We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Island trip”
Review of Ibis Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Rotorua
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Room was very good, Staff very helpful.
However I needed an internet connection to do personal banking while I was away on business. Unfortunately because of delays (onhold to the bank) I ran out of time to do my transaction. One hour for internet would have been better for me in this situation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Hi Greg L

Thanks for the great comments posted regarding your recent stay with us at the Ibis Rotorua, your comments are most appreciated, I will be sure to pass on the comments to the staff.

Regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

534 - 540 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

The room we stayed in was reasonably nice looking, but we were next door to very noisy people. Into the night they were shouting and swearing. The walls are very thin. We complained to reception but they were not able to do anything about it.

They offered to put us in another room which we accepted. When we got to the room and opened the door, it already had guests in it! They were shocked and upset at us walking into their locked room - quite understandable.

We went back down to reception and checked out at about 9:30pm as we'd had enough at that point. We were put together at the reception desk with the noisy, abusive people we had complained about. So we had to stand there being abused and shouted at by them while we were trying to check out and get our money refunded.

Stay there at your own risk, not sure what other Ibis hotels are like, but avoid the Ibis Rotorua.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenWilliams01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

It is certainly disappointing to read of your experience at Ibis Rotorua and I would like to sincerely apologise for the disruptions you were challenged with. However as you can read on the below reviews we have an overwhelming positive review therefore i can confidently respond that this is an isolated incident.
Unfortunately disruptive guests can be something that is difficult to manage on occasion but we strive to ensure all guests stay and are respective towards all fellow guests. I have investigated ow you were then given a room move to an occupied room and unfortunately this was as simple as human error. i have spoken with the employee in question who is both disappointed and remorseful for the mistake and the error is uncharacteristic.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I would hope that this recent stay does not taint your impression of both Ibis Rotorua and the brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

You get what you pay for at this average Rotorua hotel. Located a few blocks from eat street and fairly close to the water - it's convenient, but not in the heart of the town. Nothing really stood out or was amazing, except for the surcharge for internet. $30 for 300 mb per day was a little ridiculous. TV quality was also poor like others have said.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Interstella5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

We pride ourselves on our location across from the village green, adjacent to the lake and next to eat street and have a prime location compared to other Rotorua hotels. As an economy brand hotel you the facilities are reflective in the room rate paid. We are currently reviewing our internet prices as a company nationally. I apologise that the hotel did not exceed your expectations but thanks for taking the time to post your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights and could have stayed more. Rooms were very clean and well appointed. Good TV and beds. Wi-fi was down but this was a telco issue not a hotel issue. However, as soon as it came back on the hotel staff alerted us. Special mention goes to Aayushi ( sorry of spelt incorrectly) who made our stay even better with his first class attention. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirk D, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thanks for your comments. I will ensure Aayush is recognized for his customer service and it is great to have a personalized mention as all our staff continually strive to offer a superior customer service experience to all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 92 in Rotorua
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
831 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rotorua

Address: Lake End Rangiuru Street | PO Box 348, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £76 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Rotorua is located on the picturesque shores of lake Rotorua, just five minutes walk from the central business district, convention centre, cafes and restaurants and some of Rotorua's most popular tourist attractions. The fully air-conditioned hotel offers 145 rooms providing exceptional comfort and value. Room configurations can be one king or two doubles. A number of triple rooms with three single beds are also available. Bedrooms feature in-room safes, internet with broadband connectivity, showers, flat screen TV's and refrigerators. 24hr reception, an internet kiosk and guest laundry facilities. The I-Restaurant and Bar welcomes guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Conference rooms and other facilities at the neighboring Novotel Rotorua Lakeside are also available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing