We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$557
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$474
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
200
89
18
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
89
18
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmineral spasmall complexfree wifiprivate thermal poolfull kitchenshort walk into townkuirau parkthermal heatinga great staymain roadserviced dailyroom was largestayed longerbed was very comfortableonly stayed one nighttea and coffeenew zealand
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Terrific rooms, great spa, perfect location, great value for money.
If you are in Rotorua then make the effort to find this place and you will be glad you did. It has everything you need and more.
Probably our second favourite place in New Zealand after a 3 month trip round both islands

Room Tip: No 2 is great
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Kia Ora Mark. Thanks for saying we were your 2nd favourite place in New Zealand, that means a lot to us! We have tried our best to provide guest with everything that they could need in the units. Many Thanks for the wonderful review, all the best - Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Room was clean and modern with all the necessary facilities. Hosts were friendly and helpful. Location is great near town centre and Ohinemuthu. They have a heated swimming pool (closed at night so as not to disturb other guests) and a mineral thermal pool (24/7). Really loved the mineral pool and you can lock the doors for 20 minutes for private use. There was also free wifi.

There was a broken fridge but the staff quickly replaced it after reporting e problem.

Also the price is great compared to other motels in comparative category and I managed to find a 2 night special price when I booked online.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinywingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Kia Ora. Thank you for writing a review for us. We are glad that you found the unit clean and with good amenities. We agree about the mineral pool, nice to be able to shut off from the world and have some quiet time. Apologies about the fridge, but thank you for bringing it to our attention. Glad you found our website for the special 2 night rate! All the best - Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

great smaller motel block and therefore personal and friendly service, quiet location, great thermal pool, outdoor pool maybe a few degree too warm for swimming but great on a cool morning, refurbished unit was excellent. good value for money, compared to Rotorua is better value

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Kia Ora Kevin. Thank you for the review. We are a smaller Motel with only 8 units so we do make an effort to get to know our guests. We have been adjusting the temperature on the pool as the days here are lovely and warm but it can still be cooler in the morning & evenings. Glad you enjoyed you stay. Take care - Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the Red Rock Thermal Motel and really loved it. The room was modern and spacious, and had a fridge and microwave which was useful! The location is perfect, close enough to the town centre but nice and quiet at night time. We loved the thermal pool, so relaxing and great the way you can use it at any time! We'll definitely be back on our next Rotorua trip :)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JessD1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Kia Ora Jess, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the comment about the property being quiet at night and the useful facilities in the unit. So glad you found the time to relax in the mineral pool and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the future - Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A fantastic place to stay in town without that town noise. Rooms appeared to be recently renovated, very clean and tidy and quite spacious too. The hosts were awesome and the pool and spa on site were well used by my family. Would not hesitate to stay here again and would highly recommend to all of my friends and family!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela200901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Kia Ora Angela, many thanks for the review. Thanks for the comment about the town noise, we are only a few minutes' drive to town, but we have a wall around the property that greatly reduces the road noise. It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed staying in the unit and made the most of the pool facilities. Thanks for the recommendation and we look forward to seeing you & the family again. All the best - Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews