We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Just like home”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Turned up after 4 hours of battling with holiday traffic - only to be welcomed by wonderful hosts.
Nothing was an issue when sorting out taxi's, accommodation was very clean, modern and a comfortable bed - which is a bonus!
I travel all the time with my job, and this Motel would certainly rate up as one of my top picks for any families, or travellers looking for clean, friendly and well priced accommodation.
Nothing was an issue, they made me feel like I was part of their family - even got to pat their four legged babies :-)
Highly recommend and keep up the fantastic work - we need more people like you in the Motel business down my way!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Kia Ora Lynne, it was a pleasure to meet you. My head housekeeper and I fell so happy & energised after speaking to you. We love to be able to help with things and organising a Taxi so you could have a great time at the wedding was the least we could do. I'm glad you liked our fur-babies, Rufus & Tobias. Thanks for the great comment about our work, we do enjoy it! All the very best - Merryn, Rufus & Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    78
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
100
108
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

very nice hose; valuable for money as it got thermal spa and can be private if you lock the door. Very clean room; everything is just like brand new.
very nice hose; valuable for money as it got thermal spa and can be private if you lock the door. Very clean room; everything is just like brand new.
very nice hose; valuable for money as it got thermal spa and can be private if you lock the door. Very clean room; everything is just like brand new.
very nice hose; valuable for money as it got thermal spa and can be private if you lock the door. Very clean room; everything is just like brand new.

Room Tip: it got thermal spa and can be private if you lock the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wang J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Kia Ora, thank you for the comment about the nice host and a clean & tidy unit. So glad to see you made the use of the mineral spa and yes it great it can be locked to made private, sometimes you just need to be able to escape the world and we certainly recommend this as a great place to do it. Thanks for the review - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My family (with two children aged 3 and 1) stayed here for 2 nights and wished we'd have stayed longer. It was clean, roomy and the desk clerk was fantastic for information. We kept hearing from people who had been to Rotorua that the smell of sulphur was overwhelming, but this place was positioned perfectly and we didn't smell a thing!!! It's a great location, a few minutes drive from anything you could want to see and so close to the geothermal parklands too - which I'd recommend visiting if you wanted a taste of the geothermal activity. The only downside was not having any air conditioning. You could open the windows and the doors and get a fantastic breeze but we couldn't open the doors due to the one year old wanting to run outside every second that they were open. But overall I'd recommend staying here. It was a wonderful place to be.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magiklee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Kia Ora, thank you for taking the time to write this review. The sulphur smell can be an interesting thing, we are lucky that even though there is some just down the street, we hardly get any smell, probably a few times a year if that. Rotorua's attractions are spread all over, we are lucky that we are only a few minutes by car to the Eat Street (our Restaurant area), the Museum, Skyline Skyrides, Rainbow Springs, Kuirau Park and of course the CBD. There are probably only 6 or so Motels that have air-con, as you mentioned we do have all opening windows & fans in the units to allow for as much comfort as possible. All the best - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms are modern, comfortable, and well-stocked. The front desk clerk, Merryn, was very friendly and helpful. If you plan to visit a Maori cultural dinner, book through the motel for a discount. There is a mineral spa, a pool, and a washer/dryer (additional charge). Comfortable and nice for a motel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgflea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Kia Ora, thank you for the comment about our rooms having good amenities, we aim to be able to provide all the basic necessary kitchen requirements. Yes, we are lucky to currently have a great special with one of the cultural show companies, it is great to be able to pass this on to our guests. Thank you for the review - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We only stayed here for one night but were really impressed with the standard of facilities. The room was really clean with modern decor and furnishings. We particularly loved the geothermal pool. The managers Merryn & Ngata were excellent hosts. Our only regret was not staying for longer. We'll definitely stay here again if we return to Rotorua.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishm_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Kia Ora Trish & Andy, thank you taking the time to write a review, we greatly appreciate. Our aim is to provide great friendly customer services and a wonderful experience whilst staying with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our mineral pool and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again. All the best Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

First night in New Zealand and we chose the Red Rock thermal motel. Great stay. Room was very clean, plenty of facilities. For us to be able to bathe in the very warm swimming pool and spend time soaking in the geothermal pool was a unique experience. Merryn and Ngata were very friendly and helpful hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: There was no restaurant can' delete and show not applicable the same applies to the fitness cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Kia Ora John & Viv
Thank you so much for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Great to see that you enjoyed the pool facilities, the outdoor heated and private geothermal pool are certainly a great way to unwind at the end of a day.
All the best - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here because of its location to facilities and ease of access to Rotorua. Very hospitable owners who keep the rooms to a high standard in both furniture and bedding/towels. Rooms cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis. Liked the mineral thermal pool which was an added bonus to staying at this location.

Room Tip: Do ask the owners about local events as they may be able to facilitate a discount in the price like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarica23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Kia Ora, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
We do pride ourselves on our cleanliness & service and we certainly like to help our guests save a penny or two whilst staying with us.
So pleased to hear you enjoyed the pools. - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
150 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
569 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#6 of 92 in Rotorua
521 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ambassador Thermal Motel
Ambassador Thermal Motel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rock Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock Thermal Motel

Property: Red Rock Thermal Motel
Address: 109 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Rock Thermal Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Rock Thermal Motel is a small motel with thermal heating, a private thermal mineral spa pool for rejuvenating after a busy day sightseeing and a outdoor heated swimming pool. We have gardens to relax in with a trampoline for the kids. All units have tea & coffee facilities, kitchenettes and bathrooms. The Motel is ideally situated to tour the many geothermal parks in the area. Many of the Maori Culture shows offer a free pick up service from here for a great night out, or if you prefer you can simply walk out of our back gate, catch yourself a trout from the stream & cook it on the BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Rock Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing