We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abundance of hospitality and value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Abundance of hospitality and value for money!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here because of its location to facilities and ease of access to Rotorua. Very hospitable owners who keep the rooms to a high standard in both furniture and bedding/towels. Rooms cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis. Liked the mineral thermal pool which was an added bonus to staying at this location.

Room Tip: Do ask the owners about local events as they may be able to facilitate a discount in the price like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarica23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Kia Ora, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
We do pride ourselves on our cleanliness & service and we certainly like to help our guests save a penny or two whilst staying with us.
So pleased to hear you enjoyed the pools. - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    78
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
99
108
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I used to come here every year and brought our two sons then added family used to holiday here as well. (It was then called Tannoch Brae), We haven't been for many years, and what a great surprise at how the rooms look, they are so chic and we loved the walk in shower, just great to bring my son in his wheelchair, It is a credit to the owner and we thank them for the wonderful service and cleanliness of the rooms. The rooms are so modern and clean.
The one question was about there not being a phone in our room as we would have liked this, we should have asked but were too busy enjoying the quietness. We also enjoyed being able to see the Pukeko's out our window with their babies.We will definitely return now and tell our families. I think it was about 36 years ago we started visiting and the pool has always been an added bonus. The boys when they were young and then our grandchildren enjoyed the swimming in this pool. Thanks again. Ps Can there be a rail into the pool I am getting a bit unsteady now and a rail would be an added safety bonus for us older visitors.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen-Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Kia Ora.
Welcome back to Red Rock Thermal Motel, the current owners have spent a lot of time & effort in modernising the units and we are very happy with them. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness & service.
We took the phones out of the units as no one was using them, everyone had mobile phones and with us being a business there is a charge for every phone call. We have a phone in the office that we are happy for guests to use during office hours and we are on site all the time so there is always someone to help.
I will mention to the owners about a rail into the pool.
All the best - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Terrific rooms, great spa, perfect location, great value for money.
If you are in Rotorua then make the effort to find this place and you will be glad you did. It has everything you need and more.
Probably our second favourite place in New Zealand after a 3 month trip round both islands

Room Tip: No 2 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Kia Ora Mark. Thanks for saying we were your 2nd favourite place in New Zealand, that means a lot to us! We have tried our best to provide guest with everything that they could need in the units. Many Thanks for the wonderful review, all the best - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Room was clean and modern with all the necessary facilities. Hosts were friendly and helpful. Location is great near town centre and Ohinemuthu. They have a heated swimming pool (closed at night so as not to disturb other guests) and a mineral thermal pool (24/7). Really loved the mineral pool and you can lock the doors for 20 minutes for private use. There was also free wifi.

There was a broken fridge but the staff quickly replaced it after reporting e problem.

Also the price is great compared to other motels in comparative category and I managed to find a 2 night special price when I booked online.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinywingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Kia Ora. Thank you for writing a review for us. We are glad that you found the unit clean and with good amenities. We agree about the mineral pool, nice to be able to shut off from the world and have some quiet time. Apologies about the fridge, but thank you for bringing it to our attention. Glad you found our website for the special 2 night rate! All the best - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

great smaller motel block and therefore personal and friendly service, quiet location, great thermal pool, outdoor pool maybe a few degree too warm for swimming but great on a cool morning, refurbished unit was excellent. good value for money, compared to Rotorua is better value

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Kia Ora Kevin. Thank you for the review. We are a smaller Motel with only 8 units so we do make an effort to get to know our guests. We have been adjusting the temperature on the pool as the days here are lovely and warm but it can still be cooler in the morning & evenings. Glad you enjoyed you stay. Take care - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the Red Rock Thermal Motel and really loved it. The room was modern and spacious, and had a fridge and microwave which was useful! The location is perfect, close enough to the town centre but nice and quiet at night time. We loved the thermal pool, so relaxing and great the way you can use it at any time! We'll definitely be back on our next Rotorua trip :)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JessD1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Kia Ora Jess, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the comment about the property being quiet at night and the useful facilities in the unit. So glad you found the time to relax in the mineral pool and we look forward to being able to accommodate you again in the future - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A fantastic place to stay in town without that town noise. Rooms appeared to be recently renovated, very clean and tidy and quite spacious too. The hosts were awesome and the pool and spa on site were well used by my family. Would not hesitate to stay here again and would highly recommend to all of my friends and family!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela200901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Kia Ora Angela, many thanks for the review. Thanks for the comment about the town noise, we are only a few minutes' drive to town, but we have a wall around the property that greatly reduces the road noise. It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed staying in the unit and made the most of the pool facilities. Thanks for the recommendation and we look forward to seeing you & the family again. All the best - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
1.3 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rock Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock Thermal Motel

Property: Red Rock Thermal Motel
Address: 109 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Rock Thermal Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Rock Thermal Motel is a small motel with thermal heating, a private thermal mineral spa pool for rejuvenating after a busy day sightseeing and a outdoor heated swimming pool. We have gardens to relax in with a trampoline for the kids. All units have tea & coffee facilities, kitchenettes and bathrooms. The Motel is ideally situated to tour the many geothermal parks in the area. Many of the Maori Culture shows offer a free pick up service from here for a great night out, or if you prefer you can simply walk out of our back gate, catch yourself a trout from the stream & cook it on the BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Rock Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing