We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I needed in a hotel and nothing I didn't at a good price”
Review of Ibis Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Rotorua
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Everything I needed in a hotel and nothing I didn't at a good price”
Reviewed 30 August 2009

I stayed for 2 nights with friends whilst exploring the Rotorua area. Easy to find, near the main lake, quiet and within a 5 minute walk of many restaurants and bars in town. Plenty of parking. The room had 2 double beds, small but functional bathroom, place to hang cloths, TV, phone and tea / coffee making facilities. It was clean, not large but what I want a hotel for is to sleep in and get clean and tidy for going out. The bed was comfy, the room quiet and the water hot, so ticked all my boxes. Check in was simple and the staff friendly - the beers were good and cold. We did not eat in the hotel - there are so many good cafes and restaurants nearby that it is more fun to go out.
I had booked an internet deal where it cost only NZ$59 per room per night which is outstanding value. as the previous reviewer stated - if you can get a room for NZ$100 or less then you have got yourself a very good deal.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkaraBrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    509
    306
    60
    25
See reviews for
230
514
95
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

So, choosing a hotel in Rotorua is quite tricky. So many smaller, "boutique" places, and a few larger, chain-type places (Millennium, Novotel, etc). I found that Accor Asia-Pacific was having a 3-day sale, and happened to find the Ibis Rotorua for NZ$59 including taxes! So I booked it, thinking even if it was bad, I wouldn't be feeling ripped off.
To save money, upon arrival at Rotorua Airport, there is a public bus that comes maybe every 30 minutes or so. It's bright yellow, city of Rotorua service, and I think was less than $3. Great deal, and I was the only passenger! Look it up online.
After getting dropped off about 3-4 blks from the hotel, I walked down the main street (a pedestrian street lined with shops and restaurants) towards the hotel. It's actually located on the same city block as its sister hotel, the Novotel, a fancier property, which is usually about 50% more expensive.
Check-in at Ibis was smooth, and I was given a normal room facing the mountain (There might be lake views the other way, but for the price I paid, who cares?
Unlike some Ibis hotels I've been in, internet was NOT free, you had to pay--and it was also limited by how many MB/KB you used--so it could be expensive if you were online a lot. This seemed to be the same throughout NZ, at least in the places I stayed.
In the room, there was a flat-screen TV, blond wood floors, a smallish bathroom, hot water kettle, small closet with hangars, and a firm bed. While on the small side, it met my needs fine.
HINT: The Ibis has an agreement with the Novotel that you can use the Novotel's gym and pool for free. It's next door, about a 3-minute walk away. Ask the Ibis front desk to program your card for entry at the Novotel's gym. Even some of the Novotel employees were unaware of this perk!
I rented a car on my second day because I'd be driving to Taupo and then on to Tongariro Park and finally Napier, and parking at the Ibis is free. Having a car is a nice way to get out of town and into the beautiful NZ countryside.
Back to the hotel--I didn't eat the breakfast but it's available and quite reasonable at less than NZ$20/day.
There is a happy hour in the late afternoon at the hotel where beer (and maybe wine) is nicely discounted. The front desk lady was also the bartender (!) and very friendly.
It's walking/jogging distance to the huge city park that includes the beautiful--and really interesting--city museum. I walked to the museum one day, and then went jogging to and around the park another day. Lovely.
Also walking distance to the park on the other side of the hill--I can't remember its name--but a nice expanse of green that way, too.
In conclusion, if you can get this hotel for under NZ$100/night, it's a good deal. Simple, clean, functional, and well located!

Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank jpcmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

My Mother and I decided last minute to stay at Rotorua to break up our road trip from Whangarei to Gisbourne. We pulled into the Ibis Hotel at approximately 7pm hungry and tired. Refreshingly we were greeted by a friendly female staff member at Reception who asked whether I was an Accor Member. I pulled out my membership and informed me about all the special offers at the hotel, such as the two for one meals. We were informed of our daily rate for a room with two double beds and ensuite and tea/coffee facilities I was astonished as it was only NZD $84 (about $66). We checked in and proceeded to our rooms. Our room was a standard Ibis room that was comfortable, had a flat screen, two double beds, reading lights, ensuite with shower, and a window facing the CBD. That evening we went to the Lobby to have dinner. We ordered two club sandwiches which were large and satisfying, we also ordered wine which was recommended by the hotel and lovely. The service was fantastic and the staff multi-task at reception, the bar and the restaurant. The following day we used the laundry facilities to wash our clothes. I used the computer in the lobby to check my emails. The computer was convenient, but you can find many internet cafes around Rotorua for a better rate. The car park was great as part of it is undercover and accessible by the lift. We had our buffet breakfast at the restaurant and went about our day. The buffet was lovely and satisfying. All our meals were great and the staff gave us travel advice about the area.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peitafranky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for one night in April. We have stayed in many Ibis hotels and this was one of the larger rooms we have had. The room was clean and the bathroom was a good size. We got a great price for the room but in hindsight we should have taken up the offer for breakfast for $15 as it is very expensive to get breakfast in town. We saw one place had toast for $12! Parking was easy.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T-A-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Stayed here, as you do, to take in the sights, sounds and smells - excellent first stop in North Island.
Good value hotel, great location and fine for a short stay, easy enough to walk around town, the spa and civic gardens. You need transport for the tourist parks though.

Our bedroom faced onto the street but was not noisy and okay on size, overall a good standard for the money and nothing worn out. Breakfast was fine if not memorable, the staff we spoke to were friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank H4rlap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

This hotel is an okay place to stay. The room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom kind of small. There was a wardrobe, but no dresser drawers. This wasn't a big problem for us as we were only there two nights. We walked almost everywhere we went, including Te Puia, Polynesian Spa, restaurants and shops. (We had to drive to Skyline Gondola, and take a bus to Mitai Village, as both were outside of town.) I wasn't impressed with the buffet breakfast. Though there was a variety of choices, it was simple (canned fruit as opposed to fresh) and not especially tasty. This hotel is not on the lake. Our "lakeview" room meant that we could see the lake in the distance from our window. I can't say if it is a good value compared to other hotels in Rotorua as the room was booked by a tour company and I don't know what the rate was.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
0.6 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.8 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Rotorua

Property: Ibis Rotorua
Address: Lake End Rangiuru Street | PO Box 348, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ibis Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ibis Rotorua is located on the picturesque shores of lake Rotorua, just five minutes walk from the central business district, convention centre, cafes and restaurants and some of Rotorua's most popular tourist attractions. The fully air-conditioned hotel offers 145 rooms providing exceptional comfort and value. Room configurations can be one king or two doubles. A number of triple rooms with three single beds are also available. Bedrooms feature in-room safes, internet with broadband connectivity, showers, flat screen TV's and refrigerators. 24hr reception, an internet kiosk and guest laundry facilities. The I-Restaurant and Bar welcomes guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Conference rooms and other facilities at the neighboring Novotel Rotorua Lakeside are also available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing