We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arista of Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$558
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$472
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
200
89
18
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
89
18
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmineral spasmall complexfree wifiprivate thermal poolfull kitchenshort walk into townkuirau parkthermal heatinga great staymain roadserviced dailyroom was largestayed longerbed was very comfortableonly stayed one nighttea and coffeenew zealand
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

we stayed for two nights in the delux one bedroom unit with 4 adults and one teen. The beds were really comfortable and the unit has everything you need. The pool is awesome. Have stayed here three times now and always recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Maree F - Thank you for your lovely review and it is so nice to have guests who come and see us regularly. We are glad you enjoy our newly renovated units and our swimming pool. Watch this space as we have plans to upgrade the swimming pool and give it a face lift in the next few months. We look forward to seeing you again and thank you for your wonderful recommendation of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in the cottage and it was a great size for our family of 5, with extra beds for more. The heaters were on and it was lovely and warm. The geothermal spa is great. Sue was the best, even tracking us down after we had checked out and left some items behind.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Wendy M - Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is so heart warming to know that our guests appreciate Sue, our wonderful manager who is so friendly and helpful. We are also glad you enjoyed our warm cosy cottage with all the comforts of home and our mineral pool. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The studio room was great value for money being clean, recently upgraded with new furniture and a very comfortable bed. The kitchen is fully equipped. The bathroom has all new fittings and a very powerful shower.
The geothermal pool was great to relax in at the end of the day although upgrading the pool room would be advantageous.
Sue was an extremely gracious host both on my arrival and the following morning. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Rock T, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Roz M - Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed our lovely studio unit, our geothermal mineral pool and swimming pool. We will be renovating the swimming pool in the next few months and hope to give it a bit of a face lift. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Red Rock Thermal Motel is a bit out of the main part of town, well beyond walking distance for most, and it’s not really near anything in particular in terms of attractions, etc. I was greeted by a quite friendly and helpful lady at reception on check-in. The whole place is composed of a main section of half-a-dozen or so units, and a small back section with only one or two units, the laundry, and the mineral spa. In the back section the construction of the unit seemed a bit, well, temporary. I didn't use the main pool in the ads as it wasn’t exactly swimming weather, but it looked a little worse for wear. The mineral spa was alright, a little dingy but quite relaxing really, and you can have it all to yourself, just lock the door. Away from the main road fronting the motel the place was pretty quiet.

I had a fairly good sized room, including a small patio area off the main living area, and many basic inclusions for self-contained accommodation, including toaster, kettle, cutlery, crockery, teapot, microwave and frying pan, however no actual stove. There were also other bits and pieces, including a coffee plunger and coffee, as well as the standard instant coffee, tea, etc. The bar fridge was noisy, but fortunately not so noisy that it woke me during the night. There was no air-conditioning, but the room had wall 'oil heaters', although they may be done through the town's thermals somehow; it was pretty mild when I stayed so I can’t comment on how the room would fare in very hot or cold conditions. In general the furnishings were okay, but the lone chair (other than a couple of bar stools) seemed an old design and was really quite uncomfortable, so it could do with better there. There was a fairly good size Samsung flat screen TV with a range of free-to-air channels but no Sky pay TV. Free wifi was included at a decent speed, and as far as I could tell it was unlimited, but there was no information about it provided at check-in, I had to hunt around and find the code in the motel folder.

The bathroom all seemed quite new, with a wet room sort of set up. Fortunately with the sturdy shower curtain shut the floor didn't get too wet beyond the shower area itself. The shower was strong and with good heat; in fact the hot tap water gets super hot, maybe to do with the town’s thermals, which is not a bad thing, but just be aware of it and don’t jump into a straight up hot shower. The toilet paper provided was a bit cheap.

The most significant downside to the motel was that the bed was terrible, and unfortunately this is a very significant problem. The base was alright, but the mattress felt like it was about 30 years old and the springs were totally shot. I know different people have different bed preferences, but it wasn't just that the mattress was soft; the springs simply had no support. To confirm it wasn’t just an excessively soft bed I checked under the sheets, and it certainly looked old as well. Frankly you'd find better in a $20 hostel. In my books one of the main considerations for accommodation is a decent bed, so this is just not good enough and needs replacing. I woke up with a bit of a sore back which luckily wasn't worse. I wouldn't have stayed a second night even if I had it booked.

The other thing that really got under my skin was that although the lady at reception was friendly, the guy was a real smart alec when I enquired about towels for the mineral spa – if you expect guests to know you've got unmarked spa towels hidden in a bathroom cupboard you probably should tell them, not write in the motel folder to ask at reception for towels and then be a wise guy about it, trying to make guests look like fools for asking. The spa itself comes with a number of recommendations, including not to use it if the water temperature is above 42C; so how am I meant to know what the temperature is, should I have brought a thermometer with me, or is that also hidden somewhere you're not telling guests?

This is a bit of a toss-up for ratings. Many of the aspects of the room were quite reasonable and given the price of less than NZ$100 a night you could say 'what can you expect'. A decent mattress may have brought it close to a four at the price. However given how bad the bed was and how vital this is for accommodation, along with the rudeness from the man in the office, which you really don’t need after a long day on the road and has still left me with bitter feelings more than a month later, it brings this down to a two. Given the huge number of accommodation options in Rotorua, I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boxing_Kangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Gosh - thank you for your lengthy in-depth review. Unfortunately, I feel the need to point out a couple of things about the innacuracies in your review. We do not advertise that unit 7 has a stove in the kitchen, nor do we say anywhere that we have air conditioning in any of the units. We find it hard to deal with complaints about things we don't have if we don't advertise that we have those things why would you expect them in the unit? Also, we DO have Sky TV in every unit and don't know why you would say there was none. We have FREE wifi in every unit and information is in every unit compendium about it. My manager assures me she mentions it to everyone on check in, but cannot possibly tell our guests everything at check in and that is why all important information is in each unit's compendium for you to read. We don't think it is unreasonable to expect guests to have to find this information in their room if they wish to use the Wifi which is free. Lastly, the unit 7 which you stayed in was newly built just 3 years ago and had a brand new Sleepy Head split king bed bought especially for it. We are sorry that you didn't find it comfortable, however, it is only 3 years old and nowhere near 30 years old as you stated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We've pre-booked the motel cottage for 2 nights for a group of 5 people. When we arrived on a cold and windy evening, we're received by a rather unfriendly and curt male owner. Next morning at breakfast, we discovered that the milk provided by him the night before was 2 weeks after the expiry date. When we complained and asked for a replacement at the counter, we couldn't believe that he was reluctant to give us a fresh one. It was finally sorted out.
We met the lady owner who was much more friendly and helpful.
Overall we're happy with the location and cleanliness of the rooms. But the attitude of the male owner does not help in promoting the business.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RE_TAN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citylights10, Owner at Red Rock Thermal Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

RE-TAN55 - thank you for your review. We are surprised and dismayed that you had an issue with Quentin - he is a lovely manager and we are sorry you didn't see this side of him. We are glad you enjoyed our clean motel in a good location and glad that Sue was much more friendly for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews