We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic lakeview, received like a family does”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #11 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“romantic lakeview, received like a family does”
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Lyndsay and Graham gave us a warm welcome in their nice house, on the rotorua lakeside where a small river flow into the lake and where at sunshine and su set birds and humans meet to catch big trouts. Lyndsay will cuddle with rich homemade breakfasts (superb muesli) and if you are a fisherman Graham will tell you all secrets of Ngongotaha huge trouts.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davide72Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
80
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

When we remember our trip across New Zealand, the first memory that comes to our minds is the one about Graham and Lindsay.

With them and their unique lodge we spent the best days we could have ever imagined.

His immense generosity, sympathy and kindness made us feel so at home that it wasn't easy leaving them to continue the journey.

The magnificent views and the comfort from the house gave us some really good peaceful days.

With no doubt, Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge was our best election.

Thank you very much Graham and Lindsay.

Marc&Julia (Barcelona, Spain)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minx_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsay B, Owner at Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Many thanks Julia and Marc for your lovely comments.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we remember you well, although it doesn't seem nearly a year that you were with us.
Take care and maybe we will see you again on your next NZ trip :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome than we were given by Lindsay and Graham! They were true hosts in every sense of the word - but made us feel as if we were living in our own home! They also provided us with excellent advice about new and interesting places to visit in the area - even though we had visited Ngongotaha several times in the past.

Our room (with a gorgeous view over Lake Rotorua) was beautifully appointed with every convenience. And the residents' lounge - which we enjoyed on our own as we were the only guests - was beautifully furnished with comforable sofas and chairs and also had a marvellous view over the lake. There were many books that we could browse at leisure, as well as a good supply of coffee, tea and biscuits - and cold drinks in the fridge.

The breakfasts were excellent - with fresh fruit and yoghurt or a full cooked breakfast if you wanted it. And my wife's gluten intolerance was fully catered for with cereal, bread and biscuits.

We would happily recommend Lakeside Lodge to anyone who is looking for first class acommodation in the Rotorua area. In our experience, it ranks among the very best places we have ever stayed in New Zealand.

Room Tip: For a a private lake view and a balcony, choose the Wai Motu room. That said, the resident's lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I visited Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge about 7 years ago. In my mind, it still is the best place in the world. I have travelled all over the world but nothing compares to this property. Lyndsay and Graham were such amazing hosts. The friendly Kiwi hospitality was alive and well at this lodge. As a solo traveller, Lyndsay and Graham made my travel in Rotorua special, memorable and outstanding. They were a wealth of information. They truly care about their guests. They wanted to make sure that your experiences in New Zealand would be special. My hosts arranged for me to attend a Maori feast and booked my first horseback riding lesson. Our laughs over a wonderful dinner at a local bistro are something I will cherish forever.

Ngongotaha is on the outskirts of Rotorua. You can reach the lodge by bus. I didn't have a car while in NZ. The bus service was great and locals were so nice. The lodge rests in a peaceful setting surrounding by water. The views from the guest floor are breathtaking. The beach, birds and the gentle crashing of waves on the sand are all visible from the lounge. Unwind, learn about the Maori culture, do horseback riding in the nearby hills but most of all enjoy the quiet setting. Visiting this lodge is a must. It would be a sin not to. Thank you Lyndsay and Graham. Your hospitality and your guidance resulted in me falling in love with NZ and everything it has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank narly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I want to adopt Graham and Lindsay as my parents, or godparents, or better, fairy godparents. They took great care of us and made us feel special, welcome, cared for and yes even loved. I had a birthday on a rare rainy day in Rotorua summer and Lindsay more than made up for the dreadful weather. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to be treated like they are loved and missed family members who have finally arrived after a long absence.

Room Tip: All are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tompkinsstacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Even in the worst possible weather, Lyndsay and Graham ensured we had a great stay. All of Lyndsay's tips about things to do were spot on - definitely ask her for advice. And their breakfasts were brilliant! (We didn't need to eat again until dinner...) Thanks again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doubledipper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Graham and Lyndsay are really something else. You get the impression that they can't do enough for you. We stayed there for three nights and really enjoyed their company.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gkiwi615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
4.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Villa
Country Villa
#7 of 52 in Rotorua
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
4.0 mi away
City Lights Boutique Lodge
5.7 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge

Property: Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge
Address: 41 Operiana Street | Ngongotaha, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, warm and friendly. "Hospitality Award" winning Bed & Breakfast on the shore of Lake Rotorua, offering quality accommodation away from noise, traffic and sulphur smells. Close to many major tourist activities and attractions and only a ten minute drive into Rotorua. Tastful ensuite bedrooms, with all toiletries provided . . In room flat screen TV's and tea and coffee making facilities. Start you day with a healthy, homemade generous breakfast. Fly fish for trout a few steps away at the mouth of the famous Waiteti Stream . . . We will smoke your catch for you to have with pre dinner drinks or pan fry it for your breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing