We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and clean room!”
Review of Six on Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Six on Union
Ranked #51 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The location is good. Just few blocks from main street of Rotorua and the supermarket is across the street, quite convenient! The room got a kitchenette and the bed is big and comfortable. Great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestbilly2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay. It's great having the supermarket and town centre so close but being away from the busy main road.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Tony & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

As a new New Zealander this was my first visit to Rotorua, I found Six on Union in the Lonely Planet & it said the owners are from Yorkshire so being from Sheffield I thought I'd try there. Great rooms & very clean, being on a budget we used the kitchen a lot & there's everything you need to prepare your own meals and the supermarket is just across the road. Tony & Lisa made us welcome, gave us great advise on the local attractions and a list of FREE things to do and see, a real bonus. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: we stayed in Room 6 it has a balcony. Great to catch the last of the sun in the evening with a glas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Hello Gemma
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We're so pleased you were happy with your choice, the facilities and our recommendations. Has Steve got over being chief yet?
Good luck in your new life in NZ & we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Tony & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

over the last six years I travelled to rotorua for several long and short term stays.
the six on union cant be beaten on value for money, it is located in a little side street and you don't hear all the traffic from fenton street. everything in the city is basically in walking distance three major supermarkets , just a stone throw away and restaurants you can't even count them there is that many.
the rooms got a kitchenette which was great for me since I prefer my own cooking when I am away for a few weeks at the time.
the owners are always there for you and keep the property nice and clean.
the beds are big and comfortable the bathroom spotless clean and tv got good reception. what else can you ask for.
I tried some of the other hotels in rotorua but since I discovered six on union, I always return when I go over there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dirk d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Hello Dirk & thank you for your fantastic review. The fact you keep returning is the best recommendation we could have & it's always a pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you also for mentioning our quiet & convenient location.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Tony & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We found six on union from Lonely Planet. It is a nice hotel and very convenience for shopping.
We left our notebook in the room. The host of the hotel sent the PC to my country after I had left
New Zealand. I feel very very grateful!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziyuan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

Thankyou Ziyuan Q for taking the time to write a review. We know it's a busy time for you and are pleased that the vital PC has arrived safely. Wishing you good luck for the future.
Tony & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I recently took visitors from the USA on a quick trip to Rotorua and booked with Six on Union for our stay following recommendations from this site and Lonely Planet. Couldn't have been happier!

Our unit was immaculately clean & well appointed. I was especially pleased to find very good quality linens on the beds & plenty of good towels. We had everything we needed for a self catering trip and the bonus was the supermarket "within spitting distance". We didn't have time to use them but the pool and spa were certainly inviting (and well maintained).

The hosts Lisa & Tony impressed. They had actually visited the "tourist" attractions and their recommendations were honest & helpful. With their help we ended up having two days full of things to do / places to see and at reasonable cost. Their recommendations included several "free" things which would really help out any budget travelers.

The neighbourhood is very quiet (great sleep) and takes, at the very, very most, 10 minutes to wander into the shopping/restaurant area of town. You can easily walk to one of the many local pubs or restaurants and walk home. Many of the tours they recommended picked up from the motel - if you are traveling without your own transport (or even if you are) it's a bonus.

Other pluses - internet charges are not unreasonable (for New Zealand).. Lisa & Tony have a delightful "book exchange" going if you are short of reading material or want to ditch a book. A DVD library available (free).. Fresh milk! Laugh if you will but how many places do you go to that give a generous jug of fresh milk instead of those heinous little pots of UHT milk! A laundry room (cheap!) with washers, driers & irons available. Rooms serviced beautifully each day. The motel has a very sound recycling plan going on which was appreciated by my "green" guests.

Personal pluses - Lisa & Tony went out of her way to find my friends a copy of a magazine on Rotorua to take with them for their memory album. When my friends were worried about one of their air bookings they made sure that they found the right travel agent to visit to confirm their itinerary. Great hosts - lets be honest. How many places have you visited that you actually remember your host's names??

I will definitely book again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank January T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Manager at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Hi January T and thank you so much for taking, what must have been some considerable, time writing your comprehensive review. We really appreciate your support. It's great to know you and your guests were so happy with not only our motel but the places we recommended.
We really look forward to seeing you again, with your next overseas visitors.
Tony & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

It's on a nice quiet road, with a huge supermarket handy on the corner. Lovely to have a pool to cool off in, and also a spa pool. I slept on the bed settee, which was extremely comfortable. Not dirty, but It was let down by little things like dead flies appearing in the shower, and a used sticking plaster in the bed!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Hi Alison

We are astonished that you found a used sticking plaster in the bed and can only apologise for this and also wonder why it wasn't mentioned at the time. as this would have put us in a better position to find out how this had happened. We're not sure how this could have happened as all beds are stripped and sheets changed when guests check out. The dead flies are a fact of life when windows are open during the night. Thank you for acknowledging that the unit was clean.
We are pleased to see you enjoyed the location, the comfortable bed & pool.

Kind regards
Tony & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a ground floor unit and found it to be generally clean and tidy though rather dated. The bed was lovely and comfortable. The paintwork could do with a lick of paint especially in the bathroom area. The on the wall hairdryer didnt work, but there was another hair dryer in the cupboard in the bathroom, but no plug socket for it. So had to find a socket near a mirror, but then the cord was not quite long enough to reach. Tony was helpful in booking our evening at Mitai and was a lovely chatty Yorkshire man.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sixonunion, Owner at Six on Union, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Hi Jill
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for pointing out the problem with the cord length on the hairdryer. We were not aware of this & will rectify. We're pleased to read that our location, sleep quality and help with bookings made your enjoyable.

We hope to see you again.
Tony & Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#58 of 92 in Rotorua
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Union Victoria Motel
Union Victoria Motel
#55 of 92 in Rotorua
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#69 of 92 in Rotorua
91 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lakefront Resort Rotorua
Lakefront Resort Rotorua
#65 of 92 in Rotorua
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six on Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six on Union

Address: 6 Union Street | Glenholme, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £55 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Six on Union 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Six on Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Six On Union Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing