We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Devonwood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Devonwood Manor
Ranked #75 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

It was a great stay in the motel. Clean, tidy, friendly staff, good location. We stay in the couple of days, find the big spacious room, clean, refurbished. Good for family trip. Nice swimming pool.

The location be very central in Rotorua and it was easy to park in the street outside.The room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast available was equal to any 5 star hotel that I have experienced anywhere in the world. The staff were very pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    23
    15
    14
    8
See reviews for
33
20
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed in here one night. We booked a One Bedroom Luxury Spa Unit. It's offstreet, nice and quiet. The location is convenient to city focus. Very friendly reception staff and gave us quite a lot helpful tips. Good value of stay .
we will recommend to friends .

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank 白日衣冠
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Sure, it's not glitzy, but for the price it's what we wanted, a bed for a night with ensuite and kitchenette, and it was clean. The decor, mostly just the bed spread, was quite dated (70's?), can't comment on location as we didn't go into Rotorua, but it was perfect walking distance to the Whakarewarewa Thermal Pools.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimShibbyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

A mate and I came up for Labour weekend - having read a few reviews on here we were expecting a few problems.
However we were pleasantly surprised. Sure, it's not Raffles but we weren't paying Raffles prices. The room was spotless, no issues with the bathroom, clean sheets, comfortable beds and a great pool. There were no issues with being next to the main road - certainly no excessive noise and we stayed a Saturday and Sunday night.
Man, there's a lot of negativity about this place on here. If you want Kingsgate service and quality, pay Kingsgate prices. If you want a clean, functional and economical place to stay, you can't go far wrong with the Devonwood Manor.
We'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhroadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Having stayed at quite a few motels in Rotorua before, this was the best we could find when booking for a long weekend 6 weeks before. The reviews we read were mixed, but we should have taken note of the latest, as this motel is one I will NOT be going back to!
The receptionist was pleasant enough and explained where our room was in the complex and where to park, but then proceeded to charge me for the 2 nights we were staying. Should have refused, but didn't - my bad! Then the bad experiences really started and are listed for convenience, although after reading the first one, you may not need to continune....

- Went into the room to find faeces left in the toilet, which required a large pot of water to get rid of. When I mentioned it to the lady at reception, she 'kind' of apologised....
- Not enough toilet paper (1 1/2 rolls of really cheap paper for 5 people) with no spare to be found anywhere. Really annoying dispensers too!
- Brand new bbq in the pool area was pointed out to me, so I thought great, will cook the bacon and eggs the next morning. Wrong! No gas in the bottle.....and no spare bottle when I asked!
- Made use of the laundry and the dryer, which although was very big, was near useless for getting things dry. $2 wasted...
- Came back to room on the afternoon of the second day to find dishes had been washed, but left all over the bench, not put away in cupboards, the single bed downstairs was made, but none of the upstairs ones had, and they hadn't done any vacuuming!! Complained and receptionist (different one from previous day) came and did the cleaners job for them!!
- 1 Oil heater didn't work.
- No dishwashing liquid in the bottle.
- No information packs in the room.
- No smoke detectors or emergency procedures found.
- I took my 3 year old to the childrens adventure playground, which consisted of 2 very rusty sets of monkey bars and a very aging and decrepid swing set, which looked like it could collapse at any stage. I'm sure the OSH man would love this one!!

We had relatives staying there to in a spa unit, which they too, were not impressed with:-
- Electric blanket didn't work
- No reading lights for bed in the lounge, so had to have all lights on.
- 90% of the spa pools controls didn't work.

And now, the positives.....the pool was nice and clean and very warm....

Was all of this cheap? No! They put a premium on for Queens Birthday weekend, which meant it was REALLY bad value for money....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Machobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2011

were totally disappointed with this motel and management , complained about excessive noise after 5 hours of cars backed into pool area with stereos blasting, complained to management about noise level and were not interested and talked to each other in chinese we asked for our money back to stay else where, only got half back! Totally rude hosts and would not reccomend to anyone

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia F, Manager at Devonwood Manor, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
We apologize any inconvenience to any of our guests. It is never our intention to put anyone out but we have to considered all of our guests at all times.
We do provide pool and BBQ grills for our guests and ask that all noise end by 9pm as to be respectful to the other guests. You had come to us around 7pm to stop people's dinner in such a weekend night. We notified you all noise would be stopped no later than 9pm. We are sorry you felt disturbed but we do have rules in place to accommodate all guests not just a few.
Some of our employees do come from other countries and prefer to communicate in their native tone. only to be clear with one another. However, they do speak English and when communicating with our English speaking guests.
A half refund was offered in consideration for the inconvenience , which was not required. Accutually, no rules had been broken if you can't get the other half paid by certain association.
Anyhow, we would like the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Going to Rotorua 3 time's a year for our family getaway and this was the most dissapointed motel we ever stayed. Staying at the 2 bedrooms unit which can accomodate 8 people that as advertised was a nightmare, the living room and kitchen was claustrophobia. During our 2 nights stayed there's a group of guest consuming acohol in and around the swimming pool with loud music and noise which is really unacceptable in my opinion. The children playground needs maintainance as some equipment are rusty.

The good thing about this motel is the friendly receptionist.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Studio Motel
Studio Motel
#62 of 93 in Rotorua
10 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Castle Motor Lodge
New Castle Motor Lodge
#45 of 93 in Rotorua
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geneva Motor Lodge
Geneva Motor Lodge
#27 of 93 in Rotorua
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonwood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonwood Manor

Property: Devonwood Manor
Address: 312 Fenton Street | PO Box 6052, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Devonwood Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Devonwood Manor. We have 35 units in different type to satisfy our different guests' requirements. Our units have been refurbished in 2009. Great accessibility. Affordable price, friendly staff and multi-functional services make you feel home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devonwood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonwood Manor Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing