We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arista of Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aura Accommodation(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$557
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$471
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
111
14
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
14
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastlake rotoruayogurtnew zealandgreat hostsbalcony overlooking the lakeself contained apartmenttrout fishingplaces to visitbreakfast was amazinglocal knowledgeminute driverotorua smellmaori dinnertwo nightsfully equipped kitchenself catering
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We found Lyndsay and Graham purely by chance - how lucky for us! We have enjoyed superb
hospitality, marvellous friendship and stunning breakfasts. Our firm intention is to revisit
this beautiful country and Rotorua in particular. My only regret is that I did not have enough time to have a day's fishing with Graham as he has all the gear and the knowledge - we were able to
chat about fly tieing and local patterns anyway. The siting of the Lodge right on the shores of Lake Rotorua is exceptional and easily found. Dont hesitate - it does'nt get better than this!

Room Tip: Lake views are really outstanding
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We arrived in the evening, after a long drive and were immediately welcomed and provided with late dinner as arranged. Breakfasts were especially memorable and Lyndsay and Graham were able to share local knowledge to help plan our days... all advice proved to be perfect. Nothing was too much trouble and we wish that our stay could have been longer. Location by lake offered much to see and gave easy access to the surrounding area. A wonderful experience which we would love to repeat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Our stay at Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge was in and of itself, a memory of a lifetime! It was recommended to me by a co-worker who had stayed there several years earlier to our trip in December. Prior to our arrival, I had many communications with Lyndsay and Graham, who over the months became like family to us. Upon our arrival, it was as if we had known each other all our lives, and I am sure they make every guest feel as such. They made reservations for all of activities, and had suggestions and brochures and menus available for all the local attractions and restaurants. They also have games available and even a "swap a book library" is there for your reading enjoyment.

The rooms are beautifully appointed and well laid out with all the amenities needed to feel right at home, and the views of the lake, mountains and islands are extraordinary! Lyndsay and Graham are fabulous hosts and even better cooks, and you will enjoy every homemade breakfast and snack provided. There are coffee makers in the rooms, and a stocked fridge in the very private guest lounge with all sorts of beverages! And, if you are lucky, Graham will take you fishing, and even smoke a fish you catch!

The Lodge is on a beautiful piece of lakefront property and so close to the center of all the activities Rotorua has to offer, like the Maori dinner/show, the aqua adventures area and world famous downhill mountain biking. The highlight of our trip was on my birthday, when a helicopter landed directly on their property and swept us away to White's Island (the active volcano) where we had a private tour!

We hated to leave them, but I have already sent some friends there way who will be staying with them at the end of this month, and we will be back to see our Kiwi family as soon as we possibly can!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsay B, Owner at Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2013

Many, many thanks C & Co, for the wonderful review you have given us.
It is so rewarding when we know our guests are enjoying themselves . . . as you all did!
What a great time you had in Rotorua, with the fun adventure activites and cultural experiences. You were super guests and we did miss the laughs and shared stories when you left.
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your first NZ holiday and we so look forward to your next visit. Make it soon Carrie! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We dropped by for a couple of nights, just after Christmas. Lyndsay and Graham were wonderful from the welcome cup of tea and freshly cooked treats, wonderful breakfasts to the excellent knowledge of the area. We toured all around the lake and surrounds, visiting the most pristine river and rapids. Tall Redwood forests, and iconic little coffee lunch stops. We saw the geo thermal bubbling springs. all in wet and glistening Summer rainy weather. It did not stop us from enjoying the surrounds. We really enjoyed the ambiance of the bed and breakfast and loved watching the sun go down on the lake and the trout fisherman, while away the hours.
Graham has some wonderful photos on the wall of his adventures fly fishing with his guests as well.
A truly restful stop , so close to the Rotorua attractions, a real advantage for a quiet and peacful stay, thank you both for our stay. We loved travelling around New Zealand.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Seekerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsay B, Owner at Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge.
We're lucky to live in such a lovely area, and we love to share the special places with our guests. It is a pity you were only able to stay for two nights in Rotorua, but hopefully next time . . . we will be able to tempt you into staying longer !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Lindsay and Graham are the perfect hosts, both have a good sense of humour and do their upmost to make their guests really welcome and feel at home. If you are lucky Graham will manage to catch a giant trout (by European standards) from his garden on the bank of Lake Rotorua, and smoke it as a treat for you. Lyndsays Birchner muesll is to die for! The accommodation is very comfortable, clean and spacious. The Lodge is very close to all the myrad of attractions in Rotorua and the various thermal sites on the road to Taupo,

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianV618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndsay B, Owner at Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you so much Brian for taking the time to write such a lovely a review on your stay with us.
It was great getting to know you both and to share stories and lots of laughs.
Hopefully on your next NZ visit you can stay once again and we will share another smoked trout.
Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews