We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic place for a family”
Review of Aywon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aywon Motel
Ranked #86 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fantastic place for a family”
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Absolutely fantastic for young family. Comfortable rooms and private spa. You get what you pay for and it is reasonably priced. We stay here everytime we go to Rotorua and will definitely stay next time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiDave13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    25
    17
    3
    10
See reviews for
29
25
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2010

The Aywon Motel is a modernly furnished motel located near, but not on the main street in Rotorua, New Zealand. It's location ensure's that your close enough to all the action, but far enough away to relax in peace.
The rooms are clean, very well presented. and comfortable. The private hot spring spa is an excellent touch, great after a day out at the many attractions in Rotorua...or before!
Also worth a mention was the service from the owners. Pat and Noel do an excellent job running the Aywon Motel. So much so that I will be back to the Aywon, and wouldn't even entertain the idea of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott_23_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

After thirty five years of staying in motels I think I have seen it all and for all the things that I have come to appreciate from a motel this one is right up there in my mind.
Clean,comfortable,friendly and the oh so hard to find,:nice and quiet for a good nights
sleep.
A good location for getting in and out,and pretty handy to touristy things
The Traveller,

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genghiskahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coromandel New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

The unit was spotless and the bed very comfy.
The plunger and fresh coffee were appreciated after our walk in the redwood forest from the motel.
The private spa was fantastic with luxurious bathrobes provided.
The manager and staff were friendly and informative and helped to get the most out of our visit to Rotorua.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchkiwi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Had a great stay.
Booked this place for a group of young adults going to a music concert. We booked a family room with two bedrooms.
The lady at reception was very nice, very helpful, very informative about the events in Rotorua. We checked very late on our arrival date, but she was very accomodating and helpful.
The motel is on a nice quiet street, off the main road (Fenton St), but the main road is visible from the motel entrance and our room, as the motel is directly across from a park, so it was a quick walk to the main road.
The room was very nice but smaller than what I had perceived from pictures on the website, but that was ok because the place was nice and clean. As there was a private spa in the room, there were plenty of towels, which were exactly what the website states, big & fluffly. And the towels were replaced daily, the rooms were serviced daily. The bathroom was a good size and the shower cubicle was very spacious.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissy5683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2009

We recently stayed at the Aywon Motel, Rotorua for two nights for a short family break. We booked a two bedroom unit which comprised of kitchen/lounge area and bathroom/private spa pool downstairs and two separate bedrooms upstairs. We have two boys aged 6 & 10 years and having the separate bedroom was very beneficial. There was three single beds in the boys room which was quite spacious and ideal for families. There was also an internal wardrobe for hanging clothes. Our bedroom had a double bed and also internal wardbrobe. Bedrooms were clean and comfortable. The spa private spa pool was great however a little hot ! Parents need to check spa temperature before letting children use it. It can easily be cooled with a cold water tap. The only thing to let this unit down was the kitchen facilities. They were very old and needed replacing. Indeed the owners who are very friendly explained to us that they were in the process of refurbishing the family units, probably in july 09'. The one bedroom units have already been refurbished and they looked realy great. Overall we would use this motel again once the two bedroom units have been refurbished. It is in a good position, one street back from the main Fenton Street and opposite is a large area of grass which was great for the kids to play on. Kids took there bikes and we felt they were safe cycling on the surrounding streets, which is not always ideal when you stay on the very busy Fenton Street motels. Staff and owners were very friendly. We have been to several motels in Rotorua and we would consider using this again.

  • Liked — Two separate bedrooms
  • Disliked — Kitchen facilities
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2008

We are a family of visiting Malaysian tourist to NZ with an 8 year old daughter. This hotel management reported to the police on us to say that we stole their bed-spread when in fact it was in the closet. They have my mobile number and address but they choose to go to their files and get the license plate of my rental car and provided that to the police.

We choose not to use the bed-spread in addition to the blanket so we folded it and stored it in the closet like all other times we have done in hotels all over the world.

We were contacted by our rental car agency and we returned to Aywon to find out what happened. We found the bed-spread in the closet where we left it. While the lady was apologetic her husband was an arrogant man who said and I quote "I don't care what you do any where else in the world, here you should inform me that you stored the bed-spread in the closet!!!!!!!" At least the wife was reasonable and told him to shut-up as they were wrong.

Obviously, they do not do proper cleaning of the rooms, how else could they not find the bed-spread in the closet. Why do they not call me when they have my mobile number instead of the police? Why would anyone want to steal a bed-spread from a motel?

I was lucky that I found out about this before I was at the airport for my flight home. Imagine what happens when the police stop me for this at the airport, I would have most likely miss my flight or worst end up in the Auckland jail.

  • Liked — Seeing it in the rear view mirror of my car.
  • Disliked — The people that runs this motel.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MalaysianT0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
0.1 mi away
Birchwood Spa Motel
Birchwood Spa Motel
#79 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#57 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aywon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aywon Motel

Property: Aywon Motel
Address: 18-20 Trigg Avenue | Fenton Park, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#45 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aywon Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aywon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aywon Motel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing