We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Brora, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Friendly and comfortable - great beds, very spacious and affordable - I had a big apartment (2 king size beds) to myself for 3 nights with everything you could need....and although I didn't cook - having the fridge/kitchen area was great just to keep water and milk for coffee etc and the sofa and sitting area great to watch TV and relax...the swimming pool was lovely for a dip after a busy day - and almost always empty and the Thermal pool was great! Easy to find and easy to get to and from in the surrounding area.... Very helpful and friendly staff...the couple who run it are lovely. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I was next to the pool - it was good for parking and access - never noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELEMGEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
ELEMGEE - Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed our comfy beds, facilities, and warm hospitality. We hope you will be able to come and visit us again one day - until then, travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    77
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
97
105
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights with our 3 children in a 1 bedroom unit (4). It was marvellous, and really quiet and comfortable.
Lovely pools, trampoline, and kids loved it too. Easy 10min walk to town centre, and Lakefront.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliot749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
elliot749 - Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed our quiet comfortable motel with its close proximity to town, especially pleased your children enjoyed it too, as they are our guests of the future. Look forward to welcoming you next time to come down to Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just returned from a 30-day road trip in New Zealand and Rotorua was our first stop with reservations at Red Rock Thermal Motel. We were very pleased with our room. It always kind of a crapshoot choosing accommodations via the Internet even with reviews. I am on the picky side so if I am happy that says a lot.

We were there as they were changing managers and everyone was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Therese456 - thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you had a nice time in Rotorua and enjoyed our small thermal motel. We look forward to seeing you if you return to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We got there and the manager opens the room, it is a hot oven with no air conditioning or ceiling fan, so we open the windows and front door to ventilate the room and there are no screens so the room fills with flies. We found a small table fan in the closet and was able to put it next to me on a chair to be able to sleep. The shower temperature would fluctuate from the normal setting to very cold all by itself so be ready to jump out of the way when it happens. Otherwise it was OK.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
CRMiami - thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our motel. We are enjoying a very hot summer this year and perhaps the managers could have opened your doors/windows before arrival to cool the unit down for you, we have just had a change of manager and we will bring this to their attention for future reference. Thank you for bringing it to our attention about the shower temperature we shall look into this immediately. We trust you enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the red rock thermal motel and were thoroughly impressed. The room was gorgeous and really spacious great facilities and we loved the mineral spa and pool. Sue helped us book a trip and really went out of her way to help us, they were all so friendly. We would definitely return here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jodiekirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
jodiekirk - Many thanks for your glowing review. We are glad you enjoyed our spacious, newly renovated rooms and we agree the mineral spa is a treat after a hard day's sightseeing. Sue, our manager is wonderful helping our guests make the most of their stay in our beautiful city. We look forward to meeting you again one day on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Had a great stay - excellent quality units and facilities. Manager very friendly and helpful. Great location and good value. would recommend and stay again. Owners of the motel were very generous and had great local advise to give which was much appreciated.

Room Tip: There all good as far as I know
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
David - Many thanks for your great review. We are very proud of Red Rock thermal motel and are pleased you enjoyed our quality units and wonderful manager, Merryn, who helps everyone to make the most of their time in Rotorua. We do hope you will come and visit again one day, until then, travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Absolutely wonderful place to stay. Merryn was very professional and friendly from the moment we booked online. We took advice from Trip Advisor reviews and pleased we did - we had a fantastic 3 nights at this motel. Very comfy beds; awesome geothermally heated pool; small quiet compact motel complex; safe for kids; handy to lake front incl surreal Ohinemutu maori village and Kuirau Park. Totally recommend this motel to all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Manager at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Kia Ora Rosie, thank you for deciding to stay with us, we have worked very hard to improve our Trip Advisor rating & hope you all experience the same level of service upon our departure mid February. Glad that you found the beds comfortable and used our heated outdoor pools. Thank you for the review - Merryn & Ngata
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#10 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cleveland Thermal Motel
Cleveland Thermal Motel
#12 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.3 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rock Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rock Thermal Motel

Property: Red Rock Thermal Motel
Address: 109 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Rock Thermal Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Rock Thermal Motel is a small motel with thermal heating, a private thermal mineral spa pool for rejuvenating after a busy day sightseeing and a outdoor heated swimming pool. We have gardens to relax in with a trampoline for the kids. All units have tea & coffee facilities, kitchenettes and bathrooms. The Motel is ideally situated to tour the many geothermal parks in the area. Many of the Maori Culture shows offer a free pick up service from here for a great night out, or if you prefer you can simply walk out of our back gate, catch yourself a trout from the stream & cook it on the BBQ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Rock Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing