We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Ranked #18 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

A group of us went for dinner at Peppers and the food was fantastic. Nice and warm on a Winters night with one of the best views over the lake in Rotorua. The Chef just won a Rotorua hospitality award and I can see why! Thanks to the Martins for a great night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank AndyFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214KPR, General Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

You are more than welcome. We are happy you had a memorable night!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

We have stayed at Peppers Hotels within Australia and New Zealand over many years - these are FIVE star hotels designed for couple NOT families with young babies. Very disappointing that we sit down to dinner with a screaming toddler. We just wanted a quiet romantic dinner and we have to deal with a young toddler running around? Staff were dealing with a large dinner party - felt like we were an inconvenience. Not a good experience. Nice grounds but room was not up to expected Peppers Standard. This is the first bad experience with a Peppers hotel. We would not stay here again. Peppers Carringtons in the Northland was exceptional.

Room Tip: Rooms are close together - you can hear next door. do not choose one in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jinnine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214KPR, General Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

What a shame! It's pretty hard to find a property here in NZ that doesn't take children. I think this couple simply did not like children! Our lodge welcomes children so it's best to check with an accommodation provider before the reservation is made. We also do our best to have our families dine earlier or even offer room service and did so on this occasion but our guests declined and wanted to dine in the dining room. Also here in NZ it is not acceptable to ask that a child is removed from a restaurant so we have to rely on the parents to manage this.
Another comment about the rooms, they are just lovely and definitely up to Peppers standards. These guests even made the comment to me how lovely the room was when I checked them in so it’s a real shame they have to try and bring our property down because we had a child in our restaurant.
Another note: This is a converted homestead so not fully noise proofed but if you, say a television on at a reasonable audible level you will not disturb anyone else in the next room so perhaps the couple next door where a little excited and were playing a game of some sorts :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Got a special package for one to stay at the ground floor of the villa right beside the tennis court. It is a large apartment suite with two bedrooms, separate living dining room with open kitchen. A huge bathroom with both jacuzzi bath and a separate rain shower type enclosure. There was also a washer/dryer combo in the bathroom.

Cannot fault the suite, except that their site described that the villa overlooks the lake past the tennis court. It sort of does, but not much of a view. You are pretty much looking at the tennis court. The lake is a smudge in the horizon. There are apartments on the next two floors which should offer unobstructed views. Of course, you can walk to the lakeside on the property, but just isn't the same then waking up to a nice view.

Other then the above, the rest was a very restful and nice couple days retreat. You can park your car right outside the villa. Didn't eat at the main dining room, so cannot comment on the food.

I would recommend, but should check carefully what view you
are getting.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foodom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214KPR, General Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

We only have one Lake Villa Apartment and there are no other apartments on the next two floors above like you have stated. Above the Lake Villa Apartment is our Lake Villa which is a four bedded three bathroom Villa and yes absolute stunning views.We do offer great deals on the apartment and try our best to describe whats on offer. If you are wanting the best views a lodge or Cottage suite is best, however there is a price difference.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

On the 3rd of May this year myself and my bridal party stayed in the very cosy log chalet cottage at Peppers on The Point. The following day we prepared for our wedding while enjoying the most picturesque panoramic views of Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island, our vendors came to us so were able to relax while waiting for our 3pm ceremony followed by our reception at 5.30pm.
The staff were welcoming, friendly and went out of their way to ensure our day was perfect from beginning to end. If we had to do it all again, we wouldn't change a thing.
Many thanks to all the staff (too many to thank individually) for such a successful couple of days!
Mr & Mrs Smith.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peacelovinglibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214KPR, General Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we just loved being part of your special day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at Peppers on the Point in Rotorua in September 2009. I must say this was by far the best hotel of our rather long itinerary which boasted of bigger chains and hotels.

The view is breathtaking, the staff was very helpful and welcoming even though we were late in reaching the hotel. They organized a wonderful private dinner for us and the breakfast was sumptuous and enjoyable. I would love to visit Peppers on the Point again and thank you for giving us wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank che_bakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214KPR, General Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank your for you wonderful comments and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay! All the very best for your lives together and maybe we shall see you again someday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

From the moment we stepped in to the time we left we never wanted to leave the place. The Suite was perfectly located with breathtaking views of the Rotorua Lake. Just stayed for a night wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neelanjshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214KPR, General Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thanks for your lovely comments and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I'm so glad I reviewed TripAdvisor before booking my short stay in Rotorua. With so many places to stay it is quite overwhelming when booking the perfect place. Long story short I had no idea it would be so stunning and serene. I wanted somewhere breathtaking and this was it. Every angle is a photographers dream, beautiful service, stunning accomodation, culture, beautiful food, nature, and even a reiki therapist on site.
We stayed in a cottage and it was just divine had breakfast included which has freshly made to order and amazing. The Massage therapist- Daniele- was incredible. The property even features a hillside chapel and Shetlands and donkeys on the hill. Will definitely be raving about our beautiful experience here. 10/10

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huntercain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
214KPR, Manager at Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
787 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
9 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#37 of 91 in Rotorua
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#21 of 91 in Rotorua
149 reviews
2.4 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.1 mi away
Prince's Gate Hotel
Prince's Gate Hotel
#23 of 91 in Rotorua
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua

Address: 214 Kawaha Point Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#17 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £358 - £902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Star Exclusive luxury lodge surrounded by the sparkling waters of Lake Rotorua. Peppers on the Point offers guests the opportunity to experience the rich culture and geothermal wonders of Rotorua or simply relax and enjoy the tranquility of the stunning location. Once a Maori Pa site, the property is steeped in local history - of ancient battles, love and life - and looks out towards the historic Mokoia Island. The Lodge itself is a converted 1930's mansion filled with beautiful antiques and only 10 minutes from the heart of Rotorua. Linking into Rotorua's spa heritage we have our own therapeutic health and wellness treatment room and a small guest gym. Other facilities include a tennis court, private beach, native bush walks and jetty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers On The Point - Lake Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing