We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Rotorua(Rotorua)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
200
87
18
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
87
18
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmineral spasmall complexfree wifiprivate thermal poolfull kitchenshort walk into townkuirau parkthermal heatinga great staymain roadserviced dailyroom was largestayed longerbed was very comfortableonly stayed one nighttea and coffeenew zealand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

First night in New Zealand and we chose the Red Rock thermal motel. Great stay. Room was very clean, plenty of facilities. For us to be able to bathe in the very warm swimming pool and spend time soaking in the geothermal pool was a unique experience. Merryn and Ngata were very friendly and helpful hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: There was no restaurant can' delete and show not applicable the same applies to the fitness centre.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Kia Ora John & Viv
Thank you so much for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Great to see that you enjoyed the pool facilities, the outdoor heated and private geothermal pool are certainly a great way to unwind at the end of a day.
All the best - Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here because of its location to facilities and ease of access to Rotorua. Very hospitable owners who keep the rooms to a high standard in both furniture and bedding/towels. Rooms cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis. Liked the mineral thermal pool which was an added bonus to staying at this location.

Room Tip: Do ask the owners about local events as they may be able to facilitate a discount in the price like we experienced.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarica23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Kia Ora, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
We do pride ourselves on our cleanliness & service and we certainly like to help our guests save a penny or two whilst staying with us.
So pleased to hear you enjoyed the pools. - Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband and I used to come here every year and brought our two sons then added family used to holiday here as well. (It was then called Tannoch Brae), We haven't been for many years, and what a great surprise at how the rooms look, they are so chic and we loved the walk in shower, just great to bring my son in his wheelchair, It is a credit to the owner and we thank them for the wonderful service and cleanliness of the rooms. The rooms are so modern and clean.
The one question was about there not being a phone in our room as we would have liked this, we should have asked but were too busy enjoying the quietness. We also enjoyed being able to see the Pukeko's out our window with their babies.We will definitely return now and tell our families. I think it was about 36 years ago we started visiting and the pool has always been an added bonus. The boys when they were young and then our grandchildren enjoyed the swimming in this pool. Thanks again. Ps Can there be a rail into the pool I am getting a bit unsteady now and a rail would be an added safety bonus for us older visitors.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen-Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Kia Ora.
Welcome back to Red Rock Thermal Motel, the current owners have spent a lot of time & effort in modernising the units and we are very happy with them. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness & service.
We took the phones out of the units as no one was using them, everyone had mobile phones and with us being a business there is a charge for every phone call. We have a phone in the office that we are happy for guests to use during office hours and we are on site all the time so there is always someone to help.
I will mention to the owners about a rail into the pool.
All the best - Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Terrific rooms, great spa, perfect location, great value for money.
If you are in Rotorua then make the effort to find this place and you will be glad you did. It has everything you need and more.
Probably our second favourite place in New Zealand after a 3 month trip round both islands

Room Tip: No 2 is great
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Kia Ora Mark. Thanks for saying we were your 2nd favourite place in New Zealand, that means a lot to us! We have tried our best to provide guest with everything that they could need in the units. Many Thanks for the wonderful review, all the best - Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Room was clean and modern with all the necessary facilities. Hosts were friendly and helpful. Location is great near town centre and Ohinemuthu. They have a heated swimming pool (closed at night so as not to disturb other guests) and a mineral thermal pool (24/7). Really loved the mineral pool and you can lock the doors for 20 minutes for private use. There was also free wifi.

There was a broken fridge but the staff quickly replaced it after reporting e problem.

Also the price is great compared to other motels in comparative category and I managed to find a 2 night special price when I booked online.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinywingz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Kia Ora. Thank you for writing a review for us. We are glad that you found the unit clean and with good amenities. We agree about the mineral pool, nice to be able to shut off from the world and have some quiet time. Apologies about the fridge, but thank you for bringing it to our attention. Glad you found our website for the special 2 night rate! All the best - Merryn & Ngata

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews