We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ngongataha lakeside lodge bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #11 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2010

Stayed here for four nights in march 2010.
Really spoiled ,made very welcome,fantastic breakfasts,nice rooms,great hosts and wonderful setting.
Lyndsay and Graham the hosts really know how to treat their customers and nothing was too much trouble.Trips can be arranged through them and plenty of advice given.Added bonus for fisherman is that the Waieti stream runs very close by and Graham is well up on the fishing.

1  Thank chub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2010

Lakeside Lodge offers real New Zealand home stay hospitality at its very best .Lyndasy and Grayham Butcher are great ambassadors for their wounderful country ,nothing is too much trouble for them to make your stay a special occasion.I caught trout within yards of the garden then back for a proper breakfast

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Visited this B&B again in Feb 2010, still same owners and again I must say that the hospitality and accommodation met all standards -- welcoming hosts, delightful and full breakfasts, and clean and spotless rooms - what more do you need? As well superb fishing on a stroll away!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anglerslobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We were so glad we found this B&B - we are not ones for staying in the centre of town so the situation of Lakeside Lodge was ideal (it really is absolute lakeside!) Lyndsay & Graham were great hosts with a vast local knowledge -their recommendations of things to do was spot on - especially for our 10 year old son who loved the both the Luge & the Zorb & also the TePuia evening suggested by Lyndsay. Graham took both my son & husband fly fishing on the local river at the crack of dawn (their choice I hasten to add!) which was a wonderful experience for our son.
The house was very clean & comfortable with a superb panoramic view of the lake.Yes it is situauted in a residential area but that is part of its charm - you do meet & speak to local people which, for us,was an important part of our holiday- to see the real New Zealand.
Breakfast is included and was ample - Lyndsay makes homemade muesli, yoghurt & muffins along with fruit salad and other delights (a full cooked breakfast is also available for those who prefer it)
We originally booked for 1 night but ended up staying for 3 !

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MendipLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Beautiful, lakefront, bed and breakfast located a short distance from the main town of Rotorua. The best feature is the hosts, Lyndsay and Graham, who do not hesitate to go out of their way to make your stay perfect and relaxing. They are a wealth of information about the history and attractions located in Rotorua and around NZ. My husband and I remember our stay fondly and can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trvlfor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge

"Tranquillity and Diversification in a Unique Area of the World".

My friend Stuart Middleton and I made an “all action round trip” of 26,240 miles to North and South Islands of New Zealand (“NZ”) and a key area for us to visit was Rotorua, with its massive thermal activities, Maori traditions, fishing and walking and here we choose Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge as our “Homestay” for three nights.

We made all our arrangements over the internet and we were so lucky to find this ace place where nothing is trouble to our marvellous hosts, Lyndsay and Graham. Pre arrival information by e-mail on the various options available to us from Lyndsay was magic. To be able to fish for trout was important to us and a day’s licence, all equipment and Graham as our guide for a day’s fishing on the Ngongotaha Stream, which has its source in Paradise Valley, was put in place. Four BIG trout (2.5lbs/4lbs) were “pulled off” the river and lots of trout can be seen in the lovely clear waters but take note, they are not easy to catch. We also wanted to walk and we spent time in the Whakarewarewa Forest (“Redwoods”) which was such an enjoyable experience. Lyndsay had organized a night at ‘TE PUIA’ in Rotorua (she also had offered us alternatives) where we had an in-depth experience of the customs and traditions of the Maori people, a hangi-cooked feast and contemporary Maori dishes. The evening ended at 9pm after a visit to view POHUTA, the famous geyser on the site. We also visited the famous Polynesian Spa, overlooking Lake Rotorua and we tried out all 4 Lakeside pools (36c/42c) in this world top ten (medical and thermal) Spa and enjoyed the occasion, looking up to the star lit sky. Wai-O-Tapu (Sacred Waters) which is NZ’s most colourful and diverse volcanic area and here we walked round the stunning geothermal activity and unforgettable vistas. Huka Falls, a natural phenomenon is also not to be missed. The mighty Waikato River, NZ’s largest, gushes through a narrow chasm not long after the outlet from Lake Taupo. 300,000lrs of water per second hurtles through the narrow channel that makes the waterfall the most visited attraction in NZ.
Why stay at Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge?
•The location of the elegant, comfortable and spacious detached home couldn’t be nicer, being on the shores of Lake Rotorua with panoramic views across the whole of the lake, Mokoia Island and surrounding countryside to Mt Tarawera, in the distance, are just stunning. Everything you desire is provided.
•There is a wealth of reading material but if you want to know anything you just ask Lyndsay and she will know the answer. As well as having coffee/tea facilities in your bedroom you also have your own coffee/tea facilities in the lounge and to me this was magic. A read with a morning cuppa looking over the lake before breakfast, wonderful.
•Breakfasts are to “die for” with excellent home made delights and attentive service second to none. It is one large table sitting six people and conversation is free flowing as everyone is interested in what the other parties are doing and making recommendations as what to see and do. After home made cereal and fresh fruit with yoghurt, Lyndsay has suggested crepes with bacon and fresh mushrooms. Sounded delicious to me and yes it was. You could have had anything you wanted and Graham provided a constant supply of fresh toast/tea. Do you want to leave the table? No is the answer. Stuart made the comment "that you had enough breakfast not to need lunch," and Stuart does like his lunch as well!! Wine and canapés are served in the “Sunroom” at around 5pm or Monteith’s Hearty Blacks on the patio!!
•You come and go as you please, on site parking is provided and the City of Rotorua, with many good restaurants and shopping is just a ten minute drive away.

This is a very special place to stay and no six-star resort can match the hospitality of great hosts in their own home. Here you will find two of the best there is. We loved our stay with great weather and we just did not want to say - goodbye.

Fraser Mackay
Chester, United Kingdom.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

We loved our two nights at Ngongotaha (especially once we learned to pronounce it!). We were upgraded to the beautiful king suite overlooking the lake and it was great. Lyndsay and Graham were fabulous hosts who were so helpful with suggestions and arrangements. We saw several sights that we wouldn't have found on our own but were recommended by Lindsay and they were well worth seeing! Breakfasts (freshly cooked trout! yum!) were delicious and fun because of the camaraderie of our fellow travelers and our hosts. It is outside of Rotorua, which makes it a bit of a drive for dinner and other attractions in town. However, it was nice to get away from the tourism and smell of Rotorua and relax at this delightful B & B.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayteeMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
4.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
410 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
5.7 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
6.2 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge

Address: 41 Operiana Street | Ngongotaha, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: £133 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxed, warm and friendly. "Hospitality Award" winning Bed & Breakfast on the shore of Lake Rotorua, offering quality accommodation away from noise, traffic and sulphur smells. Close to many major tourist activities and attractions and only a ten minute drive into Rotorua. Tastful ensuite bedrooms, with all toiletries provided . . In room flat screen TV's, tea and coffee making facilities and fridge. Start you day with a healthy, homemade generous breakfast. Fly fish for trout a few steps away at the mouth of the famous Waiteti Stream . . . We will smoke your catch for you to have with pre dinner drinks or pan fry it for your breakfast. Our self/catering "Mokoia Apartment" has breakfast provisions supplied for the 1st morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ngongotaha Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing