We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic motel,nicely heated swimming pool”
Review of Devonwood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Devonwood Manor
Ranked #79 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We got a good deal with one of the voucher specials going around.Breakfast was included. The room was spacious and tidy. Bathroom needed a better clean. The swimming pool was nicely heated. The heater could have been better as a small oil heater is not enough to heat the room.

Room Tip: If you are just using this Motel as a base and not staying in the room for a long time it is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

It is the second time we stayed in this motel. The stanard of services and place are kept on good. The small kitchen is fully equipped. It offers a different experience for us ~ cooking away home (sweet home feeling)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I overnighted here whilst travelling for work.

It's okay quality for the price I paid (80$ NZD, approximately £40 GBP).

It is definitely a motel, not a hotel. Like I said, for the cost, there wasn't much wrong with place.
Staff were friendly, room was basic but clean. Towels were looking a bit worn.

Continental breakfast is included in the room rate, arrives the night before on a tray. Weet bix, fresh milk (I thought this was a peasant surprise), bread (toaster to be found in room) ... and tinned fruit salad :(.

The way i perceived security to be was my main issue - the windows had a very basic lock, and the room door wouldn't have withstood much more than a firm shove or kick. The entrances to the halls were dimly lit, and the exterior doors were kept pinned open. Reception closed at 2100, and in any case an intruder would have to go out of his way to be seen by staff.

There is an in room safe, but there were no batteries in it, and none were available at reception.

The car park was, again, dimly lit and I wasn't overly confident about leaving my hire car there.
I ended up carting my valuables off to dinner with me.

There is a swimming pool, no bar, gym or concierge. A children's area is provided for those bringing them. I'd definitely take my family elsewhere if it was a holiday.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the 1st floor to avoid the risk of a window intrusion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_Brit_By_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia F, Front Reception at Devonwood Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Distinctly meh,

Thank you for your comments on tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear you felt this way regarding our security.

We have had our handy man in to check all window locks, and doors. Our hall entrance is always well lit, we are not sure as to why it would have been dim lit. We have checked all light bulbs to make sure this is not the issue. The exterior doors are all closed after 9pm, then opened again in the morning at 7.30am. Guest can close these doors at any time if they wish. If guest feel there valuables are not safe in there rooms, they can leave them at reception to be held in the main safe. We are a self service Motel, we do not have concierge available. We do not advertise we have a Bar or Gym available on any of our web sites.

Again we are sorry about your stay with us, thank you for your comments.

Maureen
Devonwood Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Overall we were very happy with our stay. We stayed a total of 3 nights in a spa unit. It was nice and close to the city and most attractions. The staff were very friendly and went above and beyond to ensure we had a lovely time. Only small disappointments such as our main lounge tv was not picking up signal. We didn't bother to have this checked out as we only came back to the room in the evening really. Our tv in the bedroom was also a bit static when playing the kids channel - again not a big deal. Only other annoyance was the bbq would not work for us. Not sure why but ended up just pan frying our meat instead. Spa was lovely and the pool was perfect temperature. Had a great time and would stay again :)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n0mski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia F, Manager at Devonwood Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Hi My Dear Friend,

Thank you for your review. We glad that you enjoyed your stay. Also, thank you for your comments so that now we know which parts we need look into. We checked BBQ, it works. We assumed that the gas bottle wasn't turned on when you were using. The limited channels TV is a shame. However, our new TVs order has been placed already. Hopefully, you will be satisfied by our new TV on your next visit:) Thank you for your time. We see you in future!! Take care, my friend:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed in a spa unit on a holiday for 5 nights in Devonwood Resort. Good location and close to everything. Staff here is extremely friendly and helpful. They are very knowledged for all local information. The room is cosy and quiet. It is a perfect stay for my holiday in North Island. Definitely, I will be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alanlunz2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia F, Manager at Devonwood Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Hi Sir,

We glad that you enjoyed holiday here. Hopefully, you satisfied with all local activities that we suggested. We see you in future:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

really comfortable motel which makes you feel like return bk to home. Awson spa pool inside of my room, and my family really like this place. We will definitely live in this motel next time. This is the first time I wrote a review for motel because it grants us fantasitic memories

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelzzzzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia F, Manager at Devonwood Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Hi Angela,

It is our pleasure to have you:) We glad that you enjoyed your stay here and all the places that we recommended to you. Now, you will have one more place to consider for a short holiday:P Thank you very much:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Excellent location very close to town and also great and helpful staff member, we absolutely had a lovely stay over there. Nice pool, very suitable for kids playing. we will definitely will go back next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda_Zhou1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia F, Manager at Devonwood Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Hi My Friend,thank you for such high praises. We will make sure everything maintain the same standard for your every visit in furture:) Hopefully, we will see you again in not far future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.6 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.0 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#55 of 92 in Rotorua
15 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#64 of 92 in Rotorua
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ace Motor Lodge
Ace Motor Lodge
#76 of 92 in Rotorua
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fenton Court Motel
Fenton Court Motel
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baden Lodge Motel
Baden Lodge Motel
#69 of 92 in Rotorua
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonwood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonwood Manor

Address: 312 Fenton Street | PO Box 6052, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £46 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Devonwood Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Devonwood Manor. We have 35 units in different type to satisfy our different guests' requirements. Our units have been refurbished in 2009. Great accessibility. Affordable price, friendly staff and multi-functional services make you feel home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Devonwood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonwood Manor Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing