We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super stay in Rotorua”
Review of Fernleaf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fernleaf Motel
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super stay in Rotorua”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a great place to stay at Rotorua. The motel is well adorned with well maintained rooms, a geothermal pool and a beautiful outdoor heated pool. Spick and span 2 bedroom unit with new very comfortable bedding. The host, Wendy looks after her guests guests very well and is very welcoming. We (4 adults) ,a 3 year old and a baby stayed for 3 nights and loved it. Pretty close to everything too. We're definitely coming back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DhayalanAsoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at Fernleaf Motel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dhayalan, thank you very much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure having your family stay with us and I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay at our little motel. Rotorua has so much to offer for holiday makers and we are privileged to be in the heart of it. Many thanks - Wendy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    29
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
28
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My family have been coming to this motel every year for at least 9 years over Easter time, we fit into three units (2, 3 and 4) very comfortably and always have a pleasant stay. The immediate family usually occupy unit 3, which has two bedrooms and two extra beds in the lounge, a decent sized kitchen and bathroom for the five of us. This year though we were back in unit 1 with only 4 of us and it is still a very spacious and nicely set out unit, much like units 2 and 4, with one room, and two extra beds in the lounge. The units and grounds have always been looked after, clean and tidy, this year with new duvets and throws.
All the owners have been lovely, very welcoming and friendly. The pool and hot pool are fantastic, with the intentions of a relaxing holiday we especially enjoy them.
A very short walk to the shops, gas station, supermarket and restaurants and a close distance from most of the attractions in Rotorua. This motel holds so many good memories over the many years and I recommend it to anyone who needs a place to stay in Rotorua.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aj_brownbear12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at Fernleaf Motel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
AJ-brownbear12 - Thank you so much for your review - we are thrilled that you like us so much you come back year after year. We love to see regular guests and are glad you like our cosy warm units and heated outdoor and mineral pools. Look forward to seeing you again next Easter. Wendy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
575 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was a real find. One block back fro Fenton St in a quiet residential area...yet, walking distance to 2 supermarkets, petrol stations & a large shopping centre, the new owner Wendy, has been there for just one month but already she has put her stamp on the place. Warm, friendly welcome. Personally shown to our large 5 bed unit #1. A double and single in the bedroom, with a closing door between that and the lounge which contained 2 comfortable large single beds. Great if you have a snorer in the family. The floor has underground heating so it was really cosy. The thermal heated indoor pool was a blessing after our drive from Wellington. We soaked in it every night before hitting the sack. There is also a nice outdoor swimming pool. The whole place is spotless. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. It's a top of the range old style 3 star motel with personal service. Oh...and Olies award winning fish & chip shop is on the corner of Fenton St - a couple of minutes walk away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at Fernleaf Motel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
MaggieB75 - thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so grateful that you took the time to let others know about our small family run geothermal motel. Look forward to seeing you next time you are in Rotorua. Wendy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I had a fantastic stay at the Fern Leaf. The manager and the owners were very friendly, helpful and generous, providing us with useful local knowledge and advice which was much appreciated. It is in a great location close to town. Fantastic value! The real thermal spa was great !

Room Tip: As far as I could tell they are all very big in size and of good quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at Fernleaf Motel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
David - thank you so much for your glowing review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our small motel. We only purchased the business in December and we have big plans for the Fernleaf. We know that the motel is a bit old fashioned, but with clean and large spacious units as well as thermal heating and heated swimming pool, we are aiming to offer good value for money as a centrally located small motel. We look forward to seeing you again one day, until then, travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.3 mi away
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Red Rock Thermal Motel
#21 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.1 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#36 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.1 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernleaf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernleaf Motel

Property: Fernleaf Motel
Address: 23 Toko Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernleaf Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernleaf is a great classic Kiwi motel in a central location close to the Central Mall in Rotorua. With its own geothermal bore, it offers a heated outdoor swimming pool, genuine mineral spa pool, as well as cosy warm units. Classic charm is the theme, with spacious units, fully equipped kitchens with stoves and plenty of beds to sleep the whole family in our one bedroom or two bedroom units. Enjoy a night of entertainment using our Roku Streaming units and watch your favourite movies, on our subscription paid channels. Or, use your own account to rent a new release. Also available for viewing are T.V. Series including documentaries and You Tube Channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fernleaf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing