We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to have a Family Get Togther”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
Ranked #51 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We Stayed her for a couple of days with other family members staying in other units around the place. Very clean and modern units with a swimming pool/ gym and Restaurant. Itis a bit out of town but worth it if you have had enough of being in Rotorua. A secret we found out was a beautiful walk to a spring 6 minutes down the road which was one of the most special places I have seen, ask at the office and it is free. The one negative was there isn't much air flow up stays on a hoy muggy night but fans are provided, just beware when you open your blind you are looking across into someone elses bedroom !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2013

Excellent rooms. The staff were very friendly and the lake setting was absolute bliss. We made full use of the fireplace during the cold wet days. The kitchen was fully equipped. More BBQ grills would have been great. The resort is slightly removed from the CBD so it helps to be properly stocked when you move in as the nearest convenience shop is pricey

Room Tip: Choose the lakeside rooms for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrellFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We recently stayed 4 nights in a two bedroom apartment by the canal and loved it from the moment we walked in. The resort is a 20 minute drive from Rotorua town on the other side of the lake. The area is quiet and you don't get the Rotorua smell :)
Reception staff were very friendly during our stay. When we checked in, we were given a list of activities with indicative prices and also attractions that you could visit for free which was very helpful.
The apartment itself is very spacious, clean and super comfortable, with the kitchen/dining/living downstairs and the bedrooms and bathroom upstairs. Kitchen is fully equipped with oven/stove and everything you need if you felt like cooking. There is only one bathroom but for the 4 of us that was OK.
It's a shame we couldn't try the restaurant as it wasn't open every night we were there and only serve breakfast once a week (Friday). We would've also liked to swim in the pool which we thought would be heated, but it isn't. There is a spa though and the restaurant/pool/spa overlook the lake which is a great outlook.

The kids loved watching the swans and ducks in the canal and playing giant chess by the pool :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank th12th12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This resort is a fair way out from the shopping district compared to other accommodation in Rotorua but well worth it for the quality, views, peace, space and price. With two young children they loved looking at the ducklings and signets that were right out the back door on the canal. We loved eating our fish and chip takeaway (quite a close drive) out on the deck. The resort had a big chess set which we enjoyed playing together, there is also a couple of swings scattered around the place and other games the kids can get from the front office to keep them occupied. The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable. We couldn't hear the people next door through the walls. There was just enough space in the living area. The pool was clean and refreshing and the spa was very hot but it could have done with a very good clean. The view from the restaurant was so peaceful, we had breakfast and the eggs were fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penfold0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

(Traveled with staff late August 2012 for 1 wk stay.)
Resort is peaceful on a gorgeous lakefront. Its office hours are short, so plan on asking all your questions before 5pm. A small, but friendly staff. Interestingly, you may meet certain same worker/s from the resort frontdesk during the day shift and then managing the resort restaurant at evening shift. We had 2 large units: a 2-br and a 3-br. All their multi-bedroom units have only 1 bathroom and are either open shower, that's a flood gate, or totally enclosed glassdome shower stall, that fogs up within seconds. Our advice is to flash n' dash. Otherwise, trapped condensation drips on toilet seat and slippery floor all night. Everything else is lovely in the sulphur city. Although, I can't wait to visit the south island.
One note upon our arrival, we found that ROT Airport is extremely microscopic compare to the already tiny AKL, but surprisingly it offers car rentals. This would have saved us the 4-hour drive from Auckland on the leftside of the road in pitch dark rain to get to our resort. So fret nothing; fly into ROT Aiport to get your car instead. Everything requires a short drive, head SE about 5-10 minutes will get you to a few convenience stores and gas stations. Pretty obvious, after passing sheep and more sheeps along the main road, then "baaaaha" a destination store. Many day activities and Zoo are 30 mins to the West, while most shops and nightlife (i.e. Pig & Whistle pubs) are 25 mins East and straight South of the lake. We enjoyed their All Black fanatics as well as the maori's infectious culture. Be seeing you in Fiji :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2scorpios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We drove along the Rotorua lakeshore looking for somewhere to eat and by chance came upon this resort....luckily the club house is open to non residents so we stopped ordered dinner....the food was good and hearty just what you need after a long day walking in the fresh air......superb location next to the lake so plenty room to walk off your meal afterwards.....the young lady who served us was delightful and certainly made us welcome...if you are in the area make sure you call in I understand they do a fabulous breakfast too...well worth a visit...........

Room Tip: Just go there to eat if your in he area......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Review of the ClubHouse only .... Came upon this gem after driving round the lake from Rotorua and looking for a place to eat finding few if any dining options to choose from.
Great location overlooking the lake and quite cosy with a very warm welcome from the young lady who looked after us.
Great menu and very nice wine selection...went for beer battered fish of the day, really tasty!
Shame we only found the ClubHouse on our last night staying in the area...the resort looked pretty good too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatKL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 92 in Rotorua
444 reviews
7.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
7.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama

Address: 1420 Hamurana Road, Rotorua 3074, New Zealand (Formerly Scenic Circle Marama Resort Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#35 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £96 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua is truly like no other destination. It's a fascinating mix of culture, adventure and relaxation. Renowned for being a hotbed of thermal activity, Rotorua's hot springs and spas make it the perfect getaway for pampering, stress-release and rejuvenation. At the same time it's also a place where you can truly get the heart pumping. Adrenalin-raising adventures punctuate the Rotorua landscape from thrilling luge rides, white water rafting and even rolling down a hill in a giant translucent ball (zorbing). If all that's not enough for you, then you also have an area rich in Maori history and culture and friendly locals to walk you through it all. Located just 20 minutes outside the city to ensure your getaway is relaxing, WorldMark Resort Rotorua is the perfect base for whatever brings you to this simply wonderful area of New Zealand. With apartments sleeping 4-6 people in 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and lodges (utilising double sofa bed in living room), your stay will feel like your home-away-from-home. Located on the edge of the lake, the resort offers beautiful views right over the Ohau Channel. You can kayak your way back to your room or picnic at the parklands located right within the resort. If fishing is more your thing you'll be in heaven - the area is rich in fisheries and you'll be able to throw in a line from one of the various resort banks. The apartments include all modern conveniences, with the resort also boasting outdoor swimming pool, heated spa, gymnasium and a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark South Pacific Club By Wyndham Hotel Rotorua
Wyndham Rotorua
Rotorua Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing