We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Pirongia, New Zealand
1 review
“Great Accom”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stay in Motels every weekend This Motel is one of the cleanest spacious room and on top of that very friendly hosts. Very handy to the centre of town and activities, I would definatley recommend this to anybody looking for accomodation in Rotorua.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Kia Ora Stephanie, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It was a pleasure to have you stay and we greatly appreciate your comments about the cleanliness & service. All the best - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    78
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
100
108
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fellbach, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

During our 3 week trip to New Zealand the Red Rock Thermal Motel was on of the best Motels/Hotels we had booked. Our room was very clean, unlike other Motels here you got daily room service. Kitchen was fine and fully equipped, coffee got a daily refill!
The Motel also has an own mineral spa which could be used 20min in Private or open without a time limit. It was also very clean.
Meryn is a very nice host and provided us with all info about the area that we needed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Kia Ora Christian, wow one of the best you stayed in! That is great praise, thank you so very much. We realise how important coffee can be to some people so ensure the plunger is replaced on our daily room services. Great to hear that you made use of our geothermal mineral spa and I am always happy to help in any way I can. Enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand - Merryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This was our first place of accommodation in New Zealand and as soon as we checked in we felt ever so welcome and comfortable, Merryn (I believe it was) was helpful with all our questions, and even offered to find out information for us to make our trip smoother, such as pick ups and drop offs and opening times of stores we like over the holiday period.

She then took us around the place and we were happily surprised by the 36 degree outside pool and then the thermal spa which was available to use at all hours, even at night after New years eve fireworks.

The room was clean and modern with everything feeling well up kept & the wifi worked great. We were definitely glad we had chosen to stay here in Rotorua for 2 nights

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Kia Ora Natalie, thanks for the wonderful comments, I like to be able to help whenever I can. Sometimes a bit of local knowledge and use of Google can be a great thing! I am glad to hear that you liked the unit and enjoyed your 2 nights here with us. Thanks you again for the review 7 all the best - Merryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

we loved our stay here helps having an awesome host, the rooms are good size very clean and modern easy walk into town for New Years too, Pools are great to thank you for a great stay! Even if was wet a bit the kids can still swim in the outdoor amazing pool, so nice for the whole family to enjoy here.

Room Tip: room two away from pool noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Kia Ora Josie, thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. Thanks for the comment saying about the great service & cleanliness, the 2 things I pride myself on. The pools are great for all weather, great that they are heated! Wishing you all the best to you & the family - Merryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Absolutely fabulous motel! Stayed 5 days 4 nights. Great place for families especially for my two young boys. Awesome place to relax in between visiting Rotorua attractions. Pool, spa, room, service and location. Will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brame84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Kia Ora, thank you so much for the reference, the swimming pools & trampoline are great for kids (of all ages). It was great to have you stay here with us and even better to hear that you will be back! All the best for 2014 - Merryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Turned up after 4 hours of battling with holiday traffic - only to be welcomed by wonderful hosts.
Nothing was an issue when sorting out taxi's, accommodation was very clean, modern and a comfortable bed - which is a bonus!
I travel all the time with my job, and this Motel would certainly rate up as one of my top picks for any families, or travellers looking for clean, friendly and well priced accommodation.
Nothing was an issue, they made me feel like I was part of their family - even got to pat their four legged babies :-)
Highly recommend and keep up the fantastic work - we need more people like you in the Motel business down my way!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Kia Ora Lynne, it was a pleasure to meet you. My head housekeeper and I fell so happy & energised after speaking to you. We love to be able to help with things and organising a Taxi so you could have a great time at the wedding was the least we could do. I'm glad you liked our fur-babies, Rufus & Tobias. Thanks for the great comment about our work, we do enjoy it! All the very best - Merryn, Rufus & Tobias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2013

very nice hose; valuable for money as it got thermal spa and can be private if you lock the door. Very clean room; everything is just like brand new.
very nice hose; valuable for money as it got thermal spa and can be private if you lock the door. Very clean room; everything is just like brand new.
very nice hose; valuable for money as it got thermal spa and can be private if you lock the door. Very clean room; everything is just like brand new.
very nice hose; valuable for money as it got thermal spa and can be private if you lock the door. Very clean room; everything is just like brand new.

Room Tip: it got thermal spa and can be private if you lock the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wang J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Kia Ora, thank you for the comment about the nice host and a clean & tidy unit. So glad to see you made the use of the mineral spa and yes it great it can be locked to made private, sometimes you just need to be able to escape the world and we certainly recommend this as a great place to do it. Thanks for the review - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
149 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
568 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#6 of 92 in Rotorua
521 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ambassador Thermal Motel
Ambassador Thermal Motel
#27 of 92 in Rotorua
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rock Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock Thermal Motel

Property: Red Rock Thermal Motel
Address: 109 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Rock Thermal Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Rock Thermal Motel is a small motel with thermal heating, a private thermal mineral spa pool for rejuvenating after a busy day sightseeing and a outdoor heated swimming pool. We have gardens to relax in with a trampoline for the kids. All units have tea & coffee facilities, kitchenettes and bathrooms. The Motel is ideally situated to tour the many geothermal parks in the area. Many of the Maori Culture shows offer a free pick up service from here for a great night out, or if you prefer you can simply walk out of our back gate, catch yourself a trout from the stream & cook it on the BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Rock Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing