We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort in Rorotua”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Ranked #27 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent resort in Rorotua”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I stayed at Peppers on the Point for my honeymoon and it was definitely a good decision. The rooms are large, luxurious and comfortable, and have a great view of the lake. Andrew and the rest of the staff are always available to help you out, whether it is talking about the history of New Zealand and its native birds or booking you any of the numerous activities in Rotorua. They also include plenty of little extras like free cookies in your mini fridge every day, as well as fresh fruit in the room. The food was also excellent, and I would highly recommend eating dinner at least one of the nights in house.

In addition, the location couldn't possibly be better. You are directly on the lake, but also are about a 5 minute drive into town, and even less to many of the other attractions which are actually closer to you on the point than if you were in the center of Rotorua. Overall, I couldn't have hoped to stay anywhere better in Rotorua.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214KPR, General Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
We are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, as we certainly enjoyed having you! We're happy you chose us as your honeymoon destination and look forward to seeing you back here on the lake sometime soon. Kind regards, Andrew and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    14
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
29
76
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We loved staying here , this location is stunning. The donkeys and sheep and alpaca are great fun for the kids. The beach and waters edge to explore are fun too. We were the only people there for the 2 nights we stayed on the whole property. We stayed in the 2 bed apartment next to tennis court which was great. This place would be great wedding venue with own chapel onside

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wombat2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214KPR, General Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us in the Lake Villa Apartment. All the best for your future travels. Regards Andrew and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had a lovely night at Peppers - we stayed in the cottage which has an amazing view and a private hot tub. The room was spacious, with its own little kitchen, and a huge panoramic view of the lake. We wish we could have stayed longer!

The staff and service were wonderful, the breakfast was amazing. My only comment would have been on the dinner menu - the choices are limited (which makes sense for the small, intimate crowd that they have), and for someone who has a fish allergy (me), I really only had one option. But the food was well prepared. The breakfast really was amazing!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214KPR, General Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us in the Lake Cottage Suite and we hope to see you again one day. Take care, regards Andrew and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Fantastic view, beautiful furniture and excellent service. One of the best Peppers we have been to. Kids loved the farm animals and can't wait to come again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214KPR, General Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
We are delighted to hear you and your family had such a lovely stay with us at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua. We hope you can join us again sometime. Regards Andrew and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights in the large suite overlooking the lake and Mokoia Island. The big terrace off the room was lovely and the living area generous and well appointed. The king size bed was comfortable. My only gripe - and it's the same in most places, was having to move all the decorative pillows from the bed. There was a little office with glass doors and a large, well-equipped desk which my husband appreciated as he had some work to do, and the walk in closet was ample with plenty of hangers (not always the case in some places). The breakfasts were very good with a great selection of cereals, fruit and yoghurt, plus there were several cooked choices which were very well done by the charming lady on breakfast duty at the time. The dinners were fine, although as I can't eat fish the only other choice one evening was venison which I don't care for having grown up eating it every week. However, the first courses and the cheese platter were excellent. The dining room staff were a bit aloof but competent. We went into Rotorua for lunch which was not a good idea - we later were told we could have had a sandwich plate made up for us which would have been much better. I know Rotorua from having lived there at one time so we were not doing the tourist thing but Peppers is well placed for those who wish to do so.We thoroughly enjoyed Peppers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inclinekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write of your experience while staying with us here at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, we appreciate your feed back. I'm delighted to hear you found the food excellent and that the room was spacious, comfortable and well equipped for your needs. Regards Andrew and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This was our first stop in a 2 wk adventure. Stayed in the log chalet with our own private lakeview balcony complete with hot tub. Best lamb chops we had in the country. Grounds are beautifully manicured and peaceful. Staff and service are superb yet unobtrusive. Tour guides picked us up at the property. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Fantastic! Although we don't like to call our Lamb - Lamb Chops :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We have been travelling round Dubai, Australia and New Zealand for the last four months, and in that time we have stayed in some really beautiful places, but in our opinion this was the best of all.

We booked into the Cottage suite which is simply stunning. There is plenty of accommodation space as you would expect, and it is all tastefully decorated. There is a large sliding glass door to the outside balcony, and a simply breathtaking view of the lake. Oh and there is a hot tub on the balcony.

The whole setting is wonderful, there is a little Chapel, which if I wasn't already married I would definitely want to get married there.

I really loved the place as you can tell by my review, it is reasonably close to Rotorua centre, but still a few kilometres.

My only reservation is the evening meal, which is nice, but not a lot of choice, and they don't seem to push it enough, hence not a lot of atmosphere in the dining room in the evening, and with Christmas Carols being played in February they need to sack the DJ.

Room Tip: If you want to make a special night of it, then definitely book the Cottage Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bingopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Fantastic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
9.4 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#22 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
9.0 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#44 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua

Property: Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Address: 214 Kawaha Point Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star Exclusive luxury lodge surrounded by the sparkling waters of Lake Rotorua. Peppers on the Point offers guests the opportunity to experience the rich culture and geothermal wonders of Rotorua or simply relax and enjoy the tranquility of the stunning location. Once a Maori Pa site, the property is steeped in local history - of ancient battles, love and life - and looks out towards the historic Mokoia Island. The Lodge itself is a converted 1930's mansion filled with beautiful antiques and only 10 minutes from the heart of Rotorua. Linking into Rotorua's spa heritage we have our own therapeutic health and wellness treatment room and a small guest gym. Other facilities include a tennis court, private beach, native bush walks and jetty. Maintenance advice: Peppers On The Point’s Lake Villa will be closed for external painting 18 April 17 – 31 May 17. There will be no unnecessary disturbances to guests during the work. The property apologise for any inconvenience caused. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers On The Point - Lake Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing