We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief stay”
Review of Ibis Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Rotorua
Ranked #35 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Was surprised when we walked in. Thank god we weren't planning to say in our rooms for too long. On the 4th floor, view was good. Room was small. Definitely budget friendly. Had to ask for extra pillows-- marshmallows would have provided better support. We did have a noisy night due to other guests. Would I stay here again??? Sorry I might just have a look around first. Not quiet my cup of tea

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Cindy P

Thank you for the review, feedback is a vital aspect of our business. I am sorry that you stay was not to your liking on this occasion.

Regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were very happy with our decision to stay at the Ibis Rotorua. It is a clean, modern hotel in an excellent location (just a 5-10 min walk into the town centre).

The rooms are compact but included everything we needed, including a space for our suitcases, a wardrobe, desk, two double beds and a small fridge. The bathroom was modern, clean and we'll-lit. Everything felt very hygienic. The rooms had a minimalist modern decor; again, very clean and we'll-appointed.

The price point was wonderful, especially given that it included a continental breakfast.

I have only two minor quibbles about the Ibis; firstly, the pillows are a little too soft and squishy (they scrunch into a ball) and the "hot" breakfast food is often lukewarm verging on cold. But these quibbles would not deter me at all from staying at the Ibis on our next trip to Rotorua. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Kat S

Thank you for the review, your comments are most appreciated. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us when next in town.
Regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was booked into the Ibis by my tour company, and it was a great value and perfect location for walking to the lake (2-3 minutes to the pier). Also the beautiful Government Gardens and Rotorua Museum. Attentive staff, FREE INTERNET (not common in NZ) and generous breakfast buffet to get the day started properly. Spotless with great amenities. I was very pleased because I was there just to sleep and shower mainly, then go out and see the beautiful Rotorua countryside. Ibis was an excellent location for this.

Room Tip: If you are booked into the Ibis as part of a tour group, you likely will get a streetside room as I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeju T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Jeju T

Thank you for the review, your comments are most appreciated. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us when next in town.

Regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We only stayed here for one night but were pleasantly surprised. We didn't have very high expectations as Ibis is a budget brand but the accommodation was good and comfortable. Service was also excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear Andrew K

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, your feedback is most appreciated. I am glad to that your stay was of a high standard. We look forward to having you stay with us when next in town.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The staff are friendly and helpful. They are willing to show you the hotspots. The room is tidy and clean. Although the room is relatively small, the bed is very comfortable. The location is good, there are hotspots and eat street nearby. I shall stay in this hotel again for my next vacation in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank To Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S, Manager at Ibis Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear To Y

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, your feedback is most appreciated. I am glad to that your stay was of a high standard. I hope the rest of your holiday was an enjoyable one, we look forward to having you stay with us when next in town.

Regards
Ian Shipman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
807 reviews
0.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rotorua

Address: Lake End Rangiuru Street | PO Box 348, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £68 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Rotorua is located on the picturesque shores of lake Rotorua, just five minutes walk from the central business district, convention centre, cafes and restaurants and some of Rotorua's most popular tourist attractions. The fully air-conditioned hotel offers 145 rooms providing exceptional comfort and value. Room configurations can be one king or two doubles. A number of triple rooms with three single beds are also available. Bedrooms feature in-room safes, internet with broadband connectivity, showers, flat screen TV's and refrigerators. 24hr reception, an internet kiosk and guest laundry facilities. The I-Restaurant and Bar welcomes guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Conference rooms and other facilities at the neighboring Novotel Rotorua Lakeside are also available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing