We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Budget place to stay in Rotorua with all facilities”
Review of The Backyard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Backyard Inn
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Budget place to stay in Rotorua with all facilities”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you looking for budget facility and want to enjoy your stay with food, Bar, Pool, Kitchen everything at your doorstep and that too with late availability, then go for KiwiPaka.

We never enjoyed this much as this price anywhere else in New Zealand. Best thing I liked about KiwiPaka is food, Drinks and everything is really affordable and its in KiwiPaka premises only. hosts are welcoming but Busy all the time.

Biggest surprise was a FREE SPA that you can use till mid night and bar is just next door with most of the drinks at just 5 Bucks :))))

Rooms are just ok and you can't expect much at this price. Overall Great experience.

Room Tip: Floors are a bit noisy and rooms are just ok. Do not go if you want a quite place but must visit if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GouravNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    62
    42
    34
    44
See reviews for
31
60
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I was a little anxious about staying in a hostel, but we found Kiwipaka to be clean, quiet, and best of all, very affordable.

We opted for a private chalet, which had one twin and one queen bed with a private bathroom. Very basic accommodation, but clean and perfectly acceptable.

One word of advice: have the Kiwipaka front desk make reservations for you at local attractions. I made the mistake of calling Mitai Maori Village direct, to make reservations for their cultural show and hangi feast. I found out when I arrived that if Kiwipaka had made the reservation for me, I would have been charged less. Who knew?

Room Tip: We enjoyed the privacy of a chalet. It's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martigold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had no choice but to stay here when EVERYTHING else in Rotorua was fully booked! We camped... and were the only ones camping! I feel bad leaving a mean review based on our experience because the owners aren't really to blame but it is still my own true opinion of our stay. we camped like I said and were the only ones doing so... there were 10 sites to pick from and yet the girl on the desk allocated us the worst pitch. You'd think she would give us a nicer one seeing as there was no one else camping. When we actually slept on a different pitch because the one we were allocated had hard ground, was right next to the car park and was very noisy I was called up on it at reception the next morning... this annoyed me. The facilities are really good so that's a bonus of course. The school trip part: 90% of people staying here were kids on rugby trips or what not... they were loud and obnoxious and we were woken up at 7am with loud chart music! I sound like an old nag but I was not a happy bunny!! If they were able to know we had moved pitches you'd think they would also be policing things like ridiculous noise at 7am!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bexen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We took a school trip for 3 nights. 13 people. The hostel was clean, warm, heated floors in bathroom, food was wholesome, staff friendly, helpful and welcoming. Pool a bonus with great hours. Only one gripe, tv in rec room needs upgrading.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floydbanks2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Lodge with Yr 13 students and i was very impressed with the rooms, bathrooms and service from staff!
Small criticism would be that the cooking hobs need upgrading as it was difficult cooking for large numbers.
That said, we had a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We would never usually stay in a backpacker hostel, but we were going with a swim squad and needed to be right next door to the aquatic centre, but close to the town amenities. This fitted the bill. There are a few chalets with en suites, but no other services (no TV, no kettle with tea/coffee etc), but there is a cafe and a bar, and a hot pool - no swimming pool.
It is a bit dated, but our chalet was very clean, the beds were very comfortable, the heating was excellent - this was good as it got down to minus 2 at night - and it was well staffed with friendly people and the beers were cheap! it is literally a 10 minute walk into town. If you take a car, you'd spend as long trying to find a car park space.
The drawbacks were; have to bring your own towel (but bath mat provided), only one thin pillow on each bed (but you can ask for more, extra wool blankets were offered), and there was a little road noise from our particular position.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Due to the time of the year, the place was pretty quiet. I had the pool to myself the entire time.

Staff were friendly and helpful as always. I even got an "upgrade" from a dorm room to a double bed in a room to myself. Sweet.

This is my fifth stay at Kiwi Paka and the place has been refurbed and kept fresh each time I've visited. Will return.

Room Tip: Book in advance during busy times. The place is a short distance from the centre of town, but the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncle_Gweilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#22 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#4 of 57 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
0.8 mi away
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
Rotorua Planet Backpackers
#24 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Backyard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Backyard Inn

Property: The Backyard Inn
Address: 60 Tarewa Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Kiwipaka Hostel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Backyard Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BACKYARD INN: is an eclectic mix of chalet & lodge style accommodation suitable for families, travelers & groups. It's down to earth, clean and comfy, and represents great value. OUR PEOPLE: Your Backyard Inn hosts are the McLeay Family who have been passionate about delivering warm service to Rotorua visitors since the day they put out the welcome mat in 1986. OUR PLACE: Conveniently set in four acres of park-like grounds in Rotorua's wonderous backyard, we're flanked by awesome sporting and recreational amenities - while being just a hop, skip & a jump from downtown Rotorua. OUR PLACE: Bar & Cafe with big-screen TV Thermal Hot Pool Conference & meeting facilities In-room Wi-fi available (costs apply) 29 chalets accommodating 2-6 people 64 lodge rooms sleeping 1-5, they are basic but clean Tent & campervan sites TV room and Pool table area(cost apply) Self-catering kitchen Sales desk for your itinerary plans Four acres of green, open space STAY! Travelers can enjoy their own spaces in great value lodge or chalet options or camping sites. FAMILIES: At The Backyard Inn, families can relax in a kid friendly, safe environment. Chalet accommodation is a popular family option. GROUPS: Our unique design makes us an ideal facility for large groups. Hence we're a popular base for sports, school and tour groups. With Wi-fi, meeting facilities and a travel center, we're a great choice for a conference! Come stay, play, swim, eat, drink & enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Backyard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing