We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Richard the owner made our night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Our BackYard Pub

Our BackYard Pub
Ranked #1 of 10 Coffee & Tea in Rotorua
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: New Zealand, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our Backyard Pub is an Authentic Kiwi Style Pub. We have a Full Menu including Fish n Chips, Steak, Fettucine and a Fantastic range of Kiwi Burgers including the Ginormous Burger! We also have a Fantastic variety of Tap Beers, Bottled Beers, Spirits and Non-Alcoholic Drinks. Come in and check us out while you are vising the Spectacular Rotorua!
Matata
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Richard the owner made our night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We had only been drinking 15min when out came the complementary snacks. Richard the owner was the perfect host. Once ordered he always remembered our drink orders and anticipated our needs perfectly.
The meal was top class for a pub meal. A great little kiwi pub.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kawerau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and awesome food and hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Amazing new pub and great food and great service, very friendly and knowledgeable staff, would highly recommend it, will be going back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
583 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Rustic atmosphere sold me”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

I really enjoy visiting rustic backyard pubs. The atmosphere makes it for me. The staff were very friendly, helpful. I liked the menu choice, great options. Similar atmosphere to the West Coast south island pubs. Food quality was excellent. Well worth a visit if you are in Rotorua

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taumarunui
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely food & brilliant setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

The interior of the pub is very cool. The pictures on the wall & every thing else inside is very cool. The food is lovely & after the bad food experience last night it has bought Rotorua dining back up slightly in my book. This place is a good rustic visit with food that is the same rustic tasty standard for good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mallorhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Our BackYard Pub also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Our BackYard Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing