We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$557
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$471
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
16
26
14
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
26
14
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousemid winterlocation was perfecta bit tiredapartmentbedroomlake
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We had some apprehensions because of the mixed reviews here, but we were pleasantly surprised that Jack & Di's Troutbeck Lodge was really a nice place. The next-door Jack & Di's Lake View Motel looked a little rundown and basic (although it had a laundry room which we used) so we were quite glad to be staying at the Troutbeck Lodge instead. Do book the lake view rooms (we got a good deal at NZ$95 on Wotif) - we got the upper floors and enjoyed fantastic views (it's really really lake front) plus it was quieter than the other rooms which were just next to the dining/ family areas. Ok so no one welcomed us and the management took a long time to respond to our constant emails prior to our stay, but we checked in quite easily once we got there by calling a freephone number to gain the access code to the lodge. No sulphur fumes at all, though flies were aplenty (could be because of the rainy weather). It's a good 15-minute drive to the city centre where most of the shops/ motels along Fenton street are, but why would you want to stay in Rotorua just to be in the heart of civilisation? The lodge is also quite close to Agrodome, Rainbow Springs and Skyline rides.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spookybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2009

Stayed there for 2 nights in mid winter (july). Very hospitable and was exactly what we needed. Nice, warm, cosy room and nice to have a lounge to chill out in, having stayed in hostels of less quality but smilar price beforehand. Di was very helpful, nice views (with the goat next door!) and the place is very accessible to everything in Rotorua. Only has a few rooms so would be great for group stays.

Overall: good price, good location and very homely - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pughmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

The apartment we stayed in was very nice and clean, with nice touches including free WiFi (although the signal was very weak and the staff didn't a clue about how to make it work), DVDs, etc.

Only problem in terms of the fit is that we arrived with a pizza for dinner and found no oven!

Nonetheless, the accommodation is spacious and of good standard.

Breakfast was terrible. Food is left in the kitchen for continental breakfasts, but they use the cheapest of cheapest ingredients. The orange juice was in fact an orange 'drink' , containing 5% juice. Only cheap white bread in the freezer, and cheap butter / margarine mix spread, awful over-sweetened fruit yogurt. We asked if we could have some real orange juice and plain yogurt the next day and were give orange 'nectar' - this time with 40% juice content, and sweetened plain yogurt with gelatin thickener on the list of ingredients. The jams were probably introduced to fruit from a long way away before being packed with lots of sugar, and there were a couple of sorry looking apples and sorry looking oranges in a bowl, and a few sorry looking processed cheese slices in the fridge. After stays in accommodation where they made the most of high quality NZ food, wonderful fresh dairy products and fresh summer fruit this was a bit of a shock. places

In the end we decided to stay in for breakfast because we could have it on the terrace with the wonderful views of the lake, but certainly not for the quality of the food.

Overall great location, but just 'OK' and I cannot help think it could be much better if they put their mind to it.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jono_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

We stayed at the penthouse apartment, during an incredibly wet week. The apartment was easily found with a sign visible, although one on the front telling you to go down the side of the building - to use the phone to get access, would have saved time wandering around the front doors.But one phone call and we were given the code in which was easy enough.

Unfortuntely the first thing that greets you at the doorway is a sign saying that the neighbours have complanied about noise at times and as they go to bed early, to keep it down- not the best first impression to get. The sign is fine but perhaps in a more discreet place would be fair also to the people renting who dont make any noise!!

Even tho the weather was so wet and rainy, the apartment warmed quickly when patches of sun came out and the whole place was bathed in light which was great.

Great soft leather lounge suite, large plasma tv, & sky were great also. The only thing that let it down were the long plastic curtain rails with the curtains all hanging off in places throughout ! Not a biggie really but nice rails and properly hung curtains would make it look more like a penthouse. The other finishing touches showed effort on the managements side though.

The deck was good and would have been enjoyable in sunny weather with the lake views promised.
Bathroom- The shower head wasnt great - old and spraying in various directions, but lots of hot water.

Continental breakfast was suppied- were happy to see eggs included in that and bread in the freezer, cereal etc to help yourself to.

The bed was very comfy although very narrow width wise for a queen??

Price wise- wouldnt have felt it was worth the full price of $250p.n but there were plenty of nights on the last minute sites online at $150 which was about right /towards the top end of its worth.
All in all a pleasant stay which we would return to, if in Rotorua

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank deliverygirlnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2007

This place was recommended by the Aukland Air port Travel Bureau. It was at the end of our trip and we hadn't had any specific plans so we decided to risk it. We rented one of the rooms overlooking the lake in the lower level of the building. The building has been renovated well, except for a few major problems. The noise was aweful. We constantly heard people above us walking, as if they were walking in hiking books and we could almost make out the show they were watching on TV. The shower head was broken and so we had to take a bath- not preferrable by us at all. The hairdryer didn't work. Di was pretty responsive about the noise and the people above turned their TV off when Di called. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Canuk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews