, the pasta was freshly made, and the mussels was nicely done. The pork porchetta was out of this world, with a nice crackle around the pork. The flavors were amazing! We finished off the night with a lovely panna cotta and tiramisu. The place is quaint, and has a unique charm. We had a really lovely dining experience, and we would definitely come back for more!

Thank Adrian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeonardoandYuka, Owner at Leonardo's Pure Italian, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Hi Adrian, I have no words for this fantastic review, only thank you and see you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leonardo's Pure Italian also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Leonardo's Pure Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing