We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate for a night's sleep”
Review of Six on Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Six on Union
Ranked #51 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Adequate for a night's sleep”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

It's on a nice quiet road, with a huge supermarket handy on the corner. Lovely to have a pool to cool off in, and also a spa pool. I slept on the bed settee, which was extremely comfortable. Not dirty, but It was let down by little things like dead flies appearing in the shower, and a used sticking plaster in the bed!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Hi Alison

We are astonished that you found a used sticking plaster in the bed and can only apologise for this and also wonder why it wasn't mentioned at the time. as this would have put us in a better position to find out how this had happened. We're not sure how this could have happened as all beds are stripped and sheets changed when guests check out. The dead flies are a fact of life when windows are open during the night. Thank you for acknowledging that the unit was clean.
We are pleased to see you enjoyed the location, the comfortable bed & pool.

Kind regards
Tony & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    39
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
50
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a ground floor unit and found it to be generally clean and tidy though rather dated. The bed was lovely and comfortable. The paintwork could do with a lick of paint especially in the bathroom area. The on the wall hairdryer didnt work, but there was another hair dryer in the cupboard in the bathroom, but no plug socket for it. So had to find a socket near a mirror, but then the cord was not quite long enough to reach. Tony was helpful in booking our evening at Mitai and was a lovely chatty Yorkshire man.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Hi Jill
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for pointing out the problem with the cord length on the hairdryer. We were not aware of this & will rectify. We're pleased to read that our location, sleep quality and help with bookings made your enjoyable.

We hope to see you again.
Tony & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The location is perfect and the owners go above and beyond to make the stay wonderful. We were given super advise about what to see and do and all were excellent. Lisa and Tony are the best. The rooms areclean, nicely decorated and the location central.

Room Tip: Ask if in doubt
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our motel. Taking the time to talk to our guests helps us help them make good choices on what to see and do in Rotorua, we're pleased this worked so well for you.
It was lovely to meet you & Gene and look forward to seeing you both again someday.

Tony & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

A well positioned motel. Owners pleasant and helpful. No meanness there with jug of milk. Room was a good size, clean and comfortable. Swimming pool small but adequate to cool off. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wodie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Hello wodie s, we appreciate you taking the time to review our motel. We're pleased you were happy with the facilities and cooling off during the very hot days we've had this summer. Best of all, you'd stay with us agian. That's the best recommendation we could have.
Many thanks
Tony & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Enjoyed everything at this little motel. Walking distance to the tourist information centre and town-centre with a supermarket across the road it's location is perfect. With helpful suggestions and friendliness from the hosts and the complementary milk it ticks all the right boxes. My room was a good size,clean and bright with a nice little balcony. Loved it. Perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeelakf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
We're really pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at Six on Union. Being in a residential street means we are away from the majority of the traffic noise but , as you mention, so close to town.
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.
We hope to see you again.

Tony & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

From the moment we arrived until we left, we felt at home - room was clean, comfortable and all necessary facilites were readily available.
With Tony and Lisa's excellent knowledge of the area - places to eat, things to do, we just didn't have enough time to do everything!
Next time we visit Rotorua, we would stay there again,and would happily recommend to anyone else.
Thanks, Stephen & Helen

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zootalaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thanks, Stephen & Helen for your recommendation of our motel. It's great to know you felt so at home during your stay, one of the benefits of being owner operated. We're pleased you were happy with our recommendations of things to do & see and will be very happy to welcome you back the next time you visit Rotorua.
Many thanks
Tony & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2013

The room was perfect for our needs and the kids loved the pool. As hosts, Tony and Lisa were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and they definitely went the extra mile! Great location - close to town and the venue where our touch tournament was held. The rooms were serviced each day which was great!
Thanks again for making our stay in Rotorua so lovely! Helen, Sandi, Adam and Cory.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Hi Guys,
Thanks for taking the time to reveiw our motel, it really helps other guests when choosing where to stay. We're glad the boys enjoyed the pool. Being close to town but off the main road is a bonus. We hope to see you next time you visit Rotorua.
Tony & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.3 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Union Victoria Motel
Union Victoria Motel
#53 of 92 in Rotorua
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Geneva Motor Lodge
Geneva Motor Lodge
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
#83 of 92 in Rotorua
84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rose Court Motel
Rose Court Motel
#56 of 92 in Rotorua
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tuscany Villas Rotorua - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six on Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six on Union

Property: Six on Union
Address: 6 Union Street | Glenholme, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six on Union 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Six on Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six On Union Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing