We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damaged Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Rotorua
Ranked #32 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    502
    293
    58
    24
See reviews for
224
506
94
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Typical good value IBIS. Room was functional but spacious (despite 2 double beds), clean & comfortable with small en suite shower room. Bar/restaurant area is basic, as was breakfast. Our room at rear of hotel had a lake view but the downside (probably also affecting many other local hotels) was the strong sulphur smell during the night from the nearby hot springs, so be prepared to switch off the a/c. Reception staff were extremely helpful, especially in recommending and booking our local activities. Plenty of reasonable cafes/bars/pubs just a block and half away. Nice 1-2 hour walks direct from hotel take in lakeside, hot springs, wildlife and the main sights of town.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear have nice lake views but sulphur smell may possibly be worse on this side so be prepar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Roger V

Thank you for the great comments, unfortunately the Sulphur smell is present occasionally due to the geothermal activity, although this is more often less notable.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to New Zealand, and hope to see you return in the future.

Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Nice location by edge of lake at top end of town. Downtown area was walkable to and a Pizza Hut was close by. Hotel was a bit dark & dingy though the staff were friendly & helpful. Internet connection available free with 2 computers next to reception.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garethannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear garethannette

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Rotorua, hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham
Level Contributor
628 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

This is a functional hotel. The room was of an average size with 2 beds, desk space, shelving, a small wardrobe, kettle and a fridge. The washroom was very small but the shower was very efficient. They do not provide hand towels. However it was all very clean and the bed was comfortable.

We did not have breakfast included but paid for a continental one. The dining room looked a bit like a canteen and smelt of fried food. It was adequate and included juice, cereal, croissants and toast. However I asked for decaf coffee and they did find a few but told me they were no longer stocking it which is a shame.

There was a laundry room with 2 washing machines and driers. This was very efficient and useful, also reasonably priced.

Location was good, near the lake and also near to the central district, but despite this the area is very quiet. There is a Pizza Hut very close by.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, making us feel very welcome. This was all of them, both day and night. They were also very knowledgeable about the area. There were plenty of information leaflets available to look at.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hevsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Hevsy

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Rotorua, I am pleased to hear that you trip was a memorable. Hope the rest of your trip was as pleasant.

Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigfork, Montana, Usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great location within walking distance. The hotel is unattractive and the rooms are SMALL. We had two double beds (didn't get to pick) and the bathrooms are small. We arrived to park across the street and took our own luggage as there were no bellmen. The staff was fine but no overly helpful. There was a horrible smell in the entry as if the sewage was having a problem. Fine room for a night but wouldn't want to spend more time in that room. The buffet breakfast is NOT WORTH the $25 NZ.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Teresa K

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Rotorua,i am sorry to hear that your stay was not a memorable one. The smell you are referring to is the sulphurous gases released due to the predominant geothermal activity in the Rotorua area, and not sewerage.

Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Good location, reception very helpful, rooms are average, had an issue with the sink clogging up and the mini bar fridge not working at all, not much parking available.Overall it was a nice hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank straveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear straveller91

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Rotorua. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay overall with us. With regards to the few concerns you had these have been addressed with the team.

Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rotorua

Property: Ibis Rotorua
Address: Lake End Rangiuru Street | PO Box 348, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Rotorua is located on the picturesque shores of lake Rotorua, just five minutes walk from the central business district, convention centre, cafes and restaurants and some of Rotorua's most popular tourist attractions. The fully air-conditioned hotel offers 145 rooms providing exceptional comfort and value. Room configurations can be one king or two doubles. A number of triple rooms with three single beds are also available. Bedrooms feature in-room safes, internet with broadband connectivity, showers, flat screen TV's and refrigerators. 24hr reception, an internet kiosk and guest laundry facilities. The I-Restaurant and Bar welcomes guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Conference rooms and other facilities at the neighboring Novotel Rotorua Lakeside are also available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing