We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shelley”
Review of Ibis Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Rotorua
Ranked #34 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    510
    312
    62
    25
See reviews for
234
518
95
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The staff are friendly and helpful. They are willing to show you the hotspots. The room is tidy and clean. Although the room is relatively small, the bed is very comfortable. The location is good, there are hotspots and eat street nearby. I shall stay in this hotel again for my next vacation in Rotorua.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank To Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear To Y

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, your feedback is most appreciated. I am glad to that your stay was of a high standard. I hope the rest of your holiday was an enjoyable one, we look forward to having you stay with us when next in town.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked on line at $110 for a City View room with a King bed. The price is good, the room is small, and the City View was over the street toward the hospital.
Parking is either on the street, or in the lot behind the hotel (under cover parking is extremely limited). The staff on reception were friendly, and we were processed very quickly.
The King bed was a bit rock hard. There was a selection of pillows which was good. Television was a limited selection of Sky options.
Typical of NZ hotels, free WiFi was only available in the lobby, but there is the option to pay for WiFi for the room.
The bathroom had the usual soaps and shampoos, and was clean.
A good, affordable option for a short stay - the room is too small to be comfortable for more than one or two days.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Steve A

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Ibis Rotorua. I am glad you found your stay an enjoyable one, at the Ibis we pride ourselves on offering great value for money. We look forward to having you stay with us when next in Rotorua.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for two days with my wife. Though the rooms were a little bit small, we were still satisfied. The prices for the WiFi were a bit expensive and a bit slow though. The staffs were excellent and friendly. It was also easy to go to the town as the hotel was very near. As the hotel was very near to Lake Rotorua, we had a very beautiful view during sunset and we would love to come back here again someday. A recommended place to stay during holidays.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlifHafiz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear AlifHafiz23

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Ibis Rotorua. I am glad you found your stay an enjoyable one, at the Ibis we pride ourselves on offering great value for money. We hope to have you stay with us if in Rotorua again, i hope the rest of your trip was as enjoyable.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

One of our best stays while travelling in New Zealand. I was travelling with my parents and family friends. The views from the hotel were great, we had rooms facing Lake Rotorua. The very next day our car had a punctured Tyre and we were very well guided and helped by the staff at the reception. Our shows at the Agrodome and the kiwi bird park were adjusted and help received by the staff was truely appreciated. We had this very cute, Nepalese gentleman who helped us through all this. I forget his name unfortunately. Also we were vegetarians, and hence the chef on the next day knowing we are Indians looked up for a recipe on net and prepared Upma, a sort of Indian porridge. I will surely recommend this place for any body staying in Rotorua.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sneh2683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Sneh2683

Thank you for the great review, we are certainly blessed to have such fantastic staff, I hope the rest of your New Zealand trip was as memorable.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Two work colleagues stayed at Ibis. I had rang them to check that there were 2 beds in the room. Got there and 1. Was quickly sorted when I spoke to them about this. Otherwise the Ibis was quite fine in regards to our needs and short stay there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Tina S

Thank you for the review feedback is an essential part of our business. I apologize for the initial mix up with the room configuration, however am pleased this was resolved quickly by our great staff. I am glad to read that you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay with us.

We look forward to hosting you when next conferencing in town.

Regards
Ian Shipman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.8 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 92 in Rotorua
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rotorua

Property: Ibis Rotorua
Address: Lake End Rangiuru Street | PO Box 348, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Rotorua is located on the picturesque shores of lake Rotorua, just five minutes walk from the central business district, convention centre, cafes and restaurants and some of Rotorua's most popular tourist attractions. The fully air-conditioned hotel offers 145 rooms providing exceptional comfort and value. Room configurations can be one king or two doubles. A number of triple rooms with three single beds are also available. Bedrooms feature in-room safes, internet with broadband connectivity, showers, flat screen TV's and refrigerators. 24hr reception, an internet kiosk and guest laundry facilities. The I-Restaurant and Bar welcomes guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Conference rooms and other facilities at the neighboring Novotel Rotorua Lakeside are also available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing