We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!!”
Review of Six on Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Six on Union
Ranked #48 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This is a fantastic motel. I have stayed here on many occasions and now refuse to stay anywhere else in Rotorua. The rooms are extremely spacious and have all the mod cons. Very clean. The motel is off the main road so its very quiet and with the comfy beds to boot, your guaranteed a good nights rest. The owners and their sense of humor is from the North of England! They are very friendly and can help you get discounts on activities around Rotorua. I'd recommend this motel to anyone. Parking is around the back for all those who want to hide sports equipment.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Hi Vicky thank you so much for your glowing review. We really enjoy seeing you & your friends when you visit. Thanks again & see you in a few days for your next fitness torture.
Tony & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

The proprietors were helpful, the accomodations decent and the location good. However, you cannot the sulfur smell anywhere in town except at the redwood park.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PollyColorado_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Six on Union. We're pleased you were happy with us & our location.
Many thanks
Tony & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I just had a wonderful experience with "Six On Union" in Rotorua - in fact it was far more than I expected. The room was clean, brightly fuenished, and complete with ALL the amenities. But even better than that, the operators were outstanding. Both professional and friendly, they went to every length to be sure my stay was comfortable, including an informative guide about town, where to shop, eat, sightsee etc. And as a bonus, Tony (who has impeccable taste in music) and his wife Lisa helped me problem-solve my laptop computer. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Great views facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daved G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it. Also thank you for the music. Hope to see you again.

Tony & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The couple who owned it were extremely helpful and helped us navigate and get discounted bookings. Location is a bit of a walk to CBD maybe 5-10 minutes but great value. Rooms were clean and well furnished.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mitchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Six on Union motel. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We visited relatives for two weeks in Rotorua and this turned out to be a good place to stay. Quiet street, clean up to date though not fancy studios with just enough kitchenette equipment to make fine meals in a nice shiny kitchen. Good layout! Shopping very near by. Tony and Lisa were good and knowledgable hosts, and made us comfortable. They steered us to the best hangi and Maori cultural evening. Simple good central location. Our room at the far corner of the building didn't get great wi fi reception, but we got it from the "Backpackers hostel" next door. We stayed at other places with the same number of "stars" and didn't like them as well. We'd definitely return again!

The photos on their web site seem accurate,

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dontripOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Hi Don

Thank you so much for taking the time to reveiw Six on Union. We hope to see you the next time you visit your family.
Many thanks
Tony & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Stayed at Six on Union for a week in Sept 11, and the motel had all I needed. Was central (walking distance) to everything in Rotorua, had all I needed in the room to make my stay comfortable and enjoyable. The hosts were welcoming and friendly and helped me book tours, etc at more competitive prices to those advertised. Would be my first choice of accommodation next time I am in Rotorua.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 7 have a nice balcony to sit and enjoy the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank StuartF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2011

Hi Stuart, Thank you for your comments it was a pleasure helping you with your itinerary. Hope to see you on your next visit.

Tony & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

we only had a short stay in new zealand as we were attending my girlfriends friends wedding but were recommended to visit Rotorua & to stay at this motel, neither was a let down. Tony & Lisa are great hosts & helped us with arranging tours. The motel is clean & good value for money. The room had everything we needed & the supermarket is just across the road. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2011

Hi David & Kayla, Thank you for your encouraging words it was lovely meeting you both. We hope to see you again.

Tony & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#57 of 91 in Rotorua
21 reviews
0.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
#15 of 91 in Rotorua
445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#30 of 91 in Rotorua
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#27 of 91 in Rotorua
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#33 of 91 in Rotorua
144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six on Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six on Union

Address: 6 Union Street | Glenholme, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £57 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six on Union 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Six on Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six On Union Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing