We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
Ranked #68 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 26 March 2006

My husband and I stayed at this accomodation in August 2005. It was listed in the guide books and the website certainly looked good. Perhaps I should have realised it wouldnt live up to it's lovely website because there was no 'qualmark" rating.

Having stayed in several accomodations throughout the 3 weeks, I have realised that it's wise to check for the Qualmark rating esp with B & B's.

As some of the reviewers mentioned, we found it quite strange being locked out of the accomodation when we arrived. We stood outside for a while wondering what to do. Eventually we saw the notice about having to pick up the phone outside inorder to key in the code. Only then could we open the door. Not a very good first impression as there was no soul in sight. They should really have the courtesy to come out and greet their guests.

The living room was decent enough but the twin bedroom was definitely pretty tiny, with very little room for us to move. Being asians, we are pretty small built, so I can imagine those who are much taller. The other bedroom across the hall looked larger.

When nightfall came, we realised it was cooollllld! We come from sunny singapore where it's hot and humid all year - so silly me forgot to check if this place had central heating or electric blankets in the bedrooms. (now, that's a lesson we learnt along the way).

Being winter, we found it really freezing at night and layered ourselves with thermal, extra sweaters and socks when we slept. The frustrating part was having to take off the socks each time we needed to go to the toilet. We realised there was no shower screen or floor towel to wipe the water from the floor. So after our bath, the floor would be wet. Imagine having to walk on the cold tiles with water on the floor in the night when you need to get to the bathroom.

Having said that, the place was kept fairly clean. The kitchen had the basic equipment - managed to prepare hard boiled eggs and toast for breakfast. The heater in the living room took some time to warm the room, perhaps they should have it turned on when they have guests. It would be nice to come home to a warm house. When we returned in the evening, it was to a very cold house.

We did get to meet Di on one of the afternoons that we were going out and she was friendly. However, during most of the stay, there really wasnt anyone - not at check in or check out.

It's true that we expected more from the term "boutique" hotel. Yep, one can indeed be fooled by the website - it gives the impression that you can expect much more. So I wouldnt recommend this place, at least not for winter. Even in summer I suppose it can get quite stuffy in the room as the windows open out where anyone can peep or climb in. Good thing we stayed only for 2 nights because the thought of walking on a cold tiled wet bathroom floor would have kept us from taking a bath before bedtime. With the smell of rotten eggs in the air, perhaps no one would notice whether we bathed or not. Haha. Oh gross indeed.

Being our first B & B in NZ, it was a little disappointing. It was good thing we were having a lovely time and in a great holiday mood- great Northern Indian cuisine at the restaurant and Waiotapu and Lady Knox was definitely worth a visit despite the smell of rotten eggs.

Thankfully our other B & B, Appledore Lodge at Bay of Islands was fantastic with lovely views, service and delightful hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveljet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2006

Jack & Di’s wish to thank all those visitors who have provided feedback on this site – all comments and suggestions are an invaluable part of our company’s endeavours to improve the service we offer.

•Firstly, I would like to say that Jack & Di’s Lake View Accommodation is now under new management. A number of the issues mentioned in the emails posted on the Trip Advisor website have already been addressed.

•The member of staff who made a visitors trip to Troutbeck Lodge (then ‘Cottage’) an unpleasant experience is no longer working for Jack & Di’s.

•The Accommodation listing has now been amended so that Jack & Di’s does not list under ‘Boutique’ accommodation. It is now listed under Self service, Apartments, non-hosted (for Lake Road), Lodges and Motels. By changing the categories under which we list, we hope to provide travellers with realistic expectations of the type of accommodation being offered.

•We now have a live-in manager at our Waiteti motel site (who also covers Troutbeck Lodge). The manager is there to assist guests at all times and to ensure check-in, departure and the duration of the stay is as pleasurable as we can make it.

•We have looked at the comments made on provisioning and storage at the properties and will continue to improve on the provisions left for guests, and will be addressing the matter of wardrobe space as soon as possible. Those comments are precisely the information we wish to receive from our guests so that we can make the necessary changes to ensure positive feedback in the future.

•We have now applied for a Qualmark rating and are undergoing the process of Qualmark checks. As soon as we have been provided with our rating, it will be added to our website.

Previous and future guests are invited to visit our updated website (please click on your ‘refresh’ button for the most up to date version).
Please note that pictures are current and extensive – to include photographs of the outside of the buildings, the rooms and the lounge areas. We hope that this will be a comprehensive and realistic guide for travellers and provide a true representation of each of our properties. Previous visitors to our site will note that both the Penthouse and Lake Road Lodge have been refurbished and that Waiteti Lakefront Resort Motel has been newly decorated.

I hope that guests will visit us at any one of our properties and enjoy their stay with us. All feedback, good and bad, is welcome at Jack & Di’s and we hope that our future reviews on the Trip Advisor website reflect the many changes and improvements we have made in response to guests comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2006

The place wins the prize for best contrast between its website and what the place looks like in reality. The web site really is nice, but that's about it.
The scoop:
1. No onsite personnel. You pick up a phone at the front door, someone answers and provides you a combination and room number, and in you go. Your keys are hanging in the room doors. There's nothing to keep your fellow guests from taking your key to a hardware store, making copies, waiting until you leave, then entering your room and stealing from you.
2. I spent 28 years in the Navy, and I've seen staterooms on warships that are bigger that the double rooms at this dump. Two people literally cannot walk past each other.
3. Some rooms have windows that open to within two feet of ground level. If you have the window open, there is nothing to keep passers-by from opening the window to its fullest and climbing into your room.
4. Breakfast is self-serve. The fridge/freezer had the oddest combination of foods: about 70 eggs, some juices and sodas. Butter, marmite, and jam were in restaurant-size single serve packets in the freezer, as were several half-consumed loaves of bread. There were pots and pans, and an electric range, but no utensils. There was a cabinet with three kinds of cereals, old but not yet moldy. There was a cookie jar with six moldy cookies in it. There was a coffee pot, but only instant coffee.

All in all, stay away.

10  Thank Grundoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
116
Reviewed 24 January 2006

I have just returned from a 2 week tour around New Zealand which I planned and booked on the internet. I planned alot of my stay around advice I found on this site - I have to say everything went fantastically apart from one place that stuck out like a sore thumb - Jack and Di's Troutbeck Cottage, Rotorua. I was a little suspicious when i booked - there seemed to be plenty of pictures of fruit on their website but none of the outside of the accommodation - why this was became painfully obvious on arrival. Was it the gypsy camp in front of the "cottage", the fact that the accommodation next to the "cottage" looked like left overs from a 1950's holiday camp or the fact the "cottage" was as far removed from what i would deem boutique accommodation as the option of staying in a shed would be. A note was stuck to the reinforced glass of the window of Troutbeck instructing us to call a number from the washroom for someone to come and meet us. We found the washroom by passing some horrific looking chalets and called the number. The lady at the other end said she would be right along. Five minutes later she turned up with keys in hand. We asked her why the accommodation was so far removed from its description it was laughable - she replied - "We operate a non refundable policy - your stay has to be paid in full". I said - "that's not what i asked". "This is unacceptable, it's a dive. Do you have any availability at your lodge"? She replied - "We operate a non refundable policy your stay has to be paid in full". After this line being her 6th reply to varying questions we gave up. We paid and left and managed to get rooms in a hotel in the town centre.

Being from London and spending a lot of money traveling around the world and having huge experience of boutique hotels i have never been so disgusted with not just the standard of accommodation on offer but also the service. Admittedly I did wonder about why the cost was so cheap - Jack and Di's website however offered nothing to back up my suspicions. Realistically, if you are a traveler that has money to spend on accommodation while traveling in New Zealand - avoid this place like the plague. If you are however someone that needs somewhere to stay in the Rotorua region, is tight on budget and would consider sleeping in a field as an option - this could be the luxury you are looking for.

Jack and Di - Buck your ideas up - this is not by any stretch of the imagination boutique accommodation. Get rid of the fruit on your website and show users what you are offering - and i don't mean the view - i mean the yellowy walled bedrooms and 1975 bathroom (shower only) option to be shared between four. The run down holiday camp from hell next door and maybe the info that it's in the middle of no where! Lastly, I must point out the insanity that caused you to mis-understand the meaning of "boutique" extends in full to the description of "cottage".

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Kent, United Kingdon
12
Reviewed 10 April 2005

We had been looking forward to our stay at Jack&Di's because of all the good things I had read on Tripadvisor. True, it was on the lakefront. There was a wonderful view over the lake itself and black swans and ducks which all made it very picturesque. The accommodation and furnishings were basic and funtional which was fine BUT the walls were paper thin. I could hear the people in the next bedroom talking and then snoring throughout the night and I could hear whenever one of my own family used the toilet as our bedroom was right next door. There wasn't sufficient storage space for clothing, only a wardrobe in our bedroom and we had to share the chest of drawers which was in the children's room together with a wardrobe.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2005

My wife and I stayed at Jack and Di's place by the lake for two nights on our recent trip to New Zealand, we were swayed by the previous reviews on this website and were very much looking forward to it.

We were extremely disappointed by our stay here. When we arrived there was no-one around - a theme that continued for the rest of our stay - and had to use a phone on the outside of the place to contact some dis-embodied person who gave us the key code to the door so we could get into the place, and told us what time we had to check out by.

Then we found that the twin room we had been booked into was tiny. It contained two single beds and enough room to walk between them, there was no room to place/open our suitcase, or belongings.

The place itself is nice enough: clean and tidy, and the position is reasonable a five min walk to the lake and a ten/fifteen min walk into town.

The other couples we met when we were there expressed the same sentiment: the place is sold/advertised as being extremely friendly yet we never met anyone from the establishment.

I'd avoid in future.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MarkODonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2005

I spent 4-5 days in Rotorua, and stayed at both of Jack and Di's places (one being on the main drag into town and the other being a B&B that's more centrally located, called the Lake Road Lodge). Di was terrifically helpful and gracious, giving me advice and help even before I got there. The rooms were gorgeous AND comfortable, and the B&B overlooks a beautiful little church and Lake Rotorua. It felt like home, or the next best thing. Loved every moment of it.

  • Stayed: March 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heads26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2005

Jack and Di's Waiteti B&B gave us a fantastic first impression of New Zealand. We chose it in part for its location on lovely Lake Rotorua (about 3 hours south of Auckland), a short drive from mudpools, geysers, mineral baths, and other sightseeing spots we wanted to visit. Our other deciding factors were Jack and Di's great website and the incredible hospitality we received from proprietress Diana during our email exchanges, before we'd even committed to booking our stay. Our two nights there exceeded even our high expectations. We made full use of the jacuzzi/spa tub and kayaks, slept better on the amazingly comfortable king-sized bed than we have in years, enjoyed the huge shower, and stuffed ourselves on delicious breakfasts and the array of snacks Diana provided. Both Diana and partner Jack went well beyond the role of excellent hosts. They and their wonderful staffperson made dinner reservations, provided sightseeing brochures, and chatted with us like old friends. We'd go back to NZ just to stay at this B&B again!

6  Thank BnBfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.6 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#56 of 92 in Rotorua
15 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
0.6 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.7 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation

Address: 21 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Jack & Di's Lake View Accommodation)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £51 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unforgettable Rotorua Lake View Accommodation. Welcome to Diana's Place, where we are delighted to offer you two unique holiday accommodation options situated in stunning Lake Rotorua locations on the North Island of New Zealand. Whether you are planning a romantic getaway, a trip with family and friends, or a corporate retreat, we can offer the accommodation you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack & Di`s Lake View Hotel Rotorua
Jack And Di`s Lake View Accommodation
Jack Dis Lake View Accommodation

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing