We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“speedway”
Review of Ibis Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Rotorua
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    509
    306
    60
    25
See reviews for
230
514
95
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We,along with other family members just spent one night here while in Rotorua to attend a wedding, sharing three rooms between us. Our room had a basic street view and was entirely fit for purpose which was essentially just somewhere to sleep, the quality of sleep was good and the room was fine.
The only staff we dealt with were at reception and they were all courteous and efficient.
One of our party had paid a little extra and had a nice view of the lakefront which was probably around 300 metres away.
Its an easy walk down to several restaurants and bars and the Government Gardens are only a short walk a little further on.
The hotel is well located and would be fine for people looking to stay a little longer and wanting a reasonably priced hotel to base themselves at whilst taking in more of what Rotorua has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Melnp

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us at the Ibis Rotorua, your comments are most appreciated.I hope you had a fantastic time at the wedding and look forward to having you stay with us in the near future.

Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great location and everyone at the hotel were approachable, knowledgeable about the area and happy to help in any way. There was a screw loose on one of the lights and it was repaired within their 15 minute satisfaction policy. Close to everything and breakfast was very good. Dave was funny and very friendly.

Room Tip: I would think any room would be good at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Rotorua, I am pleased to hear that you trip was a memorable. Hope the rest of your trip was as pleasant.

Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Free parking: room was clean and comfortable; bathroom was congenial; and the staff were helpful and friendly. Overall, we had a pleasurable time. Dined at the Novotel, next to the Ibis, which added to the experience. .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Rotorua, I am pleased to hear that you trip was a memorable. Hope the rest of your trip was as pleasant.

Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The staff at this hotel were very fun, friendly, and helpful with directions and other questions I had. The decor was pleasant. The hotel was situated in a quiet area of town, but still very close to all the restaurants, shops, lake, trails and other tourist attractions. I have no complaints. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuroraLee1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Rotorua, I am pleased to hear that you trip was a memorable. Hope the rest of your trip was as pleasant.

Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I changed my travel plans on the day and needed somewhere to stay in Rotorua. On ringing reservations I was able to book for the night, I must say the reservations agent was very helpful and had a great sense of humour, as you may guess it was their local reservations not some call centre half a world away.

The hotel is well located over looking the lake and close to a great selection of bars and restaurants, all within walking distance.

Check in was easy and again the receptionist was very helpful and explained about the property well, as I hadn't stayed before. Parking was easy and free, but again if you want to use internet in your room you have to pay, 30 mins free in the lobby doesn't really work!

The room was standard Ibis and appointed as such, comfortable and everything worked, however no safe in the room. The bathroom was in need of a refurbishment, looking very tired and cleaning here was not up to scratch, also the shower head is fixed to the wall so if you are any taller than 5'11 not good for the back, great shower temperature and pressure thou.

TV screen was a very good size!

The room was also a bit tired and their were food stains on the walls and the carpet was dusty in the corners.

All in all a good nights sleep and I would stay again, just needs a bit of TLC.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for the review, your feedback is important to us and will be looked into as a matter of urgency.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
0.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.8 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rotorua

Property: Ibis Rotorua
Address: Lake End Rangiuru Street | PO Box 348, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Rotorua is located on the picturesque shores of lake Rotorua, just five minutes walk from the central business district, convention centre, cafes and restaurants and some of Rotorua's most popular tourist attractions. The fully air-conditioned hotel offers 145 rooms providing exceptional comfort and value. Room configurations can be one king or two doubles. A number of triple rooms with three single beds are also available. Bedrooms feature in-room safes, internet with broadband connectivity, showers, flat screen TV's and refrigerators. 24hr reception, an internet kiosk and guest laundry facilities. The I-Restaurant and Bar welcomes guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Conference rooms and other facilities at the neighboring Novotel Rotorua Lakeside are also available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing