We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place and expereience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Special place and expereience”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stumbled onto this resort on Expeida and while the rate was moderate the pictures were amazing. We were delighted with the experience.

The villas are modern, beautifully appointed and away from the hustle and bustle of town. Our host, David, was at our beck and call, polished and professional and set up tours and a plane ride where we were picked up right at the property.

The views were stunning and the team helpful. We felt like celebrities and would love to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Felt like celebrities! Thats just fantastic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    14
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
29
76
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ardee, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I've been meaning to write a review for Peppers on the Point for sometime now. I stayed here in November 2010 for three night while on honeymoon to New Zealand. We had such a lovely stay and it was one of the highlights of our honeymoon overall. We were welcomed by David on arrival. I knew instantly that we weren't the couple he had been expecting but he didn't flinch - he didn't make us feel unwelcome instead gave us a tour. It had turned out that my booking had processed fully before we left for our honeymoon and in during our travels the booking was cancelled. However he sorted it out in two seconds and we weren't made to feel unwanted. The setting is simply stunning. We had what can only be decribed as one of the most romantic, intimate dining experiences here where we were served the most delicious food overlooking the sun set. This is a gem of a hotel - stay here if your looking for something special.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aine_f2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJSGM, General Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thanks for your review, you bought a smile to my face!. I am thrilled that we were one of the highlights of your honeymoon. We look forward to you returning downunder one day. In the meantime you are able to follow us on Facebook. Best regards David
David Smail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Just spent a girls weekend away at Peppers on the Point Rotorua. This beautiful, well maintained lodge in an absolutely stunning location. Unwinding here was not a problem - so tranquil with stunning views over the lake and native birds singing in the surrounding trees its hard to believe that the main road was only minutes away. The service we received was outstanding. The staff were extremely attentive and friendly without being obtrusive. Our room was huge and fabulous - more stunning lake views, large bathroom with spa bath, shower and heated floor and a separate sitting area with tv and DVD - the upstairs library contains a wide variety of books and DVD's.
The beautiful little stone chapel with panoramic window framing views of the lake would be an ideal place to get married or renew your vows. We had a fabulous, relaxing weekend and I can't wait to return with my husband.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJSGM, General Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
Thanks for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to your next visit.
David
David Smail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levin
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Absolutely fantastic service and accomodation and the food was to die for. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience. It was the best tonic ever!

One thing that would enhance this experience would be more tea bags and more milk supplied daily.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJSGM, Front Office Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you for your comments- we are glad you enjoyed your stay and especially your meals. We have noted more tea and milk to be supplied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at Pepper's Point for a bit of relaxation and luxury... and we were not disappointed. Stunning location, lovely room, fabulous service and absolutely wonderful food... all the ingredients of a fabulous couples weekend! I highly recommend Peppers and will certainly be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaW007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJSGM, Front Office Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
Thank you for your review-we are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We visit Rotorua often from our home in Auckland. Recently we thought we'd try Peppers. We have stayed in "exclusive" places in Europe, the US, Asia and South America. As a kiwi I am embarrassed about this so-called "resort". It is appallingly over-priced. The decor is extremely tacky. The place is tired and gives you the sense that it's about to become an AA clinic. Tomorrow perhaps? There were lipstick stains on the coffee cups. The hot water was limited. And there was no service other than "there's the heater". I have no idea why you would stay here. Honestly if you are visiting Rotorua stay at a 4/5 star hotel in the city. The Holiday Inn is better (i know because i stayed there last month). If you are after genuine luxury and class try Huka Lodge down the road towards Taupo or some of the Queenstown accommodation which is properly in the lodge league. Do not make this mistake.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MCSAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJSGM, General Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for your second review on the Lake Villa Apartment. As stated in your first review I was dissappointed you experienced issues when you stayed. I had hoped you would have contacted me to discuss the issues further.
The Lake Villa Apartment is separate from the Main Lodge and sits under the Lake Villa beside the tennis court. The apartment is contemporary in style in comparrison to the lodge which is classic.
We have taken onboard the issues you raised and have put actions in place. In regards to the decor of the apartment we appreciate we are unable to cater to everyones taste but I have given your comments to the owner.
Thank you again for your comments and would also welcome you to contact me directly.
David Smail
General Manager
david@onthepoint.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Dont make the mistake of staying here. Much better accommodation is available elsewhere in Rotorua for 1/10 of the price. Manhattan or London provide better value! The decor was appalling. We love historic places which is why we choose this location, but rather than faded grandeur this was more like a creepy former retirement home. I agree with previous reviewer that the exterior architecture was a real hotch potch. But inside was worse.... think early 80's with lots of unheated tiling floor and shabby kitchen. Only instant coffee provided. Modest kiwiana motel style places provide more luxury and atmosphere than this. Frankly I bamboozled by any positive reviews for this place.

Room Tip: Avoid the apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MACSUMPTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJSGM, General Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
It disappoints me to learn that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. To assist me further in investigating these matters, I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and I can then address these issues accordingly. I look forward to hearing from you.
david@onthepoint.co.nz

Regards
David Smail
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
9.0 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#44 of 92 in Rotorua
181 reviews
9.4 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#24 of 92 in Rotorua
137 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
3.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
3.3 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua

Property: Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Address: 214 Kawaha Point Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star Exclusive luxury lodge surrounded by the sparkling waters of Lake Rotorua. Peppers on the Point offers guests the opportunity to experience the rich culture and geothermal wonders of Rotorua or simply relax and enjoy the tranquility of the stunning location. Once a Maori Pa site, the property is steeped in local history - of ancient battles, love and life - and looks out towards the historic Mokoia Island. The Lodge itself is a converted 1930's mansion filled with beautiful antiques and only 10 minutes from the heart of Rotorua. Linking into Rotorua's spa heritage we have our own therapeutic health and wellness treatment room and a small guest gym. Other facilities include a tennis court, private beach, native bush walks and jetty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers On The Point - Lake Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing