We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Backyard Inn
Nearby Hotels
Arista Capri Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Rotorua(Rotorua)
US$125
US$103
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$892
US$642
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$144
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PURE Motel & Guest House(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aura Accommodation(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$116
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
36
68
47
35
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
68
47
35
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchenthermal hot poolcommon roomcommunal areaskuirau parkopened the doorenjoyed my staycentral rotoruatown centreaquaticaccommodationsinksdustonsiteheapssports
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My partner and I stayed in the Kiwi Paka for 2 nights recently. We stayed in a double standard room. Room was small, just a bed, table and chair with mirror. Had everything we needed. Our room was on the ground floor. A room above us. Only major complaint is the room above us, every move/step we could hear in our room. Dont expect a sleep in as you will def be woken up.Overall, the staff are super nice and super friendly, Breakfast was good, hostel clean, didnt use pool, but looked good. The accommodation is 10-15 minutes max walk to central Rotorua. Would recommend the hostel to others and would come back again.

Room Tip: Book a room upstairs with no room above you so you dont hear people walking around their room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiamhKeogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed here in April 2014 and Bev was a delight! The rooms are clean and the kitchen is stocked but there were a lot of student groups coming through which made for a lot of notice and not an easy night's rest.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Kiwi Paka for two nights. Overall the facilities were good: friendly staff, good food, convenient bar at good prices. We loved the hot pool, great after a day full of hiking and walks. We stayed in a private double and the only gripe was the fact that the room was so poorly ventilated -just one Window and no fan so it was stifling and hard to sleep and the nights are not even that hot. Fans in summer would be great.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is our 4th time staying at KiwiPaka. We stayed with 2 adults and 3 of our children and had a dormitory room. All facilities are in excellent condition, well maintained and clean. The dinner was excellent at $12 for crumbed fresh fish (not pre-frozen) with a good salad and chips and $7.50 for five small hot dogs and chips for the kids. At $5 for a beer at the bar, you can afford to have a few drinks too and shout the odd round :) . The breakfast was extremely good value too at $30 cooked for all five of us. The staff could not be nicer and the large hotpool is superclean and open until 12.00 midnight which is perfect for winding down late in the evening. I have been working as a tourguide and operate a qualmark endorsed tourism business in NZ. KiwiPaka is most definitely our most preferred accommodation in Rotorua and we highly recommend it to any visitors. Thank You KiwiPaka Team, You Rock !!!!

Room Tip: The kitchen and bar are outstanding value for money !
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WDKCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Me and my partner have stayed there for a total of 2 nights. After all we have been told by WOTIF its close to city, its about 15-20 walking and then this and that we have found these Advantageous and Disadvantageous and we hope will help to find more whether to waste or invest your money into it;

Advantages:

We arrived at noon to check in and they let us so, nice of them :). Then we were checking out so they gave us a ride to bus station stop too, thanks indeed.

Disadvantages:

Obviously we didn't have a pleasant and comfortable stay even having our own private room! The bathroom and toilets were disgusting, very poor and have never seen such facilities since have been staying in a lot of backpackers on and off!!! Then they gave us a room on 1st level where there was another level at the top that was another room,OMG in every step that someone was in room walking we could hearing it and we couldn't get a bloody good sleep as it was so noisy and disturbing!!! So the bed was Old as so the needing very poor!!! The breakfast was part of the deal of course that they were not informed and if I wasn't insist or show the booking on my app. wouldn't believe me!!!

Overall dont waste your money if you other options.

Room Tip: nothing to tip!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Austin n Kateri... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews