We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome stay!”
Review of Six on Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Six on Union
Ranked #51 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome stay!”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

The room was perfect for our needs and the kids loved the pool. As hosts, Tony and Lisa were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and they definitely went the extra mile! Great location - close to town and the venue where our touch tournament was held. The rooms were serviced each day which was great!
Thanks again for making our stay in Rotorua so lovely! Helen, Sandi, Adam and Cory.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Hi Guys,
Thanks for taking the time to reveiw our motel, it really helps other guests when choosing where to stay. We're glad the boys enjoyed the pool. Being close to town but off the main road is a bonus. We hope to see you next time you visit Rotorua.
Tony & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    39
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
50
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Generously sized and very clean room.

Plenty of hot water in the showers.

All that you need - hob, kettle, microwave etc. + digital tv.

Convenient for the town centre. And well situated on a quiet road.

A good value-for-money place to stay, especially if you like a dour (South) Yorkshire sense of humour!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review our motel. As someone who has previously been in this industry it's great to note you mention the size & cleanliness of the room. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with and hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand was enjoyable. Give our regards to Yorkshire.

Many thanks
Tony & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Thanks so much to Tony and Lisa for making our stay very comfortable indeed. The room was wonderful, clean and comfortable. The chats with Lisa were very much appreciated. Would not hestitate to recommend Six on Union to anyone.
Thanks guys,

Angela and Dylan and Sam

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Hi Guys

Thank you so much for your review,Tony & I really appreciate it. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us & the chats.
many thanks & All the best for 2013
Tony & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mornington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Located in a quiet tree lined street a few minutes walk to the main shopping precinct, cafes and restaurants of Rotorua. We booked in for 2 nights, slept soundly, relaxed and just enjoyed staying in this well appointed motel room with cooking facilities, thermal heating and lovely comfortable bed. Lisa the owner gave us some great tips about sightseeing from a local's perspective and we took her advice finding some little gems that we thoroughly enjoyed. Nice to come back to the motel to find our bed made after a day of sightseeing. Thanks Lisa for a lovely stay. Highly recommended to other travellers looking for good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ila h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to reveiw our motel. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and our recommendations. There's so much to see & do in Rotorua but it is nice to do some free things too.
Hope to see you again.
Lisa & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2012

tony and lisa have a very good motel at the right price right in the center of rotorua not far from the shops an pubs there is plenty to do in rotorua most of the attreactions can be book at the motel .we now always stay at six on union if we have to come to rotorua for business or pleasure .please check this motel out if are in rotorua

steve and cheryl

Room Tip: all the rooms are very good....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevievee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for your reveiw we really do appreciate it. As you have already booked your next stay we'll see you soon.

Tony & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Clean and warm hotel, close to the centre of Rotorua. The owners offered and booked a Maori cultural evening for us, which we enjoyed. The room was clean and serviced daily. There is a spa pool onsite.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
Hi Nicola,

Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw, we really appreciate it.
We're pleased you were happy with your stay at Six on Union. It was good to meet you & Francois. Hope to see you next time you visit Rotorua.

Lisa & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. So much so that we added a third night. We had plenty of room for the three of us, the rooms were clean and well appointed and WARM!! Sounds funny, but we were traveling in the winter and we were very cold in most of our accommodations. Traveling with our grown daughter, we usually had 2 rooms and often there was just one heater and/or one heated mattress pad. Here, each room had a heater and all beds had electric heated mattress pads. Our stay was extremely comfortable and the price was reasonable. The hosts were very friendly and attentive. We would definitely return!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retyrinsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Six on Union. We're pleased your stay was comfortable & enjoyable and best of all that you would stay with us again, the best recommendation we can have.

Many thanks
Tony & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Union Victoria Motel
Union Victoria Motel
#53 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rose Court Motel
Rose Court Motel
#59 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#38 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six on Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six on Union

Property: Six on Union
Address: 6 Union Street | Glenholme, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six on Union 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Six on Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six On Union Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing