We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a gem”
Review of Ibis Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Rotorua
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
U/K.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“a gem”
Reviewed 27 February 2009

this hotel is a gem, the staff are so genuinely polite friendly and helpful, which sadly is not a common thing in new Zealand hotels, it has outstanding free car parking facilities, our room had a lake view, a fridge and a free to use room safe. the breakfast is excellent and runs from 6-10.30,am,

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonrobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    508
    303
    59
    24
See reviews for
227
514
95
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2009

The hotel has a good location overlooking the lake and is a very short walk to "Eat Street" - the lake end of Tutanakei Street where most of the restaurants are located. (I highly recommend the Wild Rice Thai restaurant - one of the best Gung Choo Chee I've had!)

The room was small but clean and well-equipped (tea/coffee facilities included). The optional breakfast was good.

Overall it was above average and a good base for Rotorua. I stayed one night; however, I'm not sure I'd have wanted to stay there for any length of time - it wasn't quite good enough for that.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2009

This is a typical, tourist-standard hotel in Rotorua, and within easy walking distance of the town centre. Wider Rotorua attractions (eg. Rainbow Springs) are within easy reach by bus or taxi, and some attractions will do helpful hotel pick-ups.

The hotel is plain but quite modern. Our room was a reasonable size, and clean and tidy. Tea / coffee-making is available in the room.

Dining was OK, but is served at the busy front of the hotel in what resembles a cafeteria setting, it's quite small and can be a bit chaotic. We didn't eat in the evening, breakfast choice was OK.

Internet access is expensive, as in most NZ hotels.

All-in-all, a reasonably good base in Rotorua.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Breakfast was chaotic
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GavBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2008

I stayed here for 2 nights. Central location, near the water and the central town square. The hotel itself was average. The bathroom was newer and I appreciated having a fridge in the room. I used the tiny gym next door at the Novatel- not worth the $15 NZ for that tiny place that was packed with just 4 people using it! I thought the breakfast was overpriced. I am pretty sure I left my Blackberry somewhere in the room though the hotel swears that it wasn't in there...I personally think the housekeepers found an early Christmas present.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammyt27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2008

10 minutes level walk across park to bus station.
Room clean and comfortable. Access to hotel entrance obscurely positioned behind Novatel.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKILancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford
Level Contributor
90 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

Rotorua is well worth seeing. Loads to see and do. Beware of a Maori Concert and dinner if it entails a bus ride. The bus drivers are MAD.
The IBIS Hotel was below standard. Double Room included a single bed, which made it nearly impossible to walk around the room. Not Good. If you get this hotel in any itinerary and you have the opportunity to change it. DO IT>

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nejbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2008

Cental hotel on 4 floors.

We were on the 4th floor in a recently re-decorated room. Lake views, large bed, fridge, safe, ensuite, plenty of towels & toiletries.

Breakfast was $19 per person for cooked & continental.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reserved19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rotorua

Property: Ibis Rotorua
Address: Lake End Rangiuru Street | PO Box 348, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Rotorua is located on the picturesque shores of lake Rotorua, just five minutes walk from the central business district, convention centre, cafes and restaurants and some of Rotorua's most popular tourist attractions. The fully air-conditioned hotel offers 145 rooms providing exceptional comfort and value. Room configurations can be one king or two doubles. A number of triple rooms with three single beds are also available. Bedrooms feature in-room safes, internet with broadband connectivity, showers, flat screen TV's and refrigerators. 24hr reception, an internet kiosk and guest laundry facilities. The I-Restaurant and Bar welcomes guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Conference rooms and other facilities at the neighboring Novotel Rotorua Lakeside are also available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing